You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: @TimCliff's Updated Witness Application

Thanks for good sources to read.
Is such witness node similar to one I had when I was mining? Is this same process of making blocks or my mined blocks was somehow different kind of blocks? It's still not really clear to me.

Sort:  

Yes, it is very similar. The main difference is that the amount of blocks that you get is 100% based on the number of witness votes that you have.

That's what I thought.
So in "proof of work" way of making blocks I was using my cpu power to be able to generate block while in "proof of stake" way of making blocks I would use stake "power" of those who votes for me.
And now when I finally have my silly amount of stake am I still mining with what I had defined as witness = decentral as proof of stake in contrary with
miner = ral001 miner = ral002 etc.
Because it was (proof of stake + proof of work) and now it is only proof of stake.
I'm sorry. I'm still so steem-stupid.

Yeah, that sounds exactly correct :)

Thanks :) So there's still hope for me :)

Goodness. I think I need a download to get my head around this.

A witness vote is also a block? (Where does the rest of the Steemit community come in? Or does that mean witnesses just have huge voting power for posts?)

Witness votes and author/curator rewards are separate. There is a lot of good info in the FAQ.

Maybe I should have worded my question like this:
"If you as a witness upvote a post. Would your vote have more power compared to if you weren't a a Witness (with the same 72 --- reputation level)?"

Is that Better?

:)

No. Me being a witness, and my reputation score (72) have no influence on the amount of influence I have over rewards. The influence over rewards when I upvote is 100% based on the amount of SP that I have.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62623.56
ETH 3037.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70