Anarcho-Andrei Witness Update: 27 January 2018

I apologize for taking so long on getting this out to you guys. I've been busy securing my new house and getting everything packed up, on top of my homework!

These last couple of weeks have been very busy for me. My landlord has decided to sell the house I'm staying in, so I had to get on the ball with packing everything up and getting it ready to move. On the bright side, I found a great place to move into. I'll make sure to post pictures when I get moving into it. :D

Onto witness business...

Both of my servers are running smoothly. The blockchain is still growing at an unbelievable rate, and I'm fairly certain I'll have to upgrade to 64Gb servers before long here. I'm thinking of implementing a zram compression scheme to expand my usable memory. I'm not too familiar with it beyond what I've read, but it creates separate partitions in RAM that allows a server to compress each partition and reduce overall memory usage. From what I've read, you can achieve up to a 3:1 compression ratio, which would be enormous! Now, I'm not planning on pushing it quite to that extreme, as any compression or swap scheme will ultimately run slower than plain ol' RAM, but it runs faster than an SSD swap, and it should give me some breathing room until I'm set up with new servers.

Steemit, Inc. recently announced a security update for the blockchain which required an update of docker on both of my machines. It went on without a hitch, and I'm still rocking and rolling. I also made a post today about dead witnesses in the top 100. The push back against voting for disabled witness nodes has had tremendous success (as evidenced by how short my list is), but there's still work to be done. Check out the list and make sure you're not voting for a dead witness in the top 100!


If you want to vote for me as a witness, cast your vote here! Scroll down until you see this text box and type in my name.
Like what you read? Follow me, @anarcho-andrei! You can also find me on PALnet and the Fiction Workshop on Writer's Block.
Sort:  

Beep! Beep! @shadow3scalpel at your service. I am here to assist all military members on Steemit. This HumVee will be scouting posts from a list of Veterans that is maintained by @chairborne. If you are a Veteran and new to Steemit, and you have questions or want to join the Veterans community, reply to this comment. We got your six, unless you are in the rear with the gear. Ooh-Rah!
Comment by @inthenow. This is a opt-in bot.

Voted! Good luck with your move, @anarcho-andrei!

Thank you for the witness vote! If I can make it through the first couple of weeks of February moving everything around, I'll be alright lol

Great content. Upvoted by @eastcoaststeem ran by Steemian @chelsea88

whichever linux you running, zram might just be install by default it could be just a matter of starting the service isn't it ?

I'm fairly certain that's the case. Once I get a little free time I'm going to ask around #witness on steemit.chat for some help regarding utilizing it.

I will go and vote for you right now! Nice to see a fellow Romanian around. even if i see you are not in Romania anymore

All the best man!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66441.00
ETH 3217.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22