Beso de Vino - The best Red Wine for the Cost

in #wine7 years ago

beso.jpeg

I was asked to find my friend a fantastic red for under $15 (what would be considered cheap for a red here in Ontario) Here is my pick. For more visit http://caviartastebolognabudget.blogspot.com

When it came to the red, I was originally worried that I was going to have a hard time finding a unique wine that would fit the parameters of my challenge – then I remembered I had an ace up my sleeve. Beso de Vino’s Seleccion, a blend of syrah and garnacha wines. I am absolutely mad for this wine. Give it about 20-30 minutes to breathe and you will have a wine that tastes like you spent three times as much. American wine critic Stephen Tanzer has rated many vintages of this wine, all of them coming out in the 89-90/100 range. This Spanish wine is extremely fruity with a lot of cherry and blackberry notes holding undertones of tobacco, anisette and pepper. It was oaked just long enough to smooth out rough edges and drinks beautifully. While this wine is a little heavier than, say, a more “summery” gamay or pinot noir (reds that can be drank slightly chilled), it is just too good to relegate to a season. On a slightly cooler evening? I will reach for this wine almost every time. The best part? It only costs $9.95. Food-wise, pair it with a nice steak and salad or a meaty red sauce and you’re golden.

@strangeanimal

steem-icon.jpg

Sort:  

It's always good to see more wine posts here! Feel free to explore and use the steempub tag for your next wine review! Cheers!

Thanks! I love wine and there will definitely be mote wine posts coming!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58956.47
ETH 2517.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48