You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Where on Wednesday twenty: House hill ruins

I LOVE the DOPE chart on the wrist, I need to do that, and get it off of my tablet! Full load windage is tough; and I don't have past 600 yards available to me, so I need to join you on the hill, LOL!

I use a 300 Win Mag to hunt with, and I just added a new scope to my 6.5mm Swedish Mauser. Ironically, the last deer I took jumped up 150 yards out; not much distance for a 300....

:)>

Sort:  

You're welcome on the hill anytime man!

I use StrelokPro as my ballistics calculator which picks up environmental readings from my Kestrel Meyer but like to have DOPE on my wrist in comps as it means I can reference it faster. I have another trick too...

Laminated cards on the back of my flip up cap on my scope...hand write dope for the ranges I'm shooting and it's there. Things change...Wipe it off and re-write...Works a treat as I don't have to bugger around looking at the wrist card. While a comp stage is being briefed I write it out, use a Velcro tab to stick it on and I'm GTG.

You can see it stuck on the flip up cap in the photo.

Nice, I have a ballistic calculator, but I have been using my chrono, and running the calculations by hand. I am trying to get my trigger down better on a 200 yard range with blade sights. The peep sights on my M1A1 (Civilian M-14) seem to be best so far. My groups are coming in, shooting between heart beats seems to be the biggest help for me so far (after half breathing, hold).

I am looking for a set trigger for the 300WM, it has an eight to 24 power scope, with external adjustment. Trying to do justice to the rifle!

How do you like the 6.5 Creedmore? How fast is the bullet on it?

I am thinking about a 300 blackout, just to play.

I like the flip up DOPE even better; will see what I can do. Not happy with the cover I have, maybe I should make one I like.... Wouldn't it be nice to have a visual HUD inside the scope, with the DOPE displayed?

Just came back in from the shop, almost freezing here right now; came in to warm up, cold night on the vertical mill, LOL!

:)>

shooting between heart beats seems to be the biggest help for me so far (after half breathing, hold).

This should make a massive difference to accuracy. I breathe out to the natural stopping point and shoot at that pause. I actually practice that whole process from parallax adjustment, sight target, aim, breathe, trigger pull to the moment the trigger breaks. I dry fire in this way a lot. It's all nicely timed and measured.

I've not worked with a set-trigger much although have fired several. I use Timney triggers mainly. Set triggers work for many here though - I can see the attraction.

6.5mmCM

This is one of my favourites. It is a laser! I'm getting 2842fps at the muzzle, from a SMK 142gr Sierra with a ballistic coefficient of 0.301 (G7). It's shot out to 1500m+ repeatedly but typically I try and keep it at under 1200m as I don't like missing. (It shoots 0.25moa at 100m so grouping well.)

For the flip cap DOPE I simply cut up paper to the right size, trimmed off the sharp corners then took them to Officeworks and had them laminated in a plastic sheet. Cut them all out individually and ended up with 30 or so little cards.

I stuck a velcro loop dot on the back of each and stuck the hook dot on the scope cap...Write on the card in your hand (use removeable marker) - Distances and dial - Then velcro dot to velcro dot and you're done. Works a treat. You can get things to do similar like the sidewinder DOPE thing, but I like my home made version better - Nothing sticking out the side of the rifle.

Blackout is a good fun option...I don't have one as I use my WFA1 for fun. (.223) Pictured at the top below. My 6.5Cm at bottom. Middle is my culling rifle .243 sporting the Kahles 624i 6-24x50 with the SKMR reticle in MRAD which I swap between the 243 and 6.5CM. This rifle sits in a Precision Defence Industries carbon fibre stock so all up with scope it only weighs 4kg. My mate owns PDI so I get them cheap at just over $1000.

I will try the dry fire, I have a laser that will fit in the chamber, so I can watch the effects of my breathing and trigger action.

I will work out breathing timing for smooth trigger action with dry fire drills.

I am reading a book on long distance shooting. I have taken deer out to 450 yards, and would like to extend that by half. I will not get many shots longer than that here.

The 300WM hits those velocities with the 200 grain points, and 3100 with the 165 grain points. It does let you know when you pull the trigger, LOL!

The Ballistic coefficient seems to be the aerodynamic efficiency of the specific bullet, I have to study that more. It seems that these are .495 to .670 in this rifle. Is it higher means less drop from air friction, or is it delivered energy? Is higher better?

A new upper on the .223 would convert it to a 300 Blackout. The 243 is a good round, but not one I have. I am thinking about the 6.5mm, because I like it in my Swedish Mauser. A separate 308 upper would make it more useful, that round I have and like.

A .250" MOA is amazing, I need to get there for sure. When I get this job done in the shop, I need to go to the range, LOL! YOU are a bad influence....

:)>

Yes, the higher the number the less drag on the bullet.

I've been called a bad influence before...I yam what a yam. 😃

I'm very happy with 6.5CM and at ranged of up to 1000m (1093 yards) it is deadly...Past that it's is still deadly and at about 1400m (1531 yards) is bloody awesome still...The problem comes in finding a scope able to keep up with it...Most cheaper scopes don't track that well...What I mean is that as one gets up to the higher dial-ranges each click is not exactly commensurate to the measurement. So with my Kahles 624i for instance each click is 0.1 MRAD...It does this all the way out to 26MRAD accurately. With some inferior scopes that 0.1 varies and brings inaccuracy.

At distance that means one could be dialling the incorrect input for the shot. Make sense?

Also whether the scope is level or not makes a difference. I sent a link to a post I did about scope levelling...Worth a read if you haven't got your head around it.

What book are you reading?

I understand non-linearity in scope adjustments, I fear my scope is just a $300 one and likely has that problem.

I read that post, and I will add the scope leveler, I just never thought about that. I do lock up with a good leather sling, but I only have one Bipod, it's on the M1A1

You are working out further that I, but I hope to catch up, LOL!

When I get the AR-10 going, I will add the 6.5 Creedmore to the 308.

I will get the title, basically the Author is a long range competitive shooter. Hmmmm, is it you?

:)>

If it's not this one then get this one on your list. I've read it 6 times, taken note after note...I keep it on the bedside table.

It's not, so I will get this one too. I appreciate it!

:)>

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00