Accidentally Damaging the Graphic Card by Putting Heatsink Copper on

in #wherein4 years ago

I purchased some copper heatsinks (better than Aluminum ones as copper transfer more heat).

However, when I attached them one by one carefully onto my AMD Radeon 6700 Graphic card, there was a sparks of flash and my screen went black.

The HPZ800 can reboot - which still works showing some basic text on BIOS - however, the windows also went dark. I guess some units were short-circuit-ed and thus damaged.

Lessons learned: I should really do this when server is turned off. And also avoid directly attaching the copper heatsinks on the board - as it might burn the board because the copper is Conductive. You might want to attach the heatsink on the chips (CPU).

I then have to replace this graphic card with Nvida Qudra 2000 and re-attach the copper heatsinks on to the motherboard of HPZ800 server. The Nvida Qudra 2000 GPU card is not that hot - on normal temperature range of 50 to 70 degree.

--EOF (The Ultimate Computing & Technology Blog) --

Reposted to Computing and Technology


Follow me for topics of Algorithms, Blockchain and Cloud.
I am @justyy - a Steem Witness
https://steemyy.com

Steem On!~
Every little helps! I hope this helps!


If you like my work, please consider voting for me or Buy Me a Coffee, thanks!
https://steemit.com/~witnesses type in justyy and click VOTE



Alternatively, you could proxy to me if you are too lazy to vote!

Also: you can vote me at the tool I made: https://steemyy.com/witness-voting/?witness=justyy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62062.59
ETH 3002.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77