What's Cooking Challenge - Pan Seared Salmon, Sweet Potato Hash and Roasted Cauliflower

Pan Seared Salmon, Sweet Potato Hash and Roasted Cauliflower

PlateItUp.jpg

A couple of weeks ago Sheila and I went out to dinner with our granddaughter, Morgan. Morgan and I both ordered the salmon. It was yummy. After that I knew I had to try and make it a home. So this is my twist on the dish. I think that it actually came out better than the restaurant's!

The Cauliflower

Breakup the head of cauliflower into flowerettes

Cali.jpg

Slice up a couple of garlic cloves

Garlic.jpg

Put the cauli and garlic into a ziploc, add in a couple of tablespoons of olive oil and give it a good toss

InTheZippy.jpg

Spread the cauli out on a baking pan and roast a 450 F oven for 20 minutes

The Hash

Give 2 large sweet potatoes a good scrub

Potatoes.jpg

Dice the potatoes into one inch cubes. I left the skin on.

CubedPotatoes.jpg

Boil the potatoes until soft. Drain, then dry them.

Boilpotatoes.jpg

Slice a half a pound of bacon into one inch pieces and brown.

Bacon.jpg

Dice a red bell pepper, a half of red onion, and scallions

PeppersAndOnions.jpg

Add the peppers, onions and scallions to the bacon and cook until the onion is transparent.

AddVeggies.jpg

Remove the veggies from the pan and set aside. Put the potatoes in the pan and toast them until they caramelize.

CaramelizePotatoes.jpg

Gently stir the veggies back into the pan. Sprinkle on some smoked paprika and chopped cilantro. reduce heat to keep warm.

CombineWithVeggis.jpg

The Salmon

I used a one pound fillet of salmon, skinned and cut into two pieces.

Pan sear the salmon a couple on minutes on each side.

Salmon.jpg

Plate It Up

I served this on a bed of baby spinach and arugula. The salmon was topped with a dollop of mascarpone and a basalmic glaze drizzle.

PlateItUp.jpg

This is my entry for #whatscookingchallenge by @jaynie.

Here’s the challenge:

NB: The #whatscookingchallenge is an ONGOING challenge, so you can enter WHENEVER you want and as OFTEN as you want!
1: Use the #whatscookingchallenge tag and tag me @jaynie in your post.
2: Create and publish a post showcasing something that
you have prepared in your kitchen which is either
a) uniquely yours, or b) has been adapted and made your own.
(The more elaborate the post the better, naturally...)
PS. This is NOT limited to "plates of food" - it can be preserves, snacks, anything!
3: Accompany the post with at least 2 photos of whatever it is that you have prepared.
(and in the spirit of avoiding plagiarism, a photo of YOU WITH your dish would be a plus, but is not a requirement)
4: Tag at least 5 (but not limited to) of your foodie friends
that you think would like to participate...

All photos, images and text in my posts are my original work.

Please visit my galleries on the following sites:
Society6
Fine Art America

Follow me on Facebook

Enjoy!

Roger

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

asapers 2.png
Banner by @shai-hulud

Sort:  

This post was spotted by @theluvbug and has received a 100% upvote and a resteem. If you would like to possibly receive future support from @theluvbug then please make use of the #theluvbug tag.

I AM

header.jpg

Spreading the STEEMIT LOVE with upvotes and resteems of INSPIRING, MOTIVATIONAL & POSITIVE Steemit content. Use #theluvbug to get my attention :)

......

FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER

Oh that looks amazing! I just baked halibut today :) I would be a happy man if I ate halibut and (wild) salmon every week

Thank you! Wild salmon is the best!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you very much!

Well done Roger! I love Salmon and this looks delicious!

I do the same as you and try to recreate a restaurant version of something I'm eating. Often it tastes better and is way cheaper :)

Thanks Lynn! This one was a bit of challenge getting done in my small kitchen! I did make quite a mess! LOL!

I can imagine Roger. I once made a full turkey dinner for Christmas will all the fixin's for 6 of us. It was a bit of a circus show, but tasted great.

mmmm! Turkey sounds good! Cooking for a crowds can get kind of crazy! Why is it that your company has the need to get into the kitchen and talk to you when you are trying to get stuff ready. Major stress!!!

hahaha everyone congregates in the damn kitchen Roger!

You have created a culinary masterpiece here!
Salmon is our favorite fish in this house... then you added the roasted cauliflower? This is definitely a must-try one day for me.

Roasted cauliflower is pretty easy to make and it tastes delicious! Salmon is one of my favorites too. Thank you for your comments!

One word @rwedegis! - DAMN!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Awww! Thank you @jaynie!

no REALLY!!!! It's Sheila right? SHEILA YOU ARE BLESSED!!!! hahahaha ;)

Hahaha! I see the wine is starting to kick in! I hate it that you always get a head start on me! Damn time zones!

TAG! you're IT! lol :)

CHEERS!

Tag.jpg

LOL!!!! I think we may just be able to start a TREND here @rwedegis ;)

20180731_213457.jpg

I love it!

Pretty fancy glass! I have to use cheap plastic ones because of the dogs! They even manage to break those every once in awhile!

Have a good night! Whatever you have left of it! You always make me smile!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94