Sort:  

Unfortunately not all answers given here are correct. There was no airdrop, but the people who hold bitshares, whaleshares, or brownie tokens on Aug 1st 2018 could claim an account and start of with a some whalestake that reflects the amount of the tokens they hold.

This claiming an account action is not possible all the time, different claim periods have already passed. It is unsure if and when another claim period will happen.

Whaleshares wants people to engage, to connect. Whaleshares is not for quick money. Therefore you can powerdown but only like 10% at the moment. We started off with 6.25% this will increase over the years.

On powerdown you get liquid WLS, this can be converted by using the rudex gateway for example. And it works the other way too. You can powerup by buying WLS on the exchange and moving it to your wallet.

Other differences, no 7 day payout period, but 14 days. All payout is vested, you get 100% whalestake. We use reward or upshare. Every post you reward is automatically shared. This is done to have people only reward what they really want to share with their friends.

Selfrewarding on comments will cost you 3x mana of a regular reward, and only results in 1/3 of the reward value of a regular reward. The same goes for flagging.

On whaleshares you can earn whaletokens. These tokens can be used to increase your post reward. Whaleshares does not use delegation.

If there is anything else you want to know, DM me on discord

Excellent answer(s), thanks.

Shall keep eyes & ears open for news of whether there shall be another claim period. IF I can get a head start due to my BTS holdings, I'd be happy to check it all out...

Regarding Powering Down...

If there’s only ONE token, does that mean the entire amount of rewards are distributed already Powered Up...?

Or is like Steem, where half can be taken out upon payment, and half powered up?

All rewards are powered up 100% when claimed. So it's like STEEM with the 100% Power Up option fixed as your selection.

Wls is listed on Rudex Exchange. Currently valued at 2bts per wls
https://market.rudex.org/#/market/RUDEX.WLS_BTS

Not sure if you can still claim the airdrop.

It is currently listed on bitshares and rudex @rok-sivante

Sorry my friend, but the window to claim the airdrop tokens closed a bit ago. I also couldn't claim them because at the time of the snapshot my coins were still on Binance. I moved them to my bitshares wallet about 2 weeks after the snapshot.

To answer your other question about trading, they are not allowing powerdown for the first year. I think after that it will be 13 weeks just like here on steemit.

In the meantime people who were airdropped the tokens can sell them on bitshares or rudex exchanges. The token is actually Rudex.WLS. I've bought some to power up. There isn't the highest liquidity, but my limit orders were filled both times overnight.

The thing to keep in mind is that unlike here, payouts there are not denominated in USD. It's denominated in the token, which last I checked goes for about a quarter. So divide any payout you see by 4. And of course, a year from now when the person earning that can cash it out we have no idea what the token price will be. I can see valid reasons for it to be much stronger by then and valid reasons for it to crash as soon as that earnings payout window opens and people all over the world start being able to get cash for them.

But there are other differences that make it a rather different experiment. I'm going on rather long here and actually I wrote a post a couple days ago comparing these communities that you might find instructive. Bottom line, there are more differences than the token economics that are worth exploring.

If you do go to WLS be sure to ping me.

if I can't claim the airdrop for all the BTS I had, I highly doubt I'll bother investing any time there.

I’m almost certain the window for that has closed but the person to ask to be sure is krazykrista. She’s on discord.

Just to note though, I’d had no intention of buying coins on there at all and one really doesn’t need to. I got to a $1 upvote in less than a month with no investment. I only wound up buying 600 coins as part of a two for one promotion. So you don’t necessarily have to pay for what you would have gotten for free just to be on there. Newbies gain a lot of traction on there quickly without having to by coin to.

Posted using Partiko iOS

You should have acted sooner?

If I knew about it earlier, I would have.

I believe you can powerdown 6% of your current stake over a period of 13 weeks at the moment...

Yes some percentage can be powered down

Good to know. They’re constantly tweaking things to get better results over there.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29