Good Whales vs. Bad Whales? I Do Not Think So.

in #whales7 years ago (edited)

I have seen the posts calling out good and bad whales and we had a short conversation about this today.  This is how I tried to summarize the situation as I see it.  

What I think is happening goes like this:  (No whales were harmed in the making of this post, nor did I interview anyone regarding their feelings, instead I projected what I thought might be happening)

SteemGuild thinks they are helping SteemIt by spreading out the rewards with their curation.

@Smooth/ @Transisto/ @Berniesanders think they are protecting the rewards from SG, or unfair rewards.

@Krnel thinks he is protecting the end-users and the rewards pool from arbitrary flagging

@Mynameisbrian is funny and making social comments.

@steemsports and @ats-david are trying to bring in sports lovers and give them activities to do.

@abit is rewarding comments to motivate people to engage.

Many others are offering up solutions and ideas on how they think they can make things better.

What I see are passionate people who care about SteemIt.  That is the conclusion I have come to.  I haven't seen a single person who's goal it is to hurt the platform.




Sort:  

Ha! This is great! :)

Every good whale knows that you should never bring a crowbar to a knife-fight!

Ha ha. This is getting good!

I approve this message.

Followed @whatsup

Excellent, I enjoy your comics! See you on the platform! :)

What I see are passionate people who care about SteemIt. That is the conclusion I have come to. I haven't seen a single person who's goal it is to hurt the platform.

100% agree with u! Is the reason I had only read and so far not commented any post about the whales. Til now everything is for the "good" of Steemit regardless of all the different forms that are present in the game so far.

It is true there are different perspectives! :) I am just not convinced anyone has bad intentions. :) Glad we are in agreement.

There are as many opinions of whales on this site as there are atoms in the universe. This is but one atom ;)

I believe there are not such a thing as good whales or bad whales, only whales doing the best they know to keep the order in this great community! But, I really like your message!

I tend to agree. After all, don't they have the most to win or lose?

I think they know better than us. Anyway, some users believe they know more than whales, but without the whales, Steemit wouldn't exist.

:) They definitely had a great idea.

Yeah, that pretty much gets to the heart of it.

I mean, why would anyone be here to "NOT do well?" Different objectives, perhaps... but not "good" or "bad," just whales swimming around in the microcosm that is Steemit.

You didn't mention the super mega whales blocktrades, freedom, ned, dan.

For whatever reason, I never hear much drama around blocktrades. Not saying it isn't out there somewhere.

As for freedom, ned and dan it is my understanding they fund SteemGuild, so without saying it, I was lumping them in there. :)

For blocktrades, see this: https://steemit.com/flagging/@krnel/vote-negation-flag-review-council-other-solutions#@transisto/re-blocktrades-re-krnel-re-blocktrades-re-krnel-vote-negation-flag-review-council-other-solutions-20170306t101650851z . :P

IMO Dan doesn't fund the Guild, but Ned, Val and Michael did.

Just a name jumped into my head: there is a new active whale @created. Hmm, I think he/she turned into a bot now (if isn't earlier, I'm not sure). There are also the old bot wang, and new bot summon.

Drama for all of the whales! Next time I make a whale of a post, I will do more name dropping. :) Oh boy, it can be hard to keep up with it. :)

Well, this isn't exactly true. I'm totally here to destroy Steemit. Obviously.

Obviously!

Save the whales! Down with those pesky harpoon toting whalers!

All kidding aside, thanks for this reminder that we are all in this adventure together. The whales have the most to lose of any of us if Steemit doesn't succeed, so of course they are highly incentivized to act in what they perceive to be the best interest of the platform. And like any human being, it's only natural for them to have different ideas about how to do that, in line with their own interests & inclinations.

We all want Steemit to succeed. How to ensure that happens is up for debate. But let's keep it a civil, well reasoned debate, keeping in mind that ultimately the goal of everyone is the same, though the journey to get there may take many paths.

Very well said thank you for stopping by and making a comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25