I got to be a "Whale for a day" thanks to @anomadsoul | How it feels being a whale...

in #whaleforaday6 years ago

ocean-2051760_960_720.jpg
Three-shots at Pixabay

Blog_Divider_shabbymissjenndesig-1.png

Waking up way too early on saturday morning

Normally I wake up between 6.45 and 7.00 am and I do my thing before the little one wakes up. Sometimes that doesn't last more than 15 minutes, sometimes she give me two hours of my time lol.. As we fell a sleep together around 10 pm together on friday, we had a good sleep when we opened our eyes around 5.30 am. And there was no way she was going to sleep again, so just start the day early. The first thing I saw opening my discord, was a gina notification about a new post that @anomadsoul had published.

blog-divider-2013.png

Who wants to be whale for a day?

blog-divider-2013.png

Say what? If the little fishies want to be whale for a day, duhuh! I didn't even first get my coffee (which is odd for me) and immediately commented on his post. I didn't even make a 15 page application for this powerful "job" lol, I got caught in the moment and just commented that I would use the power wisely. Before I knew the @comedyopenmic family was backing my comment, and all leaving the sweetest and most supportive comments to give it to me. Again, thank you all lovely community members! <3 I believe they made a greater effort to get me the "job" than myself, which makes me almost embarrassed lol. I don't know what made me win, but I was happy to read the comment that I was now whale for a day!

Blog_Divider_shabbymissjenndesig-1.png

So what to do with this great responsibility?

Once I arrived at home after an afternoon at the playground with our little one, I decided first to analyse the vote amount I would be able to give to people, as I have my own pattern to vote for posts and comments based on my whole 0,03 vote lol. I didn't want to give only 15 votes with 100%, and not even 30 with 50%, so I started with voting at 10% which was still a 1,44 vote! I know when I get a 1,44 vote I get happy too, so let's start giving some of these first.
I had to think about giving some more votes in the evening so the voting power would not hit 100% at night. So a little math told me that I had to go to sleep with a maximum of 94% voting power so it would be loading back to 100% in 7,5 hours approximately. But maybe it was even safer to be a bit lower, like 92 or 93% before I would go to bed.

Next, I decided to first get comfortable with the different percentages and voting amounts before I could make a solid game plan for the next day. So therefore I tried out some different percentages first, to see what felt good. Remember that nowadays with the low steem prices, I have a 100% vote of 0,03 and I just give away penny's compared to this vote that is now behind me. So I needed to try before I knew what felt good. I didn't want to be too enthusiastic throwing votes, as normally I also vote comments, that didn't feel quite right at this moment, so I didn't vote any comments to start with. Let's get comfy with having this responsibility first lol. I thought it might be nice to give @anomadsoul some credit and leave a short comment why his vote followed behind mine. This is the message I left in my comment:

blog-divider-2013.png

Thanks to @anomadsoul making me "A whale for a day" by following my vote while he is traveling, my vote will be followed directly by his vote with the same percentage. So thanks to this you will receive a much higher upvote than I could give with my own Steem Power.

blog-divider-2013.png

time-is-money-1339781_960_720.jpg

I managed to vote enough to go to sleep

Haha that sounds weird, normally some trails like curie take care of my power when I sleep. This time it was all in my hands, and I was tired already.. I went to sleep around 1 AM and saw that the voting power was covered until 7.30 AM.. and I always wake up at 7 AM to start my curating stuff with a cup of coffee. What do you think that happened?
I overslept!!! Bloody hell, I woke up at 8 AM so sorry @anomadsoul, your power has been 100% for half an hour, my bad!

Blog_Divider_shabbymissjenndesig-1.png

Let's boost the votes a bit and have even more fun

I did some math, and as I made a document of all the posts I voted for, it was no rocket science that I wouldn't find enough posts to vote for if I'd continue giving 10/15% votes lol. Therefore I got more generous, and actually that felt like being Santa Claus a bit, I was able to throw some sweet votes around to people that deserved it. I didn't look up all the people that I chat with daily, but I did hang out in every server that I normally also spend time, to find those good posts. I wanted to show love to communities that have been good to me, and to authors of contests and giveaways that I enter a lot too. Unfortunately not everyone writes, so there are a few people that I could not show appreciation to. Instead I choose to upvote a few posts in the community to give those authors a little boost. Comedyopenmic got my 100% vote on their winners post, as this is maybe one of the coolest servers to hang out. Put on your funny pants and hang out with the nutheads, you must love it! Another one (trust me I only gave a few 100% votes) that got my full vote, is the Engagement league that Asher runs, every single week he shows the community what progress everyone has made and throws around all these prizes for those on top. But also for those with 0 self votes he gives away STEEM. As I value my spot in his league a lot, I decided not to use the 1 self vote that was permitted by @anomadsoul. I haven't been voting for my own post for a while now, and I'd like to keep it that way. So Eric, if you find my posts worthy, you can vote them yourself now you have your powers back lol.

Blog_Divider_shabbymissjenndesig-1.png

Who else got my vote?

I did nothing different than normal, go through a lot of posts to look for the great or exceptional ones. Or maybe those that tell something personal, you get the point. I don't focus on only one category of posts, like some focus on travel or art posts. I go through all of them if possible. I have documented every post, and percentage I gave away, so let's have a look at some stats here as I love statistics haha.

blog-divider-2013.png

I gave away 47 votes during my Whale period, 5 of them were 50% votes and only 3 of them were 100% votes. When I went to sleep yesterday evening, I gave away exactly 15 full votes of 100% in total when adding up the percentages. In total I distributed a total vote amount of $220,46 ... That is pretty cool, right?

blog-divider-2013.png

For me giving away 3 full votes is quite high, normally I rarely give away a 100% vote myself. I try to divide my voting power as much as possible. But in this case I felt like I should reward a few authors with a nice fat vote :)

Blog_Divider_shabbymissjenndesig-1.png

End conclusion

So did I behave the same as usual throwing votes at people? Hell no, I was much more cautious at first, and stayed a bit in my own percentage behavior because my votes of 10,15,20 or 25 are about the same.. So when I woke up on sunday I felt like I should reward author's better than that. And tried finding those posts that I thought really were worthy of a 3,50 to even 14 dollar vote. I mean I have to enjoy playing Santa Claus a bit too right? But I absolutely did not vote bad posts, and only posts that I would normally take the time to read, comment and vote too. I left a comment below every single vote I left, to explain why there was this big vote behind mine for now. Before you know you get this huge fanclub that thinks my vote will continue coming with @anomadsoul's vote lol..

Blog_Divider_shabbymissjenndesig-1.png

Thank you note

So I want to thank you again @anomadsoul for giving me this great responsibility of handing out your money. (lol it's always nice to spend someone else's money right?)
I truly hope everyone is satisfied of the work I did during those 36 hours, because I really tried to reward as many authors from different communities as possible. When you're an active member/curator in several communities close to your heart, it's hard sometimes to divide your attention while searching good content, so if I didn't upvote you while you have posted a great post, probably I just didn't see your post .. Nothing personal, there's only so much I can do.. I didn't upvote any author twice, at least not that I know of...

Blog_Divider_shabbymissjenndesig-1.png

Now back to work

Normal life has begun again, I have no huge powers anymore since I woke up this morning... So now it will be me and my small little fishy vote again for those authors that I curate. If any whale feels like I did a good job here, and wants to give me a delegation for a while to keep rewarding those awesome authors, of course I will not say no to that! In the meanwhile I will just continue writing, try to keep posting daily (because curating is hard work, and sometimes I can't find the time to write lol) and hopefully in the future I'll be a real Steemit Whale myself..

swushes-steem-green.png

anouk1.gif

swushes-steem-green.png

Sort:  

What?! You wasted your voting power for a half-hour by oversleeping so that your power got back to 100% !! What a WASTE! ... lol ... I made that mistake a couple of times at first too.

Wish you could have had the whale power last a bit longer but nice to see that you got a taste!

Lol I get that feeling, having your SP at 100% feels like a waste of potential support for other people haha but I guess anouk Learned from that mistake and perhaps understand the constant stress we have regarding better usage of SP

Yeah you are right! I know now to never trust on only half an hour after me normally waking up :) hahaha .. I should better play safe.. Because your vote actually counts ;) so that is a pretty big waste of support otherwise..

I do get the stress and maybe more though, because to me Steemit also feels as a normal job. I have no boss behind me, but I do feel responsible for what I do, and promise to do. If I fail for whatever reason I feel like I let people down.. And I am busy with steemit going through posts many hours a day, sometimes until my boyfriend actually gets sick of it.

But I am building something.. He gets it don't get me wrong, but sometimes I should be able to just let the trails do their work for a day ;) Or in your case a minnow taking care of your votes lol..

Thanks again, I really thought that was super cool to do!

Yes, I had to tease her about that. :)
Thanks @anomadsoul for choosing her and doing this for people!

Thank you for being an inspiration for me! You and Ausbit were some of the first whales who supported me, I´m just trying to do the same with the next generation of Steemians :)

Haha you tease! :)
No worries I can really handle it especially from you! lol...

<3

Hahhahahhaha well, he explicitly said in his post: don't let it get to 100 and not below 90 :) So I was monitoring my behavior like non-stop hehe. I thought ok, I'll be safe now, and then it happened.. I am so glad @anomadsoul didn't slap me because of this ;) But then I was even more motivated to give away exactly 15 full votes in total hehe...

If you were posting, I would of course have giving you a vote too for all your continuous support, but you are not posting, and comments weren't followed by his vote ;)
So please don't think I forgot you because I can't <3

And yeah maybe he or other whales will do this kind of things more often, that would be cool.. It's nice to get a taste of that power :)

I let my voting power go at least a little bit under 90% before retiring for the night, 85% being my lower limit (most of the time). That way I can accidentally sleep in ... lol ...
I couldn't resist teasing you.

No worries I can handle it haha :)

Great stewardship of @anomadsoul's gift! You had it down to a science! I've seen all these whale for a day posts, and haven't paid them much mind until now. What a privilege it would be! Congrats on the opportunity! :)

Lol, thanks yeah that's me. I love analyzing the curation rewards too (see if I'm doing it right hehe) I haven't seen more whale for a day posts than the one I replied on? Clicking on the tag also doesn't give other results besides mine.. :)

I just realized what I was seeing in my feed. @mermaidvampire's what would you do if you were a Steemit whale writing contest lol.

P.S. Sorry for the tiny vote, trying to get my VP up, but it's soooo hard. I could learn a lot from your example! 😅

Haha ok, never apologize for a low vote please, I am barely giving away 100% votes as I read way too many posts in a day, so have my own strategy.. And two months ago I still had a delegation and the prices were higher so 100% was 0,13 or something.. now my 100% is only 0,03 :( but for now it is what it is lol.. You keep your VP up :) I check in steemworld what percentage is 0,01 or 0,02 (depends on my 100% amount) and give that percentage to every post, and the comment a bit lower, but in a way you'd still get the 0.001 SP curation reward.. Maybe it helps? :)

Yes, it's either take a break, or figure it out, pull yourself together, and have some self control!!!! LOL! Have a great day! :)

Haha you'll manage, really try my way for a few days.. and if my voting amount changes I just adapt.. as long as every vote I give away will remain at 0.001 SP reward I'm ok.. and yes sometimes I give 100% votes if I have more power, no time etc.. and to steembasicincome (so that my shares are higher) but most of the times I stick to this.. One day things will rise again, and then it will all be much better :) You too!

This was the first time I had seen it but either way, fantastic sides all around.

You could put ur mind to ease knowing you did the right thing . One day when I’m a whale, I’ll do the same

Posted using Partiko iOS

That’s fantastic! So happy you won and it seems like you could not have handled it any better. I don’t think I’ll ever get to the amount of SP that @anomadsoul has but I hope to eventually get to “whale” status someday. If I do I’ll do the same exact thing from time to time....especially when I do conventions and am super busy for a weekend. Fantastic idea by one of my favorite Steemians and I hope others that are in similar positions take note and follow suit. Congrats once again!!!

This is fantastic, congratulations @anouk.nox. I love how you think of benefiting the rest around you with a "strategy", when you had the privilege! You are one kind soul!!!

Well, I think it's very cool that you got to do that... what a great opportunity! The thing that made me particularly happy was that it was someone active from Asher's "Curation and Engagement Leagues" that got to be whale for a day!

=^..^=

With great power comes great responsibility... haha... I'm sure someone already said that in the comments....
But wow!! It's like the Fairy GodMother granted you a wish....
And from how you managed it, you definitely deserved it 😊

Am surprised you slept at all. I'll be awake for the full 24 hours.

I'm so glad that you wrote this @anouk.nox! I knew you'd think it all through, analyze it, and be excited about it :) Congratulations again; what fun for you!

Were you the least bit worried in the beginning that you wouldn't do it right ? Not that there's any right way to do it, but I'm sure you know what I mean :)

This was really cool to read, thank you for sharing all of the details for how it went for you :D Also I didn't realize the full vote was that big! I thought it was around 10, (I didn't check).

Also counting the percentages seemed like the hardest part of all this xD Great that you figured it out so efficiently. We are so used to throwing around tiny votes haha.

Good luck with all ^^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64111.27
ETH 3065.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00