Pendulum swinging to Generosity!!!!

in #welcomewagon6 years ago
As the Steemit population is getting leaner and leaner, I've been thrilled to see that more and more people are recognizing this as a GOOD SEASON for us all! As Steem goes down, yes - payouts are less, and morale does take a little beating for a while. However, as many people have begun to notice (and post) - the people who are able to stick around, support, network and engage are a pretty special group!


I have met more interesting people in the last six weeks than in the previous six months! It's just a simple fact that if the concentration of quality people increases as the overall number of people decreases, you're going to have a MUCH stronger chance of actually meeting and interacting with some DEDICATED people! Just imagine wading through a sea of people, trying to make a connection with that one across the room! Fewer people means a more direct, uncluttered route! Not only that - but have you noticed that the comments have become more engaging too? It's less like a hit & run, and more like a stay & chat!!




The second interesting point that I've noticed happening with greater frequency: Generosity! In the beginning, it seemed like everyone was holding onto their Steem with two fists. Everyone was a little bit concerned over the decreasing numbers in their wallet every day, and it seemed as if generosity had taken a backseat to panic. Now, Steem hasn't risen much at all, but it seems to at least be holding steady. I'm not sure if everyone was able to take a collective breath and reconsider, or if people are just tired of morale being a little low. What I'm personally thrilled about is that everywhere on Steemit - people are giving, sharing, and pushing that pendulum back with two open hands.



Is it me - or are we seeing a lot of generous whales dropping their votes onto posts? Let's not just limit it to the whales! Orcas, dolphins, minnows and plankton and communities are all doing the same! But let's face it - those elusive whales have been visiting posts and encouraging those of us who have stayed in a special way! Whale votes are just a special reason to celebrate! Just in the last week alone, I believe five people have shared their excitement with me over an unexpected boost to their posts!



If I can encourage you all in this - please, try it! I know it's comfortable in your community! I'm not asking you to give that up. Anyone who knows me knows exactly how important community (family!) is - but, BUT! Now is the time for you to spread that network of yours a little farther, and break out of your comfort clique! You can actually have conversations with people now that you never thought you might meet! Go visit their posts! Make some amazing, engaging comments! Try a new challenge with a new group! Join a discord that you have been wanting to check out! When the masses come flooding back in as Steem rises again, you'll be glad that you made yourself a little more noticeable! Plus, you'll remember the names of the people who stayed on Steemit, when the going got tough - and better still - they'll remember you!


~@dreemsteem, for the Welcome Wagon



CLICK HERE TO VOTE FOR @C0FF33A AS WITNESS

This banner created by @enginewitty

WITNESS_enginewittyGIF.gif
CLICK HERE TO VOTE FOR @ENGINEWITTY AS WITNESS

This gif created by the wonderfully artistic @liberty-minded

Wagon Wheels and Welcome Wagon logo designed by the amazing @penderis

Image Source Population Plus? , edited by @dreemsteem

Sort:  

Excellent advice and I think your opinion rings true. I'm cool with it growing a little leaner for a bit. It gives me a chance to make a few new connections and learn a bit more about Steemit. Now, if I could only get the attention of a whale or two. Cool post. Thanks

hahahaha well they seem to be swimming closer to shore these days!!!! :) I hope that you get the attention of one too :) It's a neat feeling to be recognized for your work, when you least expect it! I really do hope you get that!!! :) witty-waiter, huh? I'll have to come by your blog and see what makes you so witty! :) hehehehe

Thank you for visiting and leaving your encouragement!!! :)

My blog may be a little serious except for a couple of funnies here and there. I mostly visit buddies post's and leave the witty remarks and run.

Ha ha, just you with the whale vote sightings! I haven't seen a thing, must be trolling in the wrong waters!

no not just me! Really! I've heard from several people this week that a whale swam by their posts!!!! It's so cool! :)

if i see one - i'll throw some chum in your area ;)

hehehehe

hi, found you via @shadowspub referral. Awesome work being done here and amazing messages in this post. You are right about it being the good times, now we can focus on building a core, maybe a large pod of dolphins so when the next wave comes ( and I hope we have a good bit of time) we will be better equipped to find good content and give rewards :-)

Thank you so much!!!! And yes - to the large pod of dolphins! Now is the time to push for it -if people can! :) it would be nice if steem would hold here for juuuuuuuuuuust long enough for me to buy in! hahahahahahaa

Thank you for all your encouragement today and your awesome boosts of confidence! :) You totally made my day!

and THANK YOU @shadowspub :) We so appreciate you always being willing to spread the word about our little project! It's an honor to have you speak highly of us!!!!

@dreemsteem, for the Welcome Wagon

There really does seem to be a gorgeous, open flow of generosity around these parts lately, and it's so wonderful to see and feel. Long may it last and keep great steemians engaged and uplifted.

I love the Comfort Clique section. I'm going to make it my mission this week to explore one tag I'm unfamiliar with each day and engage with people writing in those posts- goodness knows what exciting new content and communities I might find ;)

Have a happy hump day WW fam,
E x

Yes! Long may it last!!!! We need a banner that says this hehehehe

we just should not let it die! :) keep generosity alive!!!

and good for you!!! I'm glad that it inspired you to get outside your comfort clique! heheheh that's a hard thing to do - especially when we WANT to support our friends that support us so well!

But i like your idea - a little bit at a time :)

Always a little bit at a time- it stops it becoming an overwhelming obstacle and instead makes it a fun treat!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63202.55
ETH 3085.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85