Sunday weed walk

in #weeds5 years ago

I've been wanting to go look at some of the weeds in my yard. Some of them I know, some I don't. I'll be looking into the ones I don't know. :)

Here's a few I know:

IMG_20190217_122922078.jpg

Dandelions, chickweed, and henbit.

IMG_20190217_122926793.jpg

Henbit has pretty flowers and is an important early season pollinator attractor. Around here, there's huge purple patches of it that span a whole yard or two. As the name implies, chickens like it!

IMG_20190217_123153947.jpg

Some kind of thistle (???) that's growing down by the ditch. It looks cool. Lots of it grows by the walking trail at the park where Sam and I explore. The trail goes around the park at the edge of the woods. I wonder what this stuff is...

IMG_20190217_123204419.jpg

Some kind of pretty feather fern type thing.

IMG_20190217_123218217.jpg

Close-up of the feathery leaves. For some reason this one is really interesting to me. I wanna know what it is. I have some kind of feeling that it'll be helpful.

IMG_20190217_123309577.jpg

Watching videos from Paul Stamets, he referenced what mycologists call LBMs. Little Brown Mushrooms. I have some LBMs in my yard today growing under the oak trees.

IMG_20190217_123313980.jpg

Cute little mushrooms.

IMG_20190217_123001777.jpg

Then there was some kind of corticiod fungus on a branch that fell. Corticioid fungi are decomposers. There's a lot of dead branches in the trees with these crust fungi on them. They fall pretty well on their own, but there's one big one in the front yard that I'm gonna have to take the saw to.

So I've got things to look into! Lemme check with the weed master, @sagescrub and see if he can recognize those two. The weeds in Texas may be different from the ones in Oregon though lol

Be blessed.
Be fruitful.
Stay relevant.

Nate.


cooplogowebsite.png
Purchase sustainably produced seeds, textiles, medicines, and more for SBD from @homesteaderscoop at The Homesteader's Co-op Online Marketplace!

video1549779729.gif
Follow @naturalmedicine and join the Natural Medicine discord channel today and come grow and learn with us!


Join us on the GHSC Discord and follow @ghscollective to become part of a global network of homesteaders!

Sort:  

The feathery fern like plant is Yarrow!! It is one of our favorite plants for medicine and flowers!

The thistle is definitely a thistle, I am not sure what kind. Let me know if you find out! I don't know about the mushrooms.

Yarrow!!! Wahoo!!! It wasn't there last year. Some bird must've pooped me a medicinal gift of seeds!

Could the fern be a young Yarrow? I heard it grows wild over there

That's what @sagescrub says as well. After videos and articles, I'm confident in agreeing. Now that I know it's a good time for it, I'll be planting a patch of it tomorrow using seeds I bought from @sagescrub in the Co-op.

It's good to know my eyesight is holding up lol

Posted using Partiko Android

Yup, your ferny one is yarrow. Grow lots here, even a deep pink one. The pollinators have carried the pink pollen far and wide, and we have faintly pink yarrow all over the farm.

That's cool! I was seeing that there's lots of different color variants. Cool that they can hybridize like that, I wonder if one color has more medicinal properties than another...

I suspect the white one has the most, unless someone has bred one to have more....

Those are the ones I bought from @sagescrub. :)

Since they're already coming up, I figure it's an okay time to plant some.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84