Wednesday Walk: Squirrel Time

in #wednesdaywalk5 years ago

Going outside this morning I saw my friendly red squirrel, Bopeep. She hasn’t been around much this winter.

I interrupted my Wednesday Walk and went back in the house to get her a piece of biscuit (or scone as they are called in different countries).

Bopeep



image
Canon EOS Rebel T6
F/6.3 1/400 205mm ISO1250



“How do you know she is a she?” My cousin once asked.

“I know because she had a baby squirrel with her last year.”

The baby squirrel who I call Junior is still around but he is afraid and will not come up to me like Bopeep.

Here is checking me out.


image

Bopeep And Blue Jay



image


Unlikely companions, those two. They are eyeing each other over who got the most food this morning.

Snow still on the ground here in the countryside as the trees hold it but in town most of the snow is gone.




Check out #wednesdaywalk hosted @tattoodjay

Challenge Info click Here

Location: Prince Edward Island, Canada

Photos & Text @redheadpei

All Rights Reserved





#thealliance





46B316FA-31F9-40BB-87B7-F85999B33372.png


6EE249CE-12B6-4AD7-944D-06B6CDD099C5.jpeg


image

Sort:  

This is such a cool entry for the walk and so cool that Bopeep came for a visit and for me they are scones :)

Thanks @tattoodjay and for your fun challenge. 😊

MOst welcome my friend

Awww... I love having wild animal friends! Such a cordial kind of relationship, warm and friendly but also respectful of space. Adorable :D

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks @bennettitalia for stopping by and your lovely comment.

adorable!! thanks for sharing your photos and I love the name.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks @wandrnrose7 and you’re welcome. Glad you loved the name.

Red squirrels are the cutest! We don't have them here. Only the gray and the fox squirrels. You have to go a couple hundred miles further north before you see the red squirrels. Really cute photos!

Thanks Melinda @melinda010100. I do love the little red squirrels. It’s probably best we don’t have on P.E.I. the larger gray, black or fox ones as they will kill the tiny reds.

Great #wednesdaywalk @redheadpei. We were just discussing trying to feed the deer we see each day on our walk. They are still a bit scared of us which is probably a good thing. Bopeep is super cute.

My father was a forest ranger for part of my childhood and I think it has greatly influenced me to care for forests and wildlife. Deer like apples. Apples have been used to lure deer, moose and bear to stake-outs so hunters could kill them. I’m happy you are not going to shot them ...only with your camera. 😊

You just have the best looking friends!

Nice walk, except for the snow :)

Yes and my furry friends never disagree with me. 😂 Thanks @bigtom13.

I think I remember the last time your friend visited you. Great shots!
We don't see squirrels around here and no snow either haha

Thanks Cave @caveman. I could do with less snow but it’s part of life here in winter. It was nice to see Bopeep again. She is always friendly and comes right up to me.

Oh how gorgeous @redheadpei That was a very worthy reason to interrupt your Wednesday walk. BoPeep is LOVING her biscuit! I think the bluejay was envious.

Thanks Trudee @trudeehunter. it was nice Bopeep came for a visit. You are right, the bluejays don’t like to share. 😊

WOW! Really cute squirrel! She has nice name. You are very kind to her.

The Blue Jay is very beautiful, too. Ah! I can imagine when you described that...."They are eyeing each other over who got the most food this morning". ;D

Thanks @tangmo. This morning the Blue Jays were chasing and diving at the squirrel as she ran for the forest. They don’t like the squirrel eating the food I put out.

You're welcome! Oh! Sorry to hear that! At first when I saw your photo, I think, they are good friends....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66363.68
ETH 3207.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27