wednesdaywalk with @tattoodjay

in #wednesdaywalk5 years ago (edited)

We brought some street photo from historical center of St.Petersburg today. I say 'we', cause I had another little private steemians meetup: I met in real world my friend @bambuka. We wanted to visit the Cartie Bresson Exhibition, test my 300mm tele lens, discuss WeKu blockchain, and simply to look up at each other (the last, but not the least!). We nailed even more goals than planned, and had a really solid walk across the streets, yards and hidden corners. At last we parted, and I finished this session on my own, focusing on portraying strangers... I turned from my new 16-35mm lens (which is the 1st time Im getting it to do the job) to 70-300mm tele, and backwards, so it came out a really mixed sessions... but lets go thru the story in order.

wed_3279_dlt.jpg

wed_3289_duo.jpg

wed_3180_gott.jpg
Right as we started, I discovered this nice inscription. Being translated to English, it means smth like this: "God knows all your secrets. But are you in the know of HIS secrets, any?.." Simply bokehlicious!

wed_3216_35mm.jpg
Watching results, I have an impression that 16-35mm lens is quite bright, has a good bokeh, fast and accurate focus, beautifully "draws" the picture, and on 35mm end turns into something more or less universal...

wed_3182_kazz.jpg
...on wide-angle side is capable to take care of the biggest buidings, like Kazanskii Sobor. On this pic: the bus with Chinese tourists have arrived (a lot of Chinese can be seen on the streets here).

wed_3183_blind.jpg
I made a few shots, holding the camera at the belly, i.e. not focusing and not looking into viewfinder at all; and got quite satisfying results, like this.

wed_3178_face.jpg
Just a small graffity on the wall I liked. Isnt it a bit Picasso-like?

wed_3185_arch.jpgThis temporary decoration was created to match the style of the buildings, I believe.

wed_3196_wood.jpg
This design is.... very simple, naked to the bones, I would say. Looks funny. Quite the opposite to the picture above.

A few more designs that attracted me:
wed_3177_desig.jpg

wed_3179_yalt.jpg
This one is funny, only later I understood that we have here a modern 'palimpsest': the wall (dark pink) had some graffity painted over it, which was provided a new graffity, and painter over again with a new rectangles, rather yellow, then pink... anonymous person have added a few details, and converted it into new pictures, direstly wall-based. I enjoy this 'game of random' very much.

wed_3194_allei_3.jpg
An open-air bookshop. It is working from May till September on one of the central streets of the city. Probably, publishing and selling non-digital books still is a profitable business.

wed_3192_allei.jpg


wed_3198_perovoi_2.jpg
This is a top fashionable and luxurious street of the city (Swedish Consulate is located here). In the soviet 80-es, it was named 'Ulitsa Sofji Perovskoi' and looked very poor and desolated. I wish I could bring you the pic to check, but.... could find only very old image, which dates back to 1910. Intresting!

photo_147-150586.jpg
(Source).

wed_3207_car2.jpg

wed_3204_cadillac.jpg

I have found the rear-view mirror, which we used with great benefit.

wed_3212_mirror.jpg

wed_3215_b1.jpg

wed_3218_molow.jpg
Some ordinary city streetlife. It looks more impressive in b-w mode...

wed_3220_sadik.jpg
Different types of greeen decorations: luxurios one...

wed_3283_2trees.jpg
...and more simple back-door version. Its a smoking spot, people do spend a lot of time here, and no surprise they desided to make this place look less annoying for their eyes...

wed_3222 carlson.jpg
Beneath my feet I noticed an ad for a cool sort of activity: Roof Walks! The person suggests some guidance -- definitely he is in the know of available observation spots and unlocked exit doors to the roofs -- and this knowledge can be monetized...

wed_3226_pigeons.jpg
I experimented with 16-mm end, trying to come as close to the pigeons, as possible. @Bambuka tried to help and slightly pushed them in my direction. But they did not allow to fool them - under pressure coming from two sides, they simply evaporated into the air.

wed_3231_stree.jpg
This shot reminds me the famous picture by Robert Doisneau; I think it is not so easy to create a shot like he did, nowadays: theres so much shit you can not eliminate from the frame! it goes inevitable, and it is not benefiting to the picture in any way... I wish there were less cars on the street, less wies in the air -- early in the morning, you can eliminate people, but not the cars. the cars will always be there, blocking the view on the houses and the streets. the next shot doesnt have a car in the frame... but it is there :/

wed_3235_old.jpg

wed_3237_yard1.jpg
A typical yard.

wed_3246_yard3.jpg
Acourtyard string. We waited a minute for any stranger to pass by, to make the capture more picturesque, and - we got this boy, with a kettle! I wonder what he was going to do. He disappeared in 5 seconds, as he noticed us.

A tiny souvenir store. St.Petersburg is a tourist city, so, kitch souvenir shit of all sorts is absolutely irreplaceable.
wed_3243_souv2.jpg

wed_3242_souvenirs.jpg

wed_3325_art2.jpg
Street artists. We had a funny discussion with one of them, who didnt allowed us to take the pics. Probably, our smiles and joint efforts made her change her mind, at least temporarily. Obviously, look at these images - theres nothing we can 'steal, print and sell' from what she was selling herself.

wed_3331_art.jpg

wed_3346_streetpainters.jpg
Some graffity artists. Unfortunately, I came too late -- could shot only the process of packing the stuff!
More street artists -- musicians...

wed_3344_etnomus.jpg

We spotted some non-street based pigeons... were suggested to have a photosession with them for some silly money, but I declined it. Instead, I just cashed them a bit 'for the feeding purposes' ... and take some pics for free.

wed_3301_pigeons2.jpg

wed_3314_book.jpg
Entrance to the biggest, most beautiful and most expensive Book Store on Nevsky Prospect (located in the Zinger building). I enter it from time to time just to please myself with the interior design. The said building is seen on the background in the photo below.

wed_3319_xodi.jpg

wed_3323_xod2.jpg
A live and walking theater advertisement...
...and more, more, more. We shoot so much stuff during this 2 hours walk!
We had just a little rest with coffee and donuts in a very nintage old Cafeteria. Believe me or not, it is such an old fashioned cafe, that they dont accept credit cards! A lot of things they still have like it was in a soviet epoch there. A small time-travel machine... Well, a bit. If you dont look too much around.... Unfortunately, the light was pretty poor and unsuitable for the good pics...

wed_3255.jpg

wed_3251_cat.jpg
But they have kitties there!!! So I couldnt stop myself from taking the pics, hehe. How could I pass by such a noble cat editions?

wed_3261_cafecat2.jpg

wed_3251_cat.jpg

NB. @brittandjosie, it happened exactly as you predict it: completely when one didnt expect that! :=)


Perhaps, I should prevent myself from adding more pics to this blog. I did a lot of portraits with my tele lens. Faces, faces, faces... spent about an hour behind the rock band playing, hiding in the shade with my tele, capturing everyone who was passing by.... a lot of different persons came by, leaving me with a few very intresting portraits. Ok, I add just one last picture: a boy and old woman.

tele_2225.jpg


Hope you enjoyed this medium-sized excursion across my city.
It definitely worth visiting, haha. Just choose a right weather option!

Sort:  

Малая Конюшенная, пока там были деревья, выглядела очень тихой, спокойной и уютной. Мне очень нравилась.

https://pastvu.com:

o! спасибище, вот ценное прибавление к посту. сразу добавляется могучая отправная точка для сравнения. а сейчас там, конечно, нечему нравиться. наверное, еще сильнее бы не нравилась, только живи я в одном из домов с видом на шведский доходный дом... @tatdt

а в каком году ей вышла модернизация?
картинки с pastvu без годов. думаю что это 70-80-е, вряд ли раньше?

Нет-нет, картинки все датированы, просто мне лень было на каждую ставить отдельную ссылку, дала общую на сайт. Это действительно 70-е — 80-е.

попал пальцем в...небо! :=)

I love the medium sized excursion and the pictures have dap many tags. The Wednesday walk , photofeed, caturday and the snapfeed tags. This is how we blog. Thanks for the mention
B

Fancy street performer pigeons. I used to drive a big car like the blue one you captured. Major gas guzzler and tough to park in tiny places. Now a car collector has it.

Posted using Partiko Android

tough to park in tiny places.

haha! I never thought of that.... indeeed, one more problem. better use a bike! @sketch.and.jam

Отличная прогулка! Не могу себе представить, как ты успеваешь не только гулять и фотографировать, но и обрабатывать и публиковать:)

а я и не успеваю. и почти не обрабатываю. ну раз в неделю то иногда, можно... @tatdt

What a fantastic walk you two had. Wonderful photos. St.Petersburg is such a beautiful city!

@melinda010100, I am glad you enjoyed it.

Yaaay! Glad you meet up with your steem bro @bambuka hehehe :D

yes, I did, and I should say he is a great person in real life. maybe he is even more-dimensional man, than me. . . well, doesnt matter who is 'more' or 'bigger', I simply loved him, we like tuned to the same radiowave, share same passion to photography. which is superb! he told me a lot about capabilities of his COMPACT full-frame Sony... .now I know the difference between A and E bayonets! so cool.. really looking forward to next walks @blacklux

WOW what a walk and what a post you really made us feel like we were walkign with you :) both lenses seem to work really welll

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :)

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

What a great post. I enjoyed the walk and all the amazing photos!
Manually curated by @akiroq.

o-oooooo, thats my favourite sort of cake|! tiramisu, right? thanks a lot, @akiroq

@greencross, you are welcome to check some more fresh faces from St.Petersburg.

I want to visit this magnificent city. As I know, there are many Italians architects worked, in some shots if I don't know that is St.Petersburg I can easily think that this places are in Italy:). I am sure that I will be happy there! So I can easy adapt me to live there, I think. And I feel that the beauty and the art in this city are at home! This is my opinion, knowing my self.Thank you for the post .

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 17 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 4 SBD worth and should receive 213 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70846.59
ETH 3567.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79