Horse Love and Songs in the Forest

in #wednesdaywalk6 years ago (edited)

I’m happiest in nature...

On the days when I can get out for a solo walk in the forest and sing to the trees, my soul gets big and bright and my voice wanders with me, exploring this beautiful world in melody and rhyme.

This is when I feel most free.


selfie

line

Wednesday Walk


I’ve been meaning to do a #WednesdayWalk for a while now, but I am awful about doing things on specific days. I’m going to participate anyway, of course, even if my grasp of time is slippery, it being Monday night as I write this. I adore @tattoodjay, who started this tag, and have loved going on adventures with people as they post their walks.

So please consider this a Wednesday Walk, and come along with me!

line

A visit to Coyote Ranch.


Last week I got over to my best friend’s farm and headed into the back acreage. First item of business was to say hello to the horses.


horses


The horses were sleepy, standing there, eyelids half shut. Or all the way shut.

I headed over to Jax, who is a total sweetheart. I stroked his face and neck, and he leaned his head into it, eyes closed, making horse happy noises. Seriously, it was hilarious the noises he was making. Pure contentment, I tell you.


with jax


My friend has some lovely shaggy cows, too.


shaggy cow


Okay, off into the forest with me.

It rained a little, which it’s been doing for the last few days. Sombrero the dog came with me on that walk, which was nice. I like having him around. Such a laid back guy, but a big dog is nice to have in the bush.


sombrero


Did I mention how much I love singing in the forest? It’s the best. Also, it helps keep the bears away. That's my excuse for singing so loud... and talking to myself. Yeah, I do that too. ;)


Freedom


@eaglespirit has me thinking of different ways freedom shows up in my life, and this kind of singing, singing to nature and surrounded by it, letting my spirit come through my voice—that is such freedom to me. I’m really grateful that’s part of who I am. I love this part of myself, and that’s a profoundly beautiful thing.

I think a lot of that comes from my connection with nature, and how that helps me connect with myself.

Figured since I'm tagging this #wednesdaywalk and it isn't Weds, I could also use the #FreedomFriday tag on a Monday. All the days run together for me. 😂😂😂

view

line

Thanks so much for coming on a walk with me. Always so good to get outside and get moving!

Whatever happens, keep singing your song!💞

Peace. @katrina-ariel

Katrina Ariel
Photos mine unless otherwise credited.


Author bio: Katrina Ariel is an old-soul rebel, musician, tree-hugging yogini, and mama bear to twins. Author of Yoga for Dragon Riders (non-fiction) and Wild Horse Heart (romance), she's another free-spirit swimming in the ocean of Steem.

dragon
dragon art: Liiga Smilshkalne


Steemsugars

WITNESS_enginewittyGIF.gif
CLICK HERE TO VOTE FOR WITNESSES

Witnesses keep the blockchain alive, and it costs nothing to vote for them, so please do so. @enginewitty, @jackmiller, @drakos, @guiltyparties, @gtg, @steemgigs, @curie, @noblewitness, @thekitchenfairy, @c0ff33a, @sapphic, @followbtcnews, @swelker101, @yabapmatt, @pfunk, @helpie — There are so many good ones. Do some research and cast your votes!

Thank you to ALL the witnesses who contribute to the stability and evolution of the Steem Blockchain! You are most appreciated.

alliance banner

Sort:  

You're amazing. Most people Wednesday-walk and take photos. You, on the other hand, walk, play with horses & cows, and sing to the trees & sky... 💜

It's just what I do. ;) 💞💞💞

you crack me upppp and jax n big dog are soooo adorable. the posting on a diff day thing is hilarious. yay for freedom of singing anywhere! could you even imagine singing out of fear of being shot somewhere just for singing out loud? we are lucky

Glad you enjoyed it. As for worrying about being shot, it’s getting to be hunting season, so I’m more aware of that, depending on where I’m walking. Went out today wearing bright colors and singing for more than the animals... though if I come upon another human they’ll probably think I’m nuts, or I fell out of a Disney movie without the proper costume. 😉

i meant like in a different country for just singing, no freedom to sing, etc.

That would be... No. I would wither. I would escape, for sure. Grateful to live where I do, that's for sure.

@katrina-ariel yeah withering is not for the princess ... we have to at least have her fresh and fragrant. ahahahahah it sounds lovely. ya think its nicer than colorado?

Nicer... I dunno. There's less people and more water. More wild. That part is nice. But Colorado has an abundance of beauty, too.

@katrina-ariel i like the less people part and more water. just not if a tidal wave comes. LOL also winters would suck for me. i'd prob get depressed.

Upvoted.

DISCLAIMER: Your post is upvoted based on curation algorithm configured to find good articles e.g. stories, arts, photography, health, etc. This is to reward you (authors) for sharing good content using the Steem platform especially newbies.
If you're a dolphin or whales, and wish not to be included in future selection, please let me know so I can exclude your account. And if you find the upvoted post is inappropriate, FLAG if you must. This will help a better selection of post.

Keep steeming good content.
@Yehey

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.

Thanks so much!

The Princes and their horses...👍 it looks so familiar with your presence...with close eyes he is pouring all his love....a good welcome visit and break i belive👌

Posted using Partiko Android

It was wonderful, thank you. Yes, Jax the horse is an old friend, and his human has been busy this summer, so he enjoyed the attention. 😊

Yes..seems so..pretty excited to see you around 👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Awww love that gorgeous photo of you and the horse. I.miss having a horse.

Posted using Partiko Android

I’ve never had my own horse but I can imagine how much you’d miss it. They’re amazing animals. So glad I have friends with horses. Thanks for the comment. 💞

A beautiful song and a beautiful walk, nothing at all wrong with that no matter what day of the week it is :)

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk tip!

Thank you so much!!! Glad you liked it and that I finally got on this tag. 🤗

was great to see you join :)

Hi @katrina-ariel! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

Check out @tattoodjay blog here and follow if you like the content :)

@tipU voting service | For investors.

I'm going to so try to do Wednesday Walk THIS week. Space time is not my friend, and I always seem to think about it when I'm done walking.

I loved your walk, and your sharing your singing with us. I don't sing, but I do talk to myself :)

When I'm home, I have Sam along to protect me. Actually, in the desert he is the one most at risk because he is such a happy go lucky mutt that isn't concerned. I spent a few days in the woods in Wisconsin with him this summer. Where bears can be a concern. He spent the summer there and his only real damage came from a porcupine and a wasps nest.

Thanks for a wonderful walk. I really appreciated it.

Ah, the tricks of space time. Good luck with that. You seem to have already posted a great walk this week. 😊 Thanks for taking time to come with me on my walk and leave such a nice comment. Keep Sam safe out there. 😉

Team Good Alpaca loves this post! Nomnomnomnom!
teamgoodbanner2.png
Delegate to our project via SteemConnect:
10 SP | 20 SP | 50 SP | 100 SP | 200 SP | 500 SP | 1000 SP | 5000 SP

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97