Wednesday Walk | A Night Strolling to Find Food.

in #wednesdaywalk5 years ago

Out for a Walk to Find me some Local Delights!

Night view.jpg
Night view from the room, 18th floor up.

Komtar.jpg
Komtar Building.

Gama.jpg
Gama is the oldest shopping mall in Penang island.

Street03.jpg
Crossing the street.

Street05.jpg
I was told this used to be the old bus stations located.

text16.png

I was on a work trip in Penang Island for almost 10 days, without bringing my laptop so I will be posting some throwback from that trip since I gather quite an amount of photos this time.

This post will be about a stroll around the city centre for #wednesdaywalk by @tattoodjay, and also the first local food that I tasted for #worldsdailyfood. I seldom take hawker food, let alone the ones along the streets. But we feel adventurer that night so we when out for a walk, try to search for some local food around the area we stay.

We walk along the city centre where our hotel located. Gama and the tall building named Komtar is the signatures buildings in Penang Island, to find the city centre you just need to look for Komtar and follow the road that heads towards it. Finally, we saw a row of hawker stalls along a street, that's where the foods are.

Street04.jpg

Wonton02.jpg

Wonton01.jpg

So this was what I had for supper on the first night we were here. This is called 'Dry Wonton Mee', it's dry egg noodle with dark sauce and lard, comes with fresh wonton and fried wonton, fresh veggies and 'Char Siew' - roasted pork. The marinated chilli is a must for me, not sure about the others though.

This suite my stomach at the time, not too heavy, but many types of items in just one plate. It's a bit different from what we normally had in KL because they added the fried wontons, KL style is just fresh wantons.

text16.png

Look who we saw sitting inside a roadside plant, I guess he likes to be shine on, or maybe he's afraid of the dark! LOL

Cat01.jpg

Cat02.jpg

text16.png

While walking back to the hotel, we passed by a few more pubs along the way, "the night still young" - that's what they called it because it's only 11 pm and the crowds just got more heat up!

So that's it, my first journal of this trip. Hope you enjoy it!

Street02.jpg

Street01.jpg

Bar.jpg

Street06.jpg
Fascinating wall murals all over the back alley, which has become the sitting area for this pub.

text16.png

Thank you for joining this walk with me and I hope you enjoy the photos. This is my post for #WednesdayWalk by @tattoodjay and also #makemesmile by @elizacheng! Sorry for not posting on Wednesday @tattoodjay, it's been a while I posted anything, only today I am able to get it done.

All photos were taken with my Samsung Galaxy S7 Edge.


Joe Steemit divider.jpg

Thank you for stopping by, this is a place where I can share the things I enjoy in life, art, gardening, nature, foods. This is why my divider above are filled with all the different kind of icons that I love doing. I hope you enjoy my post so far, leave me a comment if you like.
谢谢您的到访,这里是个我可以分享关于我所喜爱的生活,包括艺术,园艺,大自然,食物等等的地方。 这就是为什么我上面的页脚全都是我喜欢做的不同类型的图标。 我希望您喜欢我的帖子,如果您喜欢,不妨留下您的评语。

Proud Member of:

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Proud curator and editor of #cn-malaysia

mmexport1555574678226.jpg

Sort:  

Wow I sure you enjoyed that trip even if it wasn't for just pleasure. The food looked amazing, and the city it's really pretty. It curious the form of that CC Gama xD and the Kitty was the cherry on the top!

Posted using Partiko Android

The trip was great, I really enjoy it! Thanks for stopping by!

Such a lovely post, lailai~ Night walks in the city are always wonderful, arent they :) Specially in food hunts XD

Oh, that's why lailai has not been posting? Business trip without laptop! :O I will look forward to lailai's posts about Penang Island :D

That food looks tasty and heeeeeeeeeey, a kitty~ :D

And wow, I really like that sitting space with murals on the walls, also! Very eclectic :D

Thanks @verypider!!! You must visit Penang, it's a Food Paradise there :D

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thank you!!

That a cool view from your room and tanks for taking us along on your walk around Penang, I visited there over 30 years ago and didn’t recognize anything i guess so much has changed since then

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :)

I was there last year, and when I went there this time, so many places I cannot recognise as well. The city is booming with infrastructures, they also extended the land throughout the sea.

Thank you for having me, still... hehe

Always a pleasure to have you join Wednesday Walk :)

Cities are always changing so fast

Indeed. Good night and a good day to you @tattoodjay!

And to you have a good day tomorrow

Congratulations @joelai! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 25000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 30000 upvotes.
You made more than 6500 comments. Your next target is to reach 7000 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

New japanese speaking community Steem Meetup badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Thank you!

You're welcome @joelai
Feel free to vote our witness to support us. You will get one more badge and more powerful votes from us on your posts.

Done! Thanks for the supports!

Quite the trip, those local delights look super yummie!

Yup, love to explore!

I was already asking myself when I will see a post from you again ;) .. I hope that you enjoyed you holliday and I am looking forward to see more of it in the future ^^ .. welcome back !

Thank you very much for the welcome back, really appreciated @adalger!

Always fun for me to see places I have never been on these cool #wednesdaywalk posts! I was also wondering where you had been, so nice to see you again! Looks like a very bustling city indeed. I will look out for more of your posts sharing the experience!

Awww... thank you for noticing I was MIA for a while... Will be posting soon! Thanks for stopping by!

Food looks and sounds great, also enjoy a bit of chili. Food stalls look neat and clean as well. Everything I have heard about KL it sounds like a great place to visit, enjoy your stay @joelai

Thank you @joanstewart, I hope someday you will come for vacations!

Howdy joelai! So you guys went and got some drinks at that pub? I would have. lol.
What country is this? and what is KL?
That food looked fabulous!

No, we don't drink, unless it's coffee! lol
KL is short for Kuala Lumpur, the capital of Malaysia. Hope someday you will come for a visit!

howdy today joelai! oh I thought I was looking at Singapore! Ok, you are in Malaysia like fitinfun. I see all those interesting posts about that amazing country and yes, I'd love to visit someday! I love posts like this one to get a view of what it's like there. You can get great tasting food just by walking a short distance down the street it looks like, I'd be walking the streets all the time!

Yes, you got it right this time, Malaysia... There is food everywhere in walking distance, 24 hours a day, you might gain a few pounds after the visit... lol

lol...but it would be worth it because there are so many interesting and tasty things to try!

Absolutely janton!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34