Wednesday Walk "First Snowfall"// Red Feather Lakes, Colorado

in #wednesdaywalk6 years ago (edited)

Wednesday Walk is a challenge started by @TattoodJay, the idea is to get out for a short walk and get some shots of what you can see within a short distance of your home office or wherever you start. And this is my entry for this week, but first, let me explain the challenge.

Try and get out once a week for a short walk, can be from your office, home or anywhere really and walk for a few blocks or a few minutes looking for things to get shots of.

Your walk does not have to be on a Wednesday I just ask if possible to share your walk photos on a Wednesday.

Try and get a few shots not just one.

You can look for anything in general or decide on one subject you want to get shots off.

Try to limit yourself to a set distance or time from the starting location, say 5 Blocks, 5 Minutes walk or whatever and see what you can find in that short distance

Make a point of looking around and up and see what you can find to get shots of that otherwise you may miss

Do a post with the shots you get on a Wednesday and tag it with #wednesdaywalk, also if you happen to join, please leave a link to your post in a comment on this post and I will try and visit them all.

Create perfectlonlashes.png

This past week I took a walk in the mountains found in Red Feather Lakes, Colorado. The day went from nice and sunny to snow. So you will get a nice range of photos in this one, and see how fast the weather can change in the mountains.

For some reason my photos came out super small and I have no idea how that happened. Very strange since my settings are not set for a small photo. Beginner photographer problems.

If you know my photography then you know I love big shots and here we are looking at tiny shots, but my walk consisted of walking through a trail on private lands, walking up a trail from 8,000 feet up to 10,000 feet in altitude.

DSC_0017.jpg

Juniper berries were still thriving even after the first snow and smelled heavenly.

DSC_0018.jpg

This sweet Aspen tree looked gorgeous standing next to the side of this mountain.

Being up on high is not such a bad thing, the walk was more like a hike and I was stopping to take photos the entire time. Overall the walk was only about 1.5 hours total.


The snow started to fall so I caught as many shots as I could, the pretty yellow leaves that had just started changing colors got snowed on. Fortunately, I caught a nice shot with the snow coming down too.


The trees caught my attention since they seem to love the first fall of snow and looks so lovely, in Colorado the snow melts quickly so by the next day the snow was melted. Thankfully.

This was a photo of a gong that sounds out the arrival of a Teacher in the community, in the snow the vibrant colors express a feeling of a time of expectation now at rest.

Hopefully, you liked my Wednesday Walk feature of the mountains in Colorado and the first snowfall. As always, I love community engagement so leave a comment below and I will be sure to respond.

Yours,

QmXjtAmwcMN2UZUKqEHNNuFtbMT54MpWoTwgVvrSxsRSDc.png

Thank you for stopping by to read my blog. I’m a Certified Indian Blood member of the Hopi & Apache Native American tribes, Reiki Master-Teacher, Medicine woman in-training, paralegal, researcher, and writer based in the mountains of Colorado, USA. I work closely with fellow planktons and minnows in a few groups by helping them adjust to Steemit and curate quality content. I’m especially interested in finding others who love natural medicine originating from ancient practices, gold and silver, and energy work. Additionally, I'm the creator of #MedicineCardMonday and #FreedomFriday, so if you are interested in receiving Native American Medicine stop by my blog every Monday to say hello!

A'OO, Eagle Spirit

Sort:  

Nice photos, well done as always @eaglespirit!

/FF

thank you FF !! hope all is well my friend

It's good @eaglespirit. I have the "resource credit blues", so I cannot be as friendly as before, have to wait until all them credits are back in order... 🌻⛄️✨
How are you?

/FF

oh nooo really? i’ll send you some sp to help 🤗

still real pretty...love the trees in the snow..peaceful.

like because its snow or because they are so small? thank you! :)

cuz i likes snow and trees and stuff

hehe cool! now i have to figure out how i changed these setting to do this to my photos! ugh

Going to bed! Just saying good night. Enjoying your cover image of juniper. GN 🙏 HUGS

thank you so much for stopping by jill!

The photographs are wonderful @eaglespirit. Being small enables you to share more of the walk, but it would be great to see some of them enlarged. The first two in particular with the wild grasses and groups of trees. Love the collection of snow images too ~ Especially the snow-capped gong.

I've only ever seen snow as a child when my parents took us to the mountains (from Melbourne) ~ Must be wonderful to experience snow falling ~ Fabulous to photograph. 🙏

thank you so very much ally! yay
i know not sure what happen with my settings ... wahh
i loved the gong too woot
yes snow is greattttt for one day hehe

Such amazing scenery awesome photos not sure why they and coming small did you change any settings

Brrr snow already I don’t want to think about that yet lol

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk tip!

woo hoo thank you so much tatt and thank you so much for the tipu! woot woot
not sure what happen to my settings, i kinda want to cry and as i try to focus the shot on my iphone its all blurry. not sure what happen there.
i love WW, thank you for having me. hopefully, i'll get some education out of all of this too, as i'm sharing.
much love,
eagle spirit

Thats the key to life keep challenging ourselves and learning your never to old to learn new things

you are so right on Tatt!

Hi @eaglespirit! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

Check out @tattoodjay blog here and follow if you like the content :)

@tipU voting service | For investors.

What a beautiful walk, and shared beautifully.

You know I love the mountains, and the Rockies in Colorado are the current champions of the scene. Always a pleasure to see new views of that place.

heya BT! thank you so much and glad you love the rockies too ... they are gorgeous for sure. when i pine away for my ocean i can't help but be thankful of these beauties.
thank you so much for your appreciation an visiting.
much love,
eagle spirit

Changes that quick? I think if I lived in the mountains I would not mind a sunny day, then all the weather is kinda nice from sunny to overcast. Overcast is still my fave but I have never seen snow though. It seems pretty. Perfect for hiding bodies.

yes very quick, yeah the sunny days that come the day after and day before are glorious. overcast really? why?
what? you never have seen snowww? huh?
it is very pretty. wtf ..... bahaha you got me damit! "hiding bodies" sick shit ... it melts!! HAHA

Overcast because it seems to make all the other people sad and that makes me happy. mmmm you right damn need a new plan for those bodies, plant them head first then use the legs to support a new tree?

ROTFLMAO wicked ways you have about you Pen. 🤣😂😭😂🤣

What beautiful shots! Do you live around there or were you just visiting? Sure would be wonderful if that was your back yard. Beautiful Beautiful area and the snow really added to the beauty! Thanks for sharing!

oh thank you so much porters! :)
yes i'm about 2 hours away, which isn't too far around these parts LOL
i was visiting friends and it is sort of a home away from home.
my backyard is close to looking like this. i post the pics fairly often.
thank you so much for coming by and commenting. much love, eagle spirit

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66761.99
ETH 3256.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27