A GLASS OF WATER CAN CHANGE YOUR LIFE

in #water6 years ago (edited)

A teacher, holding a glass of water, asked a room full of students if they can tell how heavy the glass of water was.

Everyone shouted the answers ranging from eight ounces to a few pounds.

The teacher smiled at their effort and said “The weight of the glass doesn’t matter.

What matters is how long I hold it.

If I hold it for two-three minutes, it’s light.

If I hold it for twenty-thirty minutes, it might hurt my arm a little.

If I hold it for a day, my arm will be cramped and I will be forced to drop the glass.

In every case, the weight of the glass remains the same.

It’s the amount of time that makes the difference.

Similarly, the worries and stress in life is like the glass of water.

The longer you hold on to it, the heavier it feels.

Sort:  

There is no need holding the issues of this life too close to your heart because, they will never finish. Great great motivation.

I have just a couple issues with this post.
First of all, just because you gave credit for that image does not mean you are allowed to use it. You are expected to pay for that image in order to use it at all. That alone could open you up to legal troubles with the owner of that image.

Second of all, while you didn't exactly plagiarize this story, it would have been nice of you to add a reference link to where you got this from, considering it is not your own ideas... Here's something I found with a super quick google search of the first two lines of this post....

https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/4-short-stories-change-way-you-thing-submrita-ghoshe

Story #2: The Weight of the Glass
Once upon a time a psychology professor walked around on a stage while teaching stress management principles to an auditorium filled with students. As she raised a glass of water, everyone expected they’d be asked the typical “glass half empty or glass half full” question. Instead, with a smile on her face, the professor asked, “How heavy is this glass of water I’m holding?”

Students shouted out answers ranging from eight ounces to a couple pounds.

She replied, “From my perspective, the absolute weight of this glass doesn’t matter. It all depends on how long I hold it. If I hold it for a minute or two, it’s fairly light. If I hold it for an hour straight, its weight might make my arm ache a little. If I hold it for a day straight, my arm will likely cramp up and feel completely numb and paralyzed, forcing me to drop the glass to the floor. In each case, the weight of the glass doesn’t change, but the longer I hold it, the heavier it feels to me.”

As the class shook their heads in agreement, she continued, “Your stresses and worries in life are very much like this glass of water. Think about them for a while and nothing happens. Think about them a bit longer and you begin to ache a little. Think about them all day long, and you will feel completely numb and paralyzed – incapable of doing anything else until you drop them.”

The moral: It’s important to remember to let go of your stresses and worries. No matter what happens during the day, as early in the evening as you can, put all your burdens down. Don’t carry them through the night and into the next day with you. If you still feel the weight of yesterday’s stress, it’s a strong sign that it’s time to put the glass down.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75