You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Gladys' WW1 sacrifice remembered - a poppy's journey

in #war5 years ago

I'm from Slovakia and both World Wars affected our country a lot so we learn about wars at school. I thought we learned all the details but nobody ever told us about the meaning of poppy lapel pins. If I would have known about it before I would have worn one today! I will make sure to order one and get it delivered to Switzerland where I live now. It is a beautiful piece of jewellery but I will wear it because of its meaning.

It's so nice of you to write a short memorial part to Gladys. And I like that the poppy lapel pins are personalized. It is such a great project that I didn't know before and this is why I'm glad you shared it with us.

It looks like it was very difficult for you to get it so I can imagine how happy you were when you finally got it delivered. Lucky number 3 :)

Thank you for sharing and have a great rest of Sunday. I'm sure you are proudly wearing your pin today :)

Sort:  

Hi, @delishtreats, my goodness, Slovakia was certainly terribly affected by both wars.

We watched the Peter Jackson movie "They Shall Not Grow Old" last night - it's a colourised, "normal speed" film of real soldiers during WW1 in France. What surprised me was that there were poppies growing everywhere. Perhaps as Canadians, growing up with that famous poem "In Flanders Fields" (which was written by a Canadian), we were given a sense early in life of the significance of the poppies.

I'm sure you'd have no trouble ordering from the Poppy Shop (www.poppyshop.org.uk) - and I'm sure you'd have no trouble having it delivered to Switzerland! Lol!

And on lucky number 3: persistence and resilience prevail. :-)

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment so reflectively. I really appreciate it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63006.70
ETH 3075.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82