Walk with me Cataract Falls

in #walkwithme6 years ago

Walk with me Cataract Falls

Over the weekend my husband and I did a few things that took us all over the state of Indiana
One of the things we did was make a stop at Cataract Falls in Owen County in Indiana. Owen County is located in the West Central Part of the state. Two water falls make up Cataract Falls and it is on Mills Creek. The Upper Falls and the Lower falls are located about 1 mile down stream from each other. According to Wikipedia the upper falls sits at 45 feet and the lower falls sits at 30 feet. Slightly down stream the creek opens up into the southern end of Cagles Mills Lake.

The first thing you see when arriving is the covered foot bridge

Indiana kind if has a thing for our covered bridges. Just a little north of me there is a festival called the Matthews Covered Bridge Festival every year but this post isn't about that. This is about Cataract Falls and the beautiful of hidden places in the state of Indiana. Once you see this bridge you know you have arrived.

4.PNG

The upper Falls

The Upper Falls is located right off the entrance to the park. This is apart of the state park system. So be prepared to pay an entrance fee to get in the park unless you have a State Park Pass for the state of Indiana, then you just show them the pass.

1.PNG

2.PNG

3.PNG

5.PNG

6.PNG

The trails

There are trails that you can hike from the upper falls to the lower falls. It is about a 1 mile hike and it is not easy terrain so if you have health problems or back or hip issues be aware you might want to just drive from one falls to the other. I love to hike but I have back and hip issues so it was a very hard hike for me. I was in pain afterwards but I regret nothing. This is a beautiful spot.
8.PNG

Down the trails we were able to get a total different view of the Upper falls

There is not suppose to be people climbing on the falls but people do it anyways and DNR doesn't do anything about it.
There are signs that state no climbing the falls and no swimming.
7.PNG
That is the backside of @tecnoblast in the photo

9.PNG
As you can see people ignore the signs

The Lower Falls

The lower falls has a lot of activity that starts here. You will see people launching canoes and kayaks from this point. I didn't take photos of the canoes and kayaks but don't be surprise if you see them in the water.

10.PNG

11.PNG

12.PNG

We didn't go to the lake on this trip

As we had other evening plans and had to head out to make sure we didn't miss the firework show we had plans to attend. If you saw my blog about our weekend adventure you know I got some photos of that show. But those are for another time. There are many things to do in this area besides seeing the falls as this area is next to the Hoosier National Forest, the lake and so much outdoor activities you really need a week or so in the area to fully experience all the fun things to do.

Stay tuned for the next walk with me

Explore places to see and do in the state of Indiana with me. Sometimes you will get places to experience things, sometimes you will get great places to eat, and hopefully soon I will be reviewing some cool places to stay when traveling in the state. As we do have some really cool locations that you won't find any place else.

You can find more about Cataract Falls at this Link

untitled.png

Sort:  

Another great post!

I have invited you for the Minnow Booster whitelist which gives lots of benefits for quality authors, among which a higher upvote. You can read more about the MB white list on @minnowbooster or read this post.

https://steemit.com/minnowbooster/@minnowbooster/minnowbooster-epic-update-community-whitelist-now-online

If you have any questions you can come to the white list channel in the Minnow Booster discord.

You did an absolutely-wonderful job of capturing the beauty of the area. As you know, this is a very special area to me because my mom, aunt, and uncles were born and raised in nearby Cunot. I can hardly wait to get my own vehicle up-and-going to take some road-trips and count the memories!

There is a new Dollar General store at your families old homestead road now. Weird to see the bait shop gone. We didn't go see the homestead as we were short on time.

Thanks for the update. Where the bait shop was would be too small of a space for a Dollar General Store. I'm guessing that it's located to the south of there on property that once had two homes on it with one home owned for as long as I could remember by Ivan and Alpha Jones and another one where Aunt Mildred's sister and her family living there for awhile after Uncle George and Aunt Mildred got married back in 1967.

I hear there's also a McDonald's in Cunot now. Is that true?

No it is where the bait shop was at. Looked like they bought the property behind them as it is where that bait shop was at. And I didn't see a McDonalds but we came down that road that jigjags near Jobe road then turned left to go to the falls. I only noticed the change because I saw the Family road.

Lisa's right!!! She said that she and I need to take a trip down there and see what's going on. For a Dollar General to be located there means that the road headed south (It was a forked road with the bait shop as a centerpiece) no longer exists and is part of the store). I'll have to tell Lisa, Don, and Uncle Kermit about this for starters. You're not going to believe the next couple of weeks and what my dance card looks like.

Very pretty falls! I've never seen a covered bridge in person, I've always assumed it was a "Southern thing" but now uou've got me curious to find out if there are any nearby!

Thank you for sharing, so pretty!

They are every where here okay maybe not every where but we have a lot of covered bridges here

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

That was a badass #walkwithme, thanks for bringing us with you to these beautiful falls. When I saw the covered bridge the first thing I though of was that scene in "Beetlejuice" where the couple dies lol!

I'm looking forward to exploring more of Indiana with you :)

I forgot about that scene till you said something. LOL Now I will think of that when every I see one.

wow what an amazing place!
Waterfalls are my passion, even don't know wny, because I am connected with Fire according to the symbos, but water has magnifiscent magic, and I adore being nearby and listen to its music
great romantic time with the husband!;)

It is a really pretty place to be

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66785.29
ETH 3229.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30