A long walk on a hot day

in #walkwithme5 years ago

At the beginning of our vacation in Slovakia we planned to walk to the top of the hill nearby to get some views of Sninský Kameň. It's quite a long walk but the views from there are amazing so we decided to do it anyway even though it was supposed to be a hot day.

The temperature was expected to reach 36 degrees Celsius and we thought that it was a good idea to start the walk at 8 am. But it was already too late. When we left home the temperature reached 30 degrees Celsius and I was feeling like it was getting warmer every minute. I'm sure it was over 36 degrees Celsius after lunchtime.

We took 2 bottles of water with us, Maxo's bottle and some snacks for all of us. At the beginning all of us were excited but slowly our mood was going down as it was too warm.

There was not much shadow on the way to the forest and we couldn't wait to finally get there. I was surprised to see that the road in the forest was wider than I remembered and there was also less shadow than I remembered. After an hour we finally reached the top of the hill and could enjoy the views.

We sat in the shadow for a few minutes to cool down and eat our snacks and then started to walk back home.

You can see Sninský Kameň on the left side of the chimney. It was naturally created by volcanic activity about 17 million years ago and consists of two major rock formations in the form of lava plateau top - Veľký Sninský Kameň (998 m) and Malý Sninský Kameň (1005 m). If you look carefully you can see them on the photo.

Next time I'll take you there too!

1.jpg
ISO 100 1/250 sec. f/8 24 mm

This is the road to the top of the hill. I think they made it wider to bring wood out of the forest.

DSC_3641.jpg
ISO 100 1/160 sec. f/8 24 mm

2.jpg
ISO 100 1/100 sec. f/6.3 24 mm

Finally in the forest...

DSC_3658.jpg
ISO 500 1/100 sec. f/8 29 mm

It's that time of the year again when everything in the nature is blooming and I can't just walk by without taking any photos so here are some details from our walk in the forest...

3.jpg
ISO 100 1/200 sec. f/4.5 52 mm

4.jpg
ISO 100 1/500 sec. f/4 68 mm

5.jpg
ISO 100 1/400 sec. f/4 70 mm

6.jpg
ISO 100 1/500 sec. f/4.5 70 mm

7.jpg
ISO 200 1/320 sec. f/3.5 70 mm

8.jpg
ISO 200 1/320 sec. f/3.5 52 mm

DSC_3684.jpg
ISO 125 1/100 sec. f/3.5 70 mm

DSC_3488.jpg
ISO 100 1/100 sec. f/3.5 70 mm

Maxo found a cone and was munching on it for some time before he decided to take it home. He managed to destroy it and spread all those tiny pieces across the apartment which didn't make my mom happy 😊

DSC_3608.jpg
ISO 200 1/125 sec. f/5.6 70 mm

We were all glad when we came back home and I must say that it was the only time when I saw Maxo enjoying his shower. This poor thing was running from one shadow to another and I think that the hot stones were burning his paws.

After we cooled down a bit, we all enjoyed some well-deserved watermelon 😊

Thank you for reading!

Cheers,
Martina

Sort:  

lol another cute pic of Maxo, he looks like he is always up for something fun!

And nice to see another one of your presentations of the beautiful world that you live in Martina! :)

Oh yes, he is. I wonder how he will react when we come to Slovakia in August. Last time when I talked to my mom, she showed him the phone so that he can see him. As soon as he saw me he turned around not to face me, this happened 5 times and then he got fed up and left the room :D he is still angry that I left him there.. but I still hope that he'll be up for fun again when we're there :)

men... can't hurt their feelings and not expect to get repercussions! :)

Ahhhh it looks so pretty walking through the trees there and the flowers and all look so lovely. Those wild strawberries are just fabulous. Everything looks so lush and green even though its hot and summery temperatures. Maxo must have absolutely loved this too. He is SUCH a little darling!!!!!RESTEEMED

It's still beginning of summer so even though it's hot it remains green. It's going to turn brown in August...

He is so sweet. I think about him every day while I'm not in Slovakia, lol. I didn't know that pets can make you so happy :)

Thank you for your support my dear friend!

awwww how sweet - that's lovely to hear you say about not knowing pets can make you so happy! Its SO true.They are so full of love and light... and energy xx

Much better than people to be honest :)

certainly so hahaha

That looks so beautiful omg! I can imagine myself just running in the field. I'm sure you loved your time there. Maxo seems to like it too haha!

I'm all for hiking but running is not for me :) too bad for my knees..

You could maybe share one of your running trails with us..

He didn't like it too much as it was really hot and there was no river on the way so he couldn't cool down. But it made him very tired and he slept for the rest of the day, lol

so bright and so juicy photos!
and Slovakia isn't very far from me;)
so sweet dog, so kind eyes, I adore dogs!

I see that you're from Russia.. which part?

It was a fabulous day that's why those colors :) Yeah, he is a sweetheart. He is no nice and friendly to everyone..

Thank you for stopping by Talia :)

Very nice shots of your nature walk Martina, with the cute Maxo...I recognize the plant life which is also native (or introduced) in my part of the world here in the woods of Northeast U.S. The trail resembles one here that I go out biking on, which is also a hiking trail.

:>)

Thank you for stopping by! So nice to hear from you! It's funny to hear that they are also in the US as I've noticed some plants here that don't grow in Slovakia (or I haven't seen them before) and vice versa :)

I've noticed some plants here that don't grow in Slovakia (or I haven't seen them before) and vice versa :)

Insects that I come across sometimes leave me baffled in the same way. A few years ago, I noticed a proliferation of a winged insect in my area that I had never seen before...Recently, I found out that they are native to a few other countries (not here) and had just recently been discovered in the US, suspected of having stowed away on some cargo from China...AND...the bugs have "no known predators" who are interested in them.

Now I'm finding them on my garden vegetable plants in all of their first three stages of development...sucking the 'sap' out from the stems...!!!

Yay another #walkwithme with Martina. How beautiful and green, love it! Fun to see Maxo too!

Thank you Sara! Hope you're doing well :)

A change for castle queen...enjoyed the lovely outing

Posted using Partiko Android

I still visit castles but I'm all for a good walk too :)

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @steemflow.

Thank you for your support and delicious cupcakes! :)

You got a 40.98% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @delishtreats! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 40 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Howdy Martina! What a scenic hike though, too bad it was so hot but hey sweating is good for you. Dog's have a hard time though, yeah a reason to get him so boots for the hot rocks and pavement. Jack's the same way, he clings to the shadows! Wonderful photography though, my gosh!

I wanted to get him boots but my husband didn't like the idea as he thought it would uncomfortable for him. Well, I'm uncomfortable without shoes, so I don't know :D

Howdy today Martina! Oh I see, well I think it would be an interesting experiment and also it gets super cold sometimes so the boots might come in handy in the winter too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66384.36
ETH 3272.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27