Eye See You...Kinda

in #walkwithme6 years ago (edited)

Not going to lie, I'm struggling today! My sleeping patterns stay jacked up all the time and I usually sleep during the day. I was up all last night and had an appointment with my ophthalmologist early this morning. I started getting really sleepy around 0500 and I was like oh boy, this is going to suck pretty bad. I decided to go ahead and get up and go for a walk to get the blood flowing a lil bit. I decided to go to a different area to walk today to give you guys some different scenery. I was surprised to see this as I walked out my front door this morning, how cool?

It was almost like the pilots were trying to make a star or something, I thought it was neat.
The weather is not ideal for doing much of anything outside, it's cold and windy as hell! I would cancel this appointment but I feel like my eyes are getting worse so I better get them checked out.

My family owns a bar/grill in a strip mall in between my house and the hospital, so that's where I will be doing my walking. Here we have one of those Amish stores that you like @francisk.

Although there's not much open yet, they have these chairs outside for sale.

Of course I thought about @rebeccaryan when I saw this place. I sure could use one of these right about now.

I'm in luck! There's a coffee shop open and I have got to get out of this wind!

This was my morning face prior to getting any coffee in my system, not too perky, huh?

After getting some coffee in me and walking a few times up and down the strip, it's time to head to the hospital for my appointment.

I park in the same parking area every time and usually this hill doesn't bother me, but today with that cold wind, I couldn't get to the top quick enough!

A packed house for first thing in the morning.

Just because I was bored...

This was the first machine they had me to use, it's called a Phoropter. After using this, they dilated my eyes and checked the pressure.

Next we have is this "Pre Visual Field Test Machine" which was quite the boring test. Bunch of clicking going on.

This next machine is called an "Optical Coherence Tomography Machine". This basically took pictures behind my eyes at the optical nerve. The man that operated this was concerned that I was recording video and I had to calm him down and tell him that it was only a photograph...geeez.

Off to another station where this machine is called a "Slit Lamp". It's basically a fancy telescope for eyeballs.

After all the testing was completed, my doctor comes in to tell me her findings. I have to take several poisonous medications for my MS and RA which is really hazardous to my eyes, among other things as well. So these in depth check ups are required frequently. My vision has gotten worse but I'm not complaining because I can still see, so it's a good day.

My doctor has pretty hair so I took a quick snap so I don't have to describe it to you haha!

I hope you enjoyed coming along with me this morning as I battled the cold wind to get in a few steps and also seeing what my eye exam consisted of.
Feel free to follow along with me on this great journey, I have many stories I want to share with everyone! @bluelightbandit

Sort:  

Wow! quite the collection of chem-trails.
Now, I understand the interest with mixology, considering your family's business interests.
Thanks for the mention. If we ever get together, I'll be sure to take good care of @carolina-girl and yourself therapeutically.
Losing your eyesight is no fun. ;( My last 2 attacks were my eyes so I share a certain intimacy with these measurement tools, like you do.
I will share another quirk with you. I have an exceptionally fast blink response...makes putting drops in my eyes an Olympic event. LOL!
Love your picture at the end. That's a nice touch. ;)

I actually wanted to become a mixologist long before they opened their business ironically.

I will be sure to hold you to your word on that lol!
I knew my eyes were getting worse, just didn't want to hear it. Don't want to think about it.
That was a good idea attaching the photo at the end, a good friend of mine suggested it 😉

Well, I think that you and @carolina-girl nailed the concept beautifully.
Build your brand (i.e. You individually) and re-enforce that with being unforgettable, relatable and indispensable with the value you bring to the table.
Value? Yeah, value. Your knowledge base, your confidence in what you know to be true, your unique abilities, your sense of humour and your ability to be diplomatic and compassionate towards others. ;)

Thank you for mentioning my blog name in your post. I appreciate it.
I hope you get to feeling better. Walking should help some.
Somehow you body system is out whack and needs to get back to
normal. I don't know how that happens though.
When the day comes I have to go to the doctor.
And it will. It will be a sad day for me.
I likely won't live long after needed attention all the time.
That is totally foreign to me.
But, to the doctors I will go when the time comes.
Oh yes. The Amish are very good at having something to
sell to the English. Ha

Francis

I know how it happend, it happend by working 3rd shift for the majority of my life and jacking up my enternal clock. You're a very blessed man, Francis.

Good luck with your eyes, my wife worked in ophthalmology and tells me what you have going on is pretty serious. She also says it is a "slit lamp" by the way. We are both very curious why any healthcare provider would object to YOU videoing, YOUR privacy is the concern... Oh well, glad you had a good day!

LOL Good catch on the typo, I will edit it now. Good thing I didn't hit the "u",huh? Yeah, that guy was getting ready to open up one helluva can of worms telling me that.

lovely view of comrades

You have received an upvote from STAX. Thanks for being a member of the #steemsilvergold community and opting in (if you wish to be removed please follow the link). Please continue to support each other in this great community. To learn more about the #steemsilvergold community and STAX, check this out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66931.79
ETH 3249.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10