The Secret Tears Of An African Lady

in #wafrica6 years ago (edited)

8fb566c9349be071c4af8f28f4c8dca2.jpg
This story I am about to share is a real life story that happened sometimes in November last year.


My names are Joy Chizoba I hail from the Eastern part of Nigeria Enugu State to be precise.
I am a graduate from the university of Nigeria Nsukka where I studied Education Biology and graduated last year.
After my graduation I was posted by Nigerian Youth Corp Service(NYSC) to Delta State, Effurun axis in warri to serve as a Corper which I reported on duty immediately I got the message. My point of duty was one primary school, as a corper I did my possible best in making sure the students were satisfied.
Then came the worst day of my life this happend on 15th of October 2017. When I was returning from a fellowship late at night around past 8pm. Normally to get to my place you have to cross a bridge, so on this day as I was walking down the bridge I noticed that it was a bit scanty with few people walking so I forged ahead with my movement.

Behind me was a guy and approaching towards my direction were two you men in the opposite side of the road, suddenly the guy behind pull my bag and told me to stop he was already pointing gun at me, he said if I uttered a word or scream he will shoot me.

So within me I thought that those guys coming towards me will come to my aid but I was amazed when instead of helping they rather were shaking hands and whispering that was when it was dawn on me that they are all gang members.

I was ordered to walk quitely and in a relax mood to a primary school that night where I was ganged raped by six men.


After the incidence I needed and was in pains I went to the police station and layed my complaint but no action was taking till date instead I was accused of not dressing properly as a lady that was why I was raped.

Shortly after that incidence I completed my service and came back to Enugu state during this period I refused to tell anyone about it because I was scared about stigmatization from people but something happend that inspired me to start sharing this story to the world.

And it was an Enlightenment programme on radio by Remy on Planet Fm 101.1 where he said something that really touched me he said"Many at times why people take advantage of us is because we are so afraid of been stigmatized" this statement did change my view of life and what happens to me.

From then hence forth I did have the boldness to share the worst story of my life on how I was abandoned by the Law and those that hurt me were walking on the street with impunity.

Thank you for reading.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66579.21
ETH 3282.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30