A New Wave of Activity in the reopened land of comment rewards... on voluntaryism

in #voluntarism7 years ago (edited)

steemit.jpg
Apparently there has been a sudden increase in activity in up voting of comments. I have been in favor of this as it encourages discussion, and that discussion makes the platform more attractive, and more attractive brings in more people and engages more people.

Yet I am now seeing from posts and debates raging some of the same old discussions. I actually thought they were improving.

Perhaps they still are and these are just some outliers.

First... I like the idea of voluntarism. I like the idea of people voting how they like. So my goal here will not be to recommend drastic steps that would impact everyone due to the actions of a few. Instead I am going to attempt to reason with people. That doesn't mean I am right, and that you are wrong. If I am wrong feel free to convince me, unless you don't feel it is worth your time.

There are a few things going on I guess now that are stirring things up. Both of them have been encountered at one time or another.

  • Down voting stuff due to saying it is over rewarded with the interest in protecting the reward pool.
  • Up voting of your own comments to values that are far more than simple visibility would dictate

If the reward pool has been split into two like was the plan then those two things should at least not be tapping into the same pool still. Otherwise there is a lot of hypocrisy in people who down vote over rewarded posts to "protect the reward pool" only to turn around and up vote their own comments. I've only caught one person doing that, but I haven't really been looking and I think that person stopped doing it.

I don't know how pervasive these two things are at this moment.

My interest is in the platform. I want people to make good content. I want people who come here to want to stay here and contribute. I want people to engage in discussion in comments and replies as that is another level of engagement and some people are far more comfortable doing that than making original content.

The people down voting to protect the reward pool claim to be doing so for the good of the platform.

@inertia made an observation that makes me doubt that is true. I do not think it is intentional, but I do think it may not have been completely thought of by everyone. I know I didn't really consider it until now.

The platform can already adjust the distribution of the reward pool. So when you see a potential earning that is the votes of people exercising their steem power and saying "I Like this, please make more content like this" or that is at least how I view it.

As far as reward pool. It will adjust that potential earnings based upon the distribution of the steem power used to up vote.

So if you are truly interested in growing the platform and you want the rewards to be adjusted wouldn't it be better to use a positive approach than a negative one? Go find some post you think is under rewarded and give it a nice up vote. This will add more votes to the reward pool and it will adjust the reward pool.

You will no longer be doing a 100% subjective negative act that usually results in anger or confusion by cancelling out the voting power other people used.

There may be times where there is a very good reason to do this which is why you don't see me asking for a change to the platforms code to stop these negative actions.

Overall I do think the people that are voting like this are in a minority. Some of them are powerful, and they DO think they are helping the platform.

I believe they are harming the platform and they should let the platform adjust the reward pools rather than subjectively choosing targets to steal from. Perhaps they didn't steal from the person with potential earnings, but they did cancel out the vote of the people who liked that content. So did they steal from them? Perhaps they didn't. Can it be perceived as an attack? I believe the resounding answer to that is yes.

If I were to pick an action I believe in my time since July of watching the platform has done more harm than any other it is subjective down voting. It has brought a wealth of negative PR. It has caused people to leave. It has caused some people to look at the platform and say "no way, it's like reddit all over again", because there are a lot of people that don't like the flagging on reddit. Sure it is a big platform. Yet it could be bigger. It may be important to state "This is not reddit" to which I answer Thank ~God(s).

So those protectors of the reward pool with your subjective flagging. Why wouldn't finding a post you think is worthy and up voting it to compete and adjust the reward pool be a good thing instead? A positive thing would surely avoid that nasty negative P.R.

Self-Up Voting


This has been around forever, and some tutorials early on actually recommended up voting your own posts, and comments for visibility. This made sense from the visibility point of view until one considers voting itself. I followed that up-bote my own posts which I learned from an @craig-rant tutorial video back in July. Then I learned about the voting percentage and how I only had so many votes per day until my voting power started decreasing. This meant because I like to talk a lot if I up voted my own stuff it greatly decreased my ability to vote on content of other people that I really like.

Without the content this platform is worthless. If I up vote my own content then how am I encouraging others to grow the platform?

That is why I stopped. Yet I've never been able to reward more than $0.01 for a vote so it was not a big dent I made by changing my habits.

I didn't change the habits for my own selfish interest. I changed it for the platform. Is there still some selfishness there? Sure. If the platform does well and grows then all of our steem power is worth more and it helps us all over the long run.

What if steem power never increases?

Are you getting paid to write content, reply to content, and vote on content? This is a huge deal no matter how much it makes.

Yet if the votes are concentrated on ourselves in a very narcissistic way then that is less encouragement for the creation of content. This can lead to attrition (i.e. more people leaving) and reduced content. Without content this platform is nothing.

If you view this platform as a place which is like a walled room full of mirrors where you can admire your own reflection and get paid for then by all means continue. Yet that didn't turn out too well for narcissus.

Also my post has nothing to do with jealousy. I only care about the platform. I consider people that are doing this to be foolish if they are knowingly hurting the platform. I am not jealous of foolishness. However, it is my hope that this is not the case. It may be simply they haven't considered this perspective, or perhaps they have a logical perspective that makes more sense than my own.

I do know for now we need the flag to protect from a number of things. Yet, this up voting issue didn't really seem to be a truly negative one until now.

Once the reward pool is split (unless it has already happened) what is to stop someone from making a post, adding a bunch of comments to their own post that they treat as updates and up voting ALL of their own comments. That reward pool would be not so pretty then. It also wouldn't really be encouraging any form of positive dialog. I have no doubt there would be negative dialog.

If a program/code change did happen I'd say the easiest thing would be to make it so people can't up vote their own comments. Yet that really accomplishes nothing for all they have to do is create another account and do the exact same activity up voting between their accounts. We have seen this in the past.

In a voluntary society when there are bad actors you don't have to attack them. You can just stop doing business with them. So it doesn't have to be programmatic at all. If people insist on gaming the system, and acting harsh to others then a concerted campaign to pull support from that person might be the only recourse. Purely done by words. In societies that are based on voluntarism this is typically known as being ostracised or shunned. It is negative P.R. as well, and it'd be nice to not have to resort to such things. Many people may think that it wouldn't work because no one would do it to them. They could be absolutely correct. It'd need to be a very compelling reason for people to back such a plan. Such as repeatedly asking people, and calling them on negative acts to only be belittled, or in some cases attacked. If people can be reasoned with then no such things should EVER be necessary. Yet even in ideas such as Anarcho Capitalism the question comes up of what do you do when there are bad actors yet you have the non-aggression principle. The answer there is typically, stop doing business with them.


Steem On!




Sort:  

Good discussion topics and points. I feel the war of the whales is making the platform feel pretty strange.

I hope they work it out soon. It is confusing.

I just keep on Steeming along, while wondering who is doing what for what reasons? Who's bot or sock-puppet is that? The lack of trust I am feeling for the platform and some of the main players is yyyyuge.

I worked in Internet applications for a long time. Our goal was to work hard (marketing) to make people feel happy when interacting with our applications. This was not an easy task, as our application scanned for errors the end-users were making. Yet, we understood for people to "like" our application they needed to feel happy when they were using it.

Most people do not enjoy feeling confused and deceived for entertainment.

Most investors want to understand who and what they are investing in.

lol. its a drama in the making
Im having fun on the side lines, on the negative side freaking out about the price of steem I want to power up 10k more but the psychological factor wont let me.
Resteemed !

Yeah not sure how low it will go. If you have the money to buy steem if we manage to get rid of this negative crap and get more people here, and staying here it likeky would be a very good investment. You'd become an insta-whale.

I keep saying that to myself, anyways Im doing everything posible to get as many people and much money in steemit as I can. But with the price drop I already have a few unhappy people asking abouts the why the price drop. Me being one of them.

Please people don't loose faith, we need you here :)

how much we getting paid for these comments ? just kidding
We are here to stay, I like a storm or two but I guess its just human nature to get depressed when the sun doesnt shine after a few days ?(or weeks)

I can't answer that completely. Some of it is people leaving because of the price drop which makes the price drop more. Some of it is negative hostile actions. I am sure there are other reasons as well.

Silver Lining is... you get paid something... that is still more than the alternative.

Earned a lot more than i ever did on any other platform and i learned even more from this community than any other. It might be tough times but i truly believe Steemit is here to stay!

This is my thought as well. My goals are to share, communicate, educate, be educated myself, and do what I can to contribute to the growth of the platform.

Of course I agree 100%, we love steemit but its the bearish market and loosing of value that has us all nervous!

i didn't think about it that way! encouraging discussion.. good point

When I started posting on Steemit, I did not upvote my own posts; but then I got the advise to always upvote my own posts and started doing that. @dwinblood you are giving compelling reasons for me to consider stopping upvoting my own posts! Also, my voting power is not that large that it'll harm me in any way; An extra incentive to stop upvoting my own posts :)
The good thing is that I upvote primarily only posts and comments I really like, and so far never downvoted a post or comment. Indeed the way I like to see others doing as well.

I saw tutorials recommending up voting our own posts when I started too. It was when I realized the voting % and thought about how I wasn't really helping the platform if I voted my own stuff. That was when I stopped doing it. Yet, I have seen a number of tutorials that recommend up voting your own stuff. Unless you have a decent amount of steem power your up vote of yourself likely won't give you ANYTHING, but it will reduce your voting % of power.

Yeah I wasn't trying to attack anyone. Just offering other perspectives. Whatever helps the platform the most is what I want. And getting people to come here and stay here on steemit/busy is the most important thing as far as I am concerned.

Minnow entering the water...

Another Solid, Great, and Passionate view I am witnessing Sir. Tell you what, I am here and NOT giving up. I see lots of potential. I also see lots of volatility. I go by a set a rules, Thirds Rule. I know this post is about the comments, up votes, down votes, and such. Hopefully we all can find it within ourselves to actually help others with more pleasantries and less insults. We ALL can do it!

Steem on,
Frank

I have no problem with flagging for any reason and I'm happy that other front ends such as Busy display it as a "dislike" as opposed to a flag.
Flagging or "disliking" has also been referred to as vote negation, for its power to essentially counterbalance the vote of another. In this way it is an essential tool for combating abuse of the rewards pool.
Imagine a whale that owned 10% of all Steem and was powered up. He could program a bot that would post the right number of posts and comments to maximize rewards, all self upvoted. While contributing no actual content, this whale would maintain his 10% stake, because he alone distributes 10% of the daily rewards pool, all to himself. In actuality, the whale would most certainly grow his percentage of the platform as other casual users do not maximize their votes leaving the whale in control of a greater proportion of the rewards pool.
Focusing on positivity and only upvoting quality content does not change this scenario. This rogue whale would still net his 10-15%. The only thing that counters such activity is flagging/disliking. Negating the rewards the whale is gifting himself and making the behavior unprofitable is the only counter and the community has to be ready to fill that role. Simply shunning the bad actors isn't enough as without the teeth of flags it has no impact on the economics.

I didn't state removing of the vote for reasons you have described where it becomes the only way to combat someone "gaming" the system.

Yet that is not the only people it is used against. You have some new person doing well because people LIKE what he posts.

Then suddenly he sees his rewards drop a lot. The people that voted their steem power to reward the person that because they LIKED the topic see their reward removed as well.

This gives a negative connotation.

There are many (actually most places) in life where if you are buying something (spending steem power) you walk in, and you buy what you like. You don't stop to rip things you don't like off the shelf, you don't pull out a red marker and start putting big Xs all over the things. You also don't get to reach into the pocket of someone that was given currency by someone (but they haven't gone to the bank yet) and decide "They gave you too much" and rip up/destroy some of that currency. Yet the X, pulling things off the shelf (if it is powerful enough to hide the post), and ripping up someone elses currency CAN be the perception of the actual results of flagging someone's post.

So when it is subjective because "I don't like it", or "they are making too much" it does not send a positive message for the platform when it is done. It likely confuses or angers the person that owns the post, it angers people that have been using the platform that thought they could up vote things they like.

Every time there is a post like this someone says essentially what you just said. Yet I guarantee you that has driven quite a few people from the platform, it has also stopped people from joining the platform that have observed it.

That is why I am using words and trying to reason with people. I am trying to offer another perspective for what is going on.

Is the goal to grow the platform, or is the goal to be thought and money police?

they were doing it to me for a month. flagging me then upvoting their own comments to get a pay out. Everyone played like I was crazy.

If the reward pool has been split into two like was the plan then those two things should at least not be tapping into the same pool still.

Couldn't quite tell if you knew this or not, but it hasn't been split yet. Last I heard, the tentative hard-fork date is something like March 7th.

Once the reward pool is split (unless it has already happened) what is to stop someone from making a post, adding a bunch of comments to their own post that they treat as updates and up voting ALL of their own comments.

What's to stop that from happening now?

Cool. Good talk. :)

Like those short ones that were to the point? I know we need flags to deal with gaming the system, which is why I stopped proposing UP VOTES only blogs anymore. Until we have a way to protect from gaming the system, I realize that the flag/down vote is a necessary evil.

Yet people deciding someone is being rewarded more than they think they should be, or just plain not liking the topic so they flag/down vote it for that reason. I think those hurt the platform.

With some User Interface changes that might be minimized, but as it currently exists it seems to cause more harm than good.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66931.79
ETH 3249.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10