VITALIK BUTERIN BIOGRAPHY

in #vitalik7 years ago

I was born in 1994 in Russia and moved to Canada in 2000, where I went to school. I happily played World of Warcraft during 2007-2010, but one day Blizzard removed the damage component from my beloved warlock's Siphon Life spell. I cried myself to sleep, and on that day I realized what horrors centralized services can bring. I soon decided to quit.

maxresdefault.jpg

In 2011, searching for a new purpose in life, I discovered Bitcoin. At first, I was skeptical, and did not understand how it could possibly have value without physical backing. But slowly I became more and more interested. I started writing for a blog called Bitcoin Weekly initially at a meek wage of $1.5 per hour, and soon with Mihai Alisie cofounded Bitcoin Magazine.

In late 2011, I participated in a high school programming competition where players program the code for a team of simulated robots that then fight each other. I won third place. Someone asked me: what was my strategy? Others gave command-and-control strategies such as "I went for the center". I simply replied "I gave each agent a utility function and let them independently act to maximize their own objectives". That moment would inform my political beliefs for years to come.

In 2012, I entered the University of Waterloo; in 2013 I realized that crypto projects were taking up 30h/week of my time, so I dropped out. I went around the world, explored many crypto projects, and finally realized that they were all too concerned about specific applications and not being sufficiently general - hence the birth of Ethereum, which has been taking up my life ever since

My interests include math, algorithms, cryptography, mechanism design, economics, social science, politics (I love pointing out similarities between governance challenges of "apolitical" crypto projects and the eternal stupidity that is mainstream geopolitics), rationalist philosophy, and the intersection of it all.

Age: 23 (for now)

Residence: Cathay Pacific Airlines

Political affiliation: Cuckservative

Drinks/smokes/drugs: green tea

Religion: crypto

Favorite pastime: countersignalling

Occupation: It's complicated.

Sort:  

Nice post, but what are your thoughts now after the bancor - eth network crippeling?

EOS is now running an ICO, i think that's the solution. www.eos.io

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28