💎VINTAGE DIAMOND SCALE 💎

in #vintage6 years ago (edited)

cover working file.jpg

I bought a few items on an auction last week for the shop, and one of them was this cute little scale. I saw it in it's wood and glass case and thought it was super cute. I often buy pieces just because I like the way they look - doesn't always have to have a purpose.


Today, I took it upstairs to my team, and we discovered that it is actually a very special vintage diamond and precious stone scale. I wanted to have the metal piece stripped to it's natural brass, but the guys warned me not to, as the scale is specially calibrated for the weights that accompany it. How cool is that?!

WhatsApp Image 2018-05-15 at 16.45.43 (5).jpeg

Maximum Weight 2500 Carats

WhatsApp Image 2018-05-15 at 16.45.43 (3).jpeg

The little feet at the bottom also assist with balancing the scale

We found a pack of cards with a sticker that said Kimberly Mines. For those of you who don't know, South Africa had it's own gold and diamond rush in the early 1800's. Even today, South Africa is well known for it's diamond trade. I found some really interesting information about the history of diamonds in SA here, and I have decided that I will visit the Cape Town Diamond Museum soon, as a result of this!

Some info on the Kimberly Mine - source:

"The Big Hole, Open Mine, Kimberley Mine or Tim Kuilmine is an open-pit and underground mine in Kimberley, South Africa, and claimed to be the largest hole excavated by hand, although this claim is disputed."

WhatsApp Image 2018-05-15 at 16.45.43.jpeg

It also has it's original weights and tweezers used to pick up the stones. I didn't see this at the auction, as the drawers were taped closed. This is a factor that makes the scale much, much more valuable, as it is as close to being original as can be. This scale is such a nice find, and I am so pleased with it

WhatsApp Image 2018-05-15 at 16.45.43 (6).jpeg

I am also so chuffed with the little plaque on the front that says "The Digger's Favourite" - so cool, right!

WhatsApp Image 2018-05-15 at 16.45.43 (2).jpeg

Every now and then, we get some really special pieces in, and this is one of them. I'm really proud of this piece and can't wait to share the knowledge with all my clients. What do you think? Do you also think it is so special?

Let me know in the comments

footer.jpg

Please consider voting for @adsactly-witness as a witness. To read what we are all about - click here

adsaxtly-witness.gif

Sort:  

Wow. I suspect you are vastly underestimating your find. Or maybe you should get Sotheby's to take a peek. That's a near one of a kind with the badging that is on it.

I have heard of the Kimberly pit. A lot of my working life was spent around mines and their equipment. Kimberly was/is thought of as the largest ever hand dug pit.

haha, I think the market for these scales is not so big any more, I've priced it quite high, so we will see if it goes soon!

You are spot on there - it is the largest hand dug "hole".

@princemewmew nice adquisition, your words reflect how pleased you are with it, it has a value and deserve to be kept in a place that people can admire it as a relic, nice piece of art, I bought a pan my neighbor sold in a garage sale, i love it because it is big enough for the sweets i make it and i don´t want anyone to touch it, it is mine

lol, you make me laugh! IT IS MINE! Smegal, much? hahah

@adsactly, thanks yes, it is mine !!!!!!!!!

It looks so cool, I love old things. I raise you with my scale that's in my home. We still use it, but sometimes, rarely :) My house is full of ''weird'' things :)

The interesting thing about diamonds is that they can be produced. Yap, clean diamonds can be produced, and they are produced and sold all over the world... I saw a documentary about that.. :/

that sounds so interesting, I'd love to watch that too! We chose an antique sapphire for my ring, as I definitely didn't want diamonds. Ever seen Blood Diamond...? Yup!


This is Neil talking about diamonds.. You have a documentary on Yt about 1hour long. This is shorter and he said about diamond productions here.. ;)

Looks amazing, I love stuff like that!
But....is it only me that at the first picture, I see the metal coming out of the scale in the middle as a heart? Romantic person here haha <3

hehe! I also see that. It's made that way to fit under the little triangular piece above it - it slides back and forth

SO COOL ! -and cute, and romantic hehe!

May I say you have a cool job? It almost seems exotic, minus the hardwork of course

yeah, it is fun! I'm very lucky

@princessmewmew this cute little scale is very useful for measuring quantity and weight of diffrent things. I hope it provide more accurate reading then other measuring equipments.
what is price of this scale?

yess it is great

It will probably go for about $750 :)

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

That does look really cool. It a scale set of this quality quite a rare find?

What sort of price do you think this will sell for?

Thanks! Yes, we have loads of vintage scales but never a diamond scale.

I’ll probably price it around $750 🌸

That brings back memories my uncle had one of those or something similar with those small and tiny weights

Perhaps it was a letter scale? I know back in the day that was a standard desk accessory.

YesI think you may be right it was probably a letter scale now that I think about it one of his family did work a a post office way back inthe day I think

cool! wed just don't have use for those things any more, that's what makes these pieces so special

Indeed they are special and not sure if this makes sense I feel they have character and charm

I never knew South Africa has beautiful things like this and also things in the 1800s, I consider this piece a good objective t for knowing weight and other things nice post ma'am

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66499.54
ETH 3203.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14