You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: You can now publish videos to your own Steemit blog

in #viewly7 years ago (edited)

I have hoped you would update the page quickly after you saw the DTube announcement yesterday. It is sooo cool to have two video platforms publishing on the Steem blockchain within days of YouTube demonizing all those YouTubers for their critical content. This is huge!

I love how viewly looks and behaves. Brilliantly done so far. I made a test video post about Viewly and I saw that the video is wrapped into a html span element. That needs to be removed when the post is manually edited later. Probably something that should be fixed.

Thank you so much for this. This is the best development for Steem since I joined two months ago!


Watch it on Viewly



Sort:  

Thanks to your post, I just found another issue. It turns out that editing a post on steemit will overwrite the json_metadata, and now the video is gone.

Right. I still had the video open and that link still works. So the video seems to be still there somehow. I updated the link in my comment and my post.

Unfortunately, its a flaw in the design. The video will die eventually, as none of the nodes will recognize it as such (it only lives as a cache on the upload server).

One way to rescue it would be to manually repair the json_metadata field in the post, however I'm not aware of an easy way to do it for a non technical person.

In any case, I need to upgrade the design to fix this flaw.

Ok, I am sure you guys can fix that. Awesome job so far!

Now we only need to change the payout system to make videos (and posts) profitable in the long run as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87