Da Nang viewpoint: I don't know what this is but I like it

in #vietnam10 months ago

I recently went with some friends to a viewpoint on the top of Monkey Mountain which is an area that people are very aware of around here but few people ever actually travel to. It is quite a journey to the top and I do not recommend that you attempt to walk it. It's simply too far and it is only a paved road all the way up.

I rode a motorbike to the top and just parked it at a little, very basic cafe that existed at the top.

Oh, it is worth noting that you are not allowed to take an automatic scooter up to this viewpoint because the incline is too steep and automatics are too dangerous in these sorts of situations. So if you only have access to an auto-scooter, you're shit outta luck. you'll have to get a car or something.

At the top you would probably get to see some glorious views but for meteorological reasons that I do not understand, the clouds tend to drop down low around these peaks and mostly the view is perma-blocked.

There was some sort of art installation at the top and like the title says, I do not know what it is but I like it.


image.png

It was clearly made by hand and doesn't appear to have much of a purpose but I guess, if the conditions were right with the clouds and they rarely are, I suppose that might the "eye" that overlooks the city of Da Nang below. There's just something about this that I enjoy and that is probably because it was made with whatever they happened to have access to at the top of this mountain and wasn't just made in a factory, mass-produced so that everyone can have one in their garden if they want.

Monkey Mountain is an interesting place that I am going to explore a bit more in the future. On this trip though the sun was relentless and we chose a really stupid time of day to head up there. I ended up with sunburn that is currently peeling for the first time in many years. Therefore, if you do decide to go to this place, plan a bit ahead and don't be a jackass like I was.

I would post a location of Monkey Mountain but honestly, if you are here you can just look north and you'll see it. It's the only mountain in that direction and everyone knows where it is. You can also just hit the road along the beach and it is literally the only place that this road goes to.

Good luck!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61041.41
ETH 2947.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85