Am I the first Dutch movie star on Steemit? See me in cinema’s all over Europe in “Dikkertje Dap” (My Giraffe)!

in #video7 years ago (edited)

A few days ago the movie “Dikkertje Dap” (English title: My Giraffe) got released in cinema’s in The Netherlands and yours truly, the one and only @valderrama plays in it! It’s going to be a blockbuster in Dutch cinemas and it will be released all throughout Europe as well. I believe it already holds a record for being released in the most cinemas in The Netherlands.

3C4304D0-9484-4108-9BFE-6190B53ABDBD.jpeg

The story

My Giraffe is a family movie movie for all ages. The story is based on the famous verse by Annie M. G. Schmidt.

Dikkertje Dap or in English “Patterson Pepps” has a best friend: Raf, a giraffe. Raf and Patterson grow up together as Patterson lives next to the zoo and they are born on the exact same day. When they reach the age that they have to go to school for the first time, they become very excited. On the first day Patterson stuffs all kinds of plants in his backpack to make sure Raf will have enough to eat. When Patterson realizes Raf isn’t going to join him at school he gets very sad. Gradually Patterson enjoys school more than he expected and actually makes a new friend: Eduard. Raf, however, feels left out. Poor giraffe. Fortunately Patterson comes up with a brilliant plan to bring Raf to school and to unite his two best friends.

Director and leading cast

The movie is directed by Barbara Bredero. She’s a big award winning name in the movie scene in The Netherlands with an impressive list of productions to her name. Most leading roles are played by very famous Dutch actors/celebrities:

  • Liam de Vries: plays Dikkertje Dap/Patterson Pepps
  • Martjin Fischer: plays the grandfather
  • Dolores Leeuwin: plays the teacher Nellie
  • Medi Broekman: plays the mother of Patterson
  • Egbert Jan Weber: plays the father of Patterson

And not to forget:

  • @valderrama: Father of one of the kids at Pattersons school

WOW @valderrama…. did you really land a leading role?

HAHA well… not really, I’m just a supporting actor/extra in the movie. But it’s all good! I’m officially in a legit movie for the first time in my life! If you know me you can spot me in several scenes throughout the whole movie, I believe I saw myself 10 times out of which 3 times in very clear shots and I must say my acting is top notch!!! You can definitely not tell it was my first time in a movie!

LOL so how did this all come about?

I have never had aspirations of becoming an actor but somehow I was asked to become a part of it. After seeing the result I must say that perhaps it is something I should pursue though… I think I’m a natural!

OK… enough with the bragging!!! haha

Here’s the story: Our daughter, who I’ve written a few posts about here on Steemit, enjoys to dance, sing, play the guitar and often she performs on stage in our local theater. One day my wife got to know about a casting agency that was looking for kids for a movie and she decided to send in some photos of her and they chose her to become an extra in the movie along with a few other kids. It was going to be her first ‘role’ in a movie so she was stoked. We eventually got the shooting dates and I went with her for the first two days. The first day I learned a lot about movie production and it was very interesting to see. All of a sudden they asked a few parents if we would like to be a part of the movie as well and I was one of them. I knew it were going to be long days from what I had seen so I figured I should do it because it would be fun to do with our daughter and it would also be fun to perhaps end up in it as well. The third day of shooting my wife went with our daughter because I couldn’t go and she got to be a part of it as well.

In the end we all ended up in the movie! We are so proud of our daughter who did extremely well during those long days of shooting and she had never done something like this before. But yours truly, @valderrama, managed to end up in the movie the most.

You can spot me and our daughter in several scenes in the school and outside the school. You can spot my wife with our daughter in one scene on a bridge. Here’s a trailer (in Dutch) for your viewing pleasure (sadly we didn’t make it in the trailer):

It’s a fun movie for all ages but especially for kids. Go see it in cinemas now!

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by valderrama from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This wonderful post has received a bellyrub 0.72 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to this cool cat: @kid4life. My pops @zeartul is one of your top steemit witness, if you like my bellyrubs please go vote for him, if you love what he is doing vote for this comment as well.

I already won mate with you dropping by!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66028.29
ETH 2694.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.89