Moviemaking Concepts: Pre-Production - Storyboards

in #video6 years ago

Storyboarding is the key to translating a written script into a visual medium. Let's talk about the benefits and some of the practical uses for them!

Video Transcript:
Hello! I am the artist known as DEROSNEC, and welcome to my bi-weekly vlog where I talk about making music, art, movies, and more.

I’ve always loved drawing and animation, but my connection with storyboards wasn’t solidified until I watched the audio commentary by director Ridley Scott on one of my favourite movies: Alien. He talked about trying to get a budget for the film that would do it justice, but they just didn’t get it.

It seemed no one could see his vision for what an amazing and groundbreaking film that he saw in his head. But really, how could they? Most executives aren’t visual people - they’re business people. And if you’ve ever read the script for Alien... well, it’s pretty dry. The first 3 pages are literally descriptions of a big empty not-very-high-tech-feeling spaceship and a bunch of computer readouts:

INT. ENGINE ROOM

Empty, cavernous.*

Next scene...

INT. ENGINE CUBICLE

Circular, jammed with instruments.
All of them idle...

Console chairs for two.

Empty.*

It goes on...

Long, empty... Black, empty.*

*Excerpt from final draft of “Alien” written by Dan O’Bannon - used without permission for demonstration purposes

See what I mean? It’s not exactly riveting - unless you have a big imagination for production design and can see the story through the mood - which Ridley Scott could.

So, he took that frustration and put that energy into storyboarding out the entire screenplay himself - and not just stick figures, but fully illustrated, beautiful, detailed storyboards which were heavily influenced by H.R. Giger’s artwork. They’re amazing, google “alien storyboards” to have a look!

When he went back to Fox, they immediately doubled his budget, and one of the most well known sci-fi horror movie franchises was born.

Reasons To Storyboard

There are a bunch of reasons to storyboard, beyond pitching to investors of course (though that is certainly a good reason). Practically, it helps visualize a written script in a way that can be broken down into actual shots for scheduling and shooting purposes, and creatively, it helps ensure that you’re telling the story in the most visually interesting way.

A good storyboard artist knows how to use picture composition, content, and angle to manipulate emotions and tell the story clearly. For example, they know that it’s important to establish geography, or the environment or room in which the scene takes place close to the beginning of a scene. Many times they’ll work with the art and locations departments to ensure that they’re drawing spaces that will resemble the actual places!

Storyboarding Angles

They also know when to use what kind of shot, like a close up for emphasis or emotion, or an insert to help show a sequence of events. They’ll work closely with the director, and sometimes even the DOP, to come up with shots that tell the story clearly and beautifully.

Breaking Down Boards

Once the boards are complete, the Assistant Director and the Producers can start figuring out how many shots and setups each scene needs, and can schedule accordingly. They’ll also work with the Director of Photography, who will break down the shots by planning out lighting, lenses, and floor plans. But we’ll talk about that more in another video!

Have you ever tried storyboarding your visual project? Was it helpful? Why or why not? Tell me about your own adventures in storyboarding in the comments!

Thanks for watching - hit that thumbs up button below - it helps me more than you know - and join the uncensored by subscribing to my Youtube channel, my newsletter, or by following me on facebook, twitter, and instagram! If you never want to miss a video, be sure to click the little notification bell icon, too.

DEROSNEC

WebsiteYoutubeFacebookTwitterInstagramSpotifySoundcloudBandcampMusicoinSociety6Threadless

Art, Music, Movies, Media
Join the Uncensored

NOTE: These Thursday Vlog transcripts can also be found published on my website: http://derosnec.com

Sort:  

Pre-production is so important - great post!

Yes indeed!! Thanks for watching :D

FOR TSE: Hey, it's about damn time the curie fairy visited you! Doesn't that payout feel good???

That makes perfect sense! A great way to get those images out of your head and into a presentable form so that others can see what you're thinking! Nicely done! And congrats on the deserved Curie votes!

Thank you so much for watching! :D

It is nice to know the importance of storyboards @derosnec. Thanks for breaking it down for us. I do like watching "The Making of .... " documentaries of movies, especially cartoons and I used to wonder about the drawings they used during discussions. Now, I know what they are for, thanks to you :)

Thanks for watching @marbley! I'm glad I was able to shed some light onto what storyboards and those drawings were all about :D

Perhaps that was the reason our film ideas and little films was crap :-D We should had used a story board :-) Thank you for providing us with the good infos. The reasons to use a storyboard are meaningful 👍

haha well, I can't claim that storyboards will solve all your problems, but at least they will identify issues and provide you with a plan before you spend a lot of time on set! :D Thanks for watching!

Oh yes i enjoyed it 👍
Perhaps you should consider to upload your infos on dtube. :-) the steemit „YouTube“ . 😀

By the way. A plan is always a good idea for many things in life 👌

Indeed my friend!!

I've yet to have much luck with dTube - I try it out every few months to see if I get better results, but so far it's just been buggy. I know some big updates are happening though so I'll try again the next month or so!

Okay cool idea :-) I’m looking forward to see later some good stuf from you 😀👍

I have never used a storyboard I kind of just wing it when I'm animating if something pops into my mind I started working in that direction.

That's probably part of the reason that my animations are terrible however I do love my completely empty Moleskine storyboard notebook

There's something to said about the spontaneity that can arise from just going in without a plan, but I find that planning, generally speaking, helps to have a better end result. I hope you use that fancy notebook! :D

I watched some documentaries about game creation and this just covers the surface of how labor intensive creating a decent storyboard is. You're right about a storyboard needing a good pitch for some financial backing and the lack of artistic vision for most business people.

I'd like to think this happens rarely but it happens a lot in any industry related to cinematic production. Just think about the best ideas never making it into public screen time just because the people that could have made it happen had no imagination.

totally!! Anything visual, really - even audio. Dare I say anything creative arts?

No one is ever going to be able to read your mind, see what you see, or hear what you hear - it's up to you to find a way to show it to people and prove that it's worthy of their time.

Thanks for watching!

Storyboarding. It is a totally new word for me. Well, no surprises there because I am not in the movie industry. But even if I have heard it before, I may have first thought it is a kind of sport.

Are storyboard artists commonly part of a movie production?

the Assistant Director and the Producers can start figuring out how many shots and setups each scene needs, and can schedule accordingly. They’ll also work with the Director of Photography, who will break down the shots by planning out lighting, lenses, and floor plans.

It sounds like too complicated with the nitty-gritty of all detail, is it?

Absolutely, storyboard artists are very common in movie production! All the major hollywood productions do them for sure - when you're spending potentially millions of dollars a day on a set and crew, you'll want to make sure you're going in with a fairly solid plan.

On smaller productions like indies or shorts, they're still pretty common (and I'd argue that the more successful productions have at least some scenes boarded) but you will find a few that don't have them.

And yes! movies are very complicated hahaha! It's sometimes hard to imagine if you're not in the industry, which is exactly why I'm making this series :)

Thanks for reading!

Now I'm getting ideas about movie production because of your posts. Thanks for that! 😊

I am very pleased to hear that!! :D

It would also be great if you would mention following you on Steemit too in your last paragraph ;9)

hehe well since we're on steemit I'd figure that was a given, but not a bad consideration at all! :)

That was great my friend, I like Scott's movies (Gladiator and Prometheus) my favorite movies, about the Storyboard, as I never was a real director or anything so pro, I just had some music video projects, and some requested projects, which I just asked people and my friends to send me videos or scenes that I had in my mind, and they did it and as I did them from far, and I was the film editor (using software like Vegas Pro) that was all I could do, but this Storyboard way is a real great way to record scenes, sometimes when I wanted to ask someone to send me something which I had imagined in my mind, I was sending something which I sketched in windows paint :DD .

as I am doing most of the works in software, I like to have Wide shots with high quality so I can zoom or do the camera movements inside the software. like making it a close up.

valuable article @derosnec! thank you :)

Thanks buddy!! Yeah, even stick figures really will help you get the point across for shooting, and it's just one little thing that will help you plan ahead of time and make the most of your shooting time. But really, whatever gives you the examples to do what you need to do works, too.

Scott is one of my biggest inspirations and heroes in filmmaking - especially his early career!

Thanks for watching, I'm glad you got something out of it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66077.75
ETH 3167.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01