Five Reasons "Stranger Things" Is Must-See-TV!

in #video7 years ago

Imagine, if you will, Steven Spielberg has sex with a Moog Synthesizer, and it gets pregnant. Nine sine waves later Stephanie Spielmoog is born. She grows up watching 80s movies and goes on to become a director. This is the kinda thing she would make. Let me explain ...


1 - It’s weird as Hell.

Combining eerie synth music with an intense sense of bourgeois suburbia, the Duffer Brothers have created the perfect storm; A town so sheltered and introspective that bizarre supernatural events are the last thing anyone would expect. And bizarre it certainly is. No hard science here, but you won't care. It's a wonderfully far fetched mindfuck.


2 - It’s all your favourite 80s movies and TV shows put together

Think: The Goonies meets Stand By Me meets Twin Peaks.
Sprinkle with some E.T, and maybe even a little Akira!
This is pure, unadulterated homage, and it's perfect.


3 - Every single frame looks like a carefully considered photograph

Photographers and cinematography nerds will be blown away by the sheer beauty in every shot, in every scene. Stranger Things is a visual masterpiece. A gift to the craft of cinematography. The special effects are fantastic too, blending good CGI with amazing practical effects.


4 - The Characters Are Brilliant

The casting is perfect, hitting no bum notes through dozens of characters. Even the secondary characters have dept and believability. In saying that, one character in particular deserves a special mention ....


5 - Eleven

Number five is Eleven. I mean, the character, "Eleven". Playing the part of mystery girl, Eleven, Millie Bobby Brown goes beyond intense, beyond venerable, beyond mysterious, at every turn. This is a kid taking on the most bizarre role imaginable, and nailing it. We have parallel dimensions, government conspiracies, strange beings and unexplained deaths, yet it's the little girl with the shaved head that steals the show.


Watch the trailer ..


Have you watched Stranger Things?

PS - This is an update to an older Steemit article by myself, so please disregard duplicate content detection bots.
Sort:  

Did you just spend 7 days away from steem to watch it :P?
Might give this one a crack, cheers mate!

LOL didn't think anyone would notice my absence, but appreciate that you did Tomek! I was just a bit burnt out so needed a bit of time off. How are you mate?

Well I tend not to miss your posts, so when I see no post I think, either dead in a ditch or going a photo safari :D
Yea I'm pretty good dude, enjoying the new born :)

One of my favorite series :) after The Hundred ofc :)
Can't wait next season.

I LOVE stranger things! can't wait for season 2 October 27!

Me too! Gonna watch it all over again in preparation.

I was about to ask when it comes back on. Thanks!

Easily one of my favorite shows

I hadn't heard of this show until last Sunday when my brother suggested it would be the kind of series he knows I would appreciate. Now after reading your post, I must say he was right on the money.

Hope you enjoy it! It's up there with The Wire and GOT for me.

Waiting for season 2...it was STRANGEly good!

Other one that is Great is Black Mirror!

Ooooh black mirror is amaaazing! Even better than stranger things I would say. They are the kind of scary that really crawls in under your skin.. And future dystopia is probably one of my favourite genres.

Trailer looks promising i need to check it out and start watching this.

Great series! Season 1 was amazing. Now that comes the next season :)

Upvoted.

I need to draw something like stranger things upped @condra and followed

I haven't been watching many netflix original series.
The last one I've ever watched fully was Daredevil and that was a while ago.
Thanks for the suggestion @condra, it sounds really interesting and something that I will get addicted to.

I watched it quite recently, and I liked it a lot. It had a feel to it that reminded me of silent hill, which is one of my favourite scary movies. It annoyed me a little bit that there where so many kids in the main roles, but they were quite good actors. And I agree Eleven was amazing! Really talented girl for taking on such a absurd role and doing it flawlessly.

Can't wait for season 2!

Me neither :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72