MY FACEBOOK FAN PAGE WITH 220 K WAS HACKED | WHAT TO DO IF YOU GET HACKED

in #video6 years ago (edited)

As some of you know I’ve been hacked last week and loads of people asked for a story of how it happened and what I did! There it is! A bit emotional.... this is my story !

Look forward to your comments!!


Alla xxx


Sort:  

I share your feelings.
But...lets face the reality - this is what happens when someone forgets the RULE #1:

damn! that sounds stressful.

I got hacked on my FB!There is some dude hacked my credit card on my page. I'm so stressful like you

Cheer up and stay safe dear.

Ohh! it is very sad news...
Did you recover your account or not yet...?

That's bad. I hope everything is ok now.

Glad you got your page back. Did you get your content recovered?
I would strongly advice to get a password manager like Password Safe, you can use it to generate and store complex passwords. Also some of them are integrated with solutions like YubiKey that are physical secrets strengthening the security (many pages accept them as 2FA).
Sadly on the Internet there isn't anything like too paranoid.

Oh my I feel so bad I been caught up with my own drama's that I did not realise the anguish you were going through. It is horrible when someone steals your content or worse someone steal your identity. You feel violated and impotent and punish yourself believing it is all your fault. It is not. People are targeted, they don't volunteer to be exploited.

That being said some thoughts on what you have said. As far as I am aware your page data would not have been purged from FB databases. It is a point of contention but basically unless you explicitly close an account and then demand facebook removes your data, they will almost certainly hang on to it for 'research purposes' I would press them more on this and even speak to the ACLU about it , they have experience when dealing with Facebook.

On another point 2 Factor Authentication 2FA is good to help secure access to an account however I would caution you NOT to use SMS as a 2nd factor.

Phone's are not and never were designed to be authentication tokens and they should not be used under any circumstance in that way. Don't take my word for it NIST agrees

If you are given the option to use One TIme Passwords OTP and either a hardware token generator or one of the many free ones you can get for Android or iOS
I would heartily recommend you choose that option.

Finally, and I realise this is closing the stable door after the horse has bolted but, never use the same password for multiple sites. Rather than trying to carry around a jumble of passwords in your head you should start using a Password Manager. There are many popular ones like LastPass and OnePass etc. Or there are many reputable programs that can allow you to roll your own like KeePassXC which is cross platform and if you use a syncing service like Dropbox or GoogleDrive you can point all your devices at the same database and have them synced so you can access your passwords from anywhere no matter which device you need to access it from. Combining that with secure 2FA

Once again I am so so sorry this has happened to you and really I feel terrible I do not login to FB that often and Instagram even less. Though given that clip of a distraught and tear stained Alla, I am quite glad I did not see it at the time. I don't often get angry and I get violent even less but when bad things happen to people I care about I get this red mist....

Well I hope things get sorted out in the end and if I can help in any way or you just want to talk about stuff don't hesitate to ask.

tight warm hugs

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29