Who You Gonna Call?

in #vhs7 years ago

9cbf8217-11dc-4784-8c87-c656dd9205d5.png


I remember buying this with my Columbia House video club membership. Anyone remember those? Look how glossy that box cover is. It's still in great shape which leads me to wonder how many times I actually watched this videotape. I'm guessing not very much, judging by the lack of wear and tear. I no longer have a functioning VCR so I can't do much with this copy except admire it and post pictures. I've since acquired Ghostbusters on DVD and watched that several times as it's one of my all-time favourite movies. Who can forget the first time Ray Stantz, Egon Spengler and Peter Venkman encounter the ghost in the library? Funny AND scary! How about when Venkman gets slimed in the hotel by the ghost who would become better-known as "Slimer" in the The Real Ghostbusters cartoon? Great memories!


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot | IPFS | Google Play
Sort:  

Damn im gonna have to watch this now :)

You can never watch it enough.

I used to belong to the Columbia House Record Club as a kid. Grandma looked uncomfortable with my AC/DC Dirty Deeds choice. You might still be able to buy those 2 in 1 VCR-DVD players at Frys. Original Ghostbusters was awesome.

Yes, I also used to get 8 CDs for a penny with the promise to buy however many more at full price, later on. Many CDs, Bought Dirt Cheap.

I've seen the VCR/DVD player combos but what I have on VHS has already been replaced with DVDs. No rewinding is heaven. You never saw a Please Rewind sticker on a DVD case. I'm just keeping my VHS copies as collector items.

Did you ever watch Be Kind Rewind? The scene that comes to my mind is where they "sweded" the library scene. XD

Yes, I've seen it and it's hilarious. Jack Black's rendition of the Ghostbusters' theme song is awesome. I need to watch that movie again.

Yeah, I love Michel Gondry's work, he is amazing :)

I didn't realize he was the one who directed it. He also directed Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, which I also loved.

Yeah, he is great!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59077.53
ETH 2518.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48