Terminal Veteran In Hospice Wants To Hear From You

in #veterans7 years ago (edited)

flag.jpeg

This guy is in my home town. Lee Hernandez is an 18 year army vet and thinks no one cares about him. What will it cost you to send him a text? Nothing. We can show him that he matters.

People who want to call or text Lee should reach out in the evening hours, ideally between 4 and 8 p.m Texas time.

The phone number to reach the Hernandezes is 210-632-6778.

Lee.jpg

Read the news story here.
http://www.kens5.com/mb/features/army-veterans-dying-wish-is-to-hear-from-you/456644056

Here is what we sent to Lee today.

IMG_6560.PNG

It will take you 30 seconds to drop him a note. Let him know you are thinking about him too.

Peace, HM

Sort:  

Dude, thanks for this share and I will definitely do this! I am resteeming this too because this is important. May even make a post about it.

Share it out there. Drop him a line. It breaks my heart thinking that a dude that served and is now dying feels so alone. 22 vets on average commit suicide every day.

Somebody build an app where you can send random texts of encouragement to vets so they know somebody out there cares about them.

Yes, it's downright sad. It would be cool to see an app like that.

Oh my goodness, this is so kind of you. Made my heart happy ❤

Thankyou for the kind words.

Thank you for the kind YOU :)

Dammit! I'm a 6'2" bearded tattooed biker. Don't tell nobody!

Oops! Welllll..... I'm not gonna tell anyone else...

hahahahahah nice!

Tell him we thank him for his service...I will say a prayer....God bless him.

That is heartbreaking! So sad. I sent a text to Lee. I wish there was more I could do. Such a simple request, it doesn't seem enough.

Hey man. That is good. Sometimes all it takes is one little note. To let someone know they are not alone.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29