You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Autophagy: Fulfilment of Two Of God's Promises To Mankind

in #veterans5 years ago (edited)

Today I am starting a new fast. A true water only fast. In all previous fasts I refused to give up my beloved coffee, but it has been irritating my stomach and causing pain. I'm giving a talk tonight to our church board on fasting. The pastor asked us to fast and pray for guidance in our leadership of the church and there was some groaning among the several of us. I'm giving the talk tonight having eaten my last meal last night at supper and without the mental acuity that caffeine gives me. Could be a flop, but I'll have to trust God which is what fasting is all about. Here is a link to the 'power' article: https://steemit.com/islam/@chuck2u32/autophagy-the-power-of-healing-from-within-given-to-each-of-us-and-every-other-living-thing

Sort:  

All the best with your talk......although you've probably already shared your knowledge on the subject by now. The worst that can happen by fasting your regular coffee is headaches which are not very pleasant at all. How long do you expect to be on this fast Chuck?

Thanks for the link. I will look forward to reading that later on today. Blessings.

For some reason last night I felt lead to decline to give the talk. Instead, when the pastor asked if we had any delights in the Lord this past month, I offered that I started out fasting for selfish reasons, but as I lost 70 pounds and rid my body of three "incurable" diseases it became the most spiritual experience in my life. After I said that the pastor said that he will soon set aside time for me to give the talk at a meeting and invite others in the church to attend. If I'd given the talk last night he was going to make it
optional and that board members who were not interested could leave. That is why God wanted me to wait. My testimony last night turned out to be a "tease" and some are now VERY interested in the information.

My fast is open ended. I would like to do at least 7 days, but my wife is not on-board with my fasting life style. She gets more combative with each passing day. I know that it comes from a place of love, but also from ignorance. She refuses to even read or listen to any information on fasting.

Sounds like you gave just enough information to pique a lot of people's interest. You must be looking forward to sharing more of your very positive testimony. It is sad that you don't have your wife's full support at the moment but prayer can change everything. The longer she sees the improvement in your health, the more she will soften in her resistance hopefully.

Have you fasted for seven days before?

I've done 6 days, but not 7 yet. Right now I'm sidelined for fasting. I've injured my stomach lining by taking supplement pills during fasting on an empty stomach. I'll let it heal for a couple months using restricted time eating and low-carb/keto dieting to keep the weght off that I have lost so far.

That's an important fact to consider when fasting Chuck. I'm glad you brought it up. Sounds like a good plan to allow the healing to take place before doing another extended fast. How will you get around that problem if you need the supplements? Would consuming a couple of tablespoons of natural yogurt prior to taking supplements be considered cheating?

There is a formula for maintaining electrolyte balance that is used by tens of thousands of fasters. Its odd name is "snake juice". It was created by a rather bombastic fitness trainer by the name of Cole Robinson. He provides the formula at no charge. He even tells you where to buy the ingredients from local sources. Here it is.
Snake Juice Recipe:
Water=2L
Potassium chloride =1 tsp (No Salt)
Sodium chloride = 1/2 tsp (Himalayan Pink Salt)
Sodium Bicarbonate = 1 tsp (Baking Soda)
Magnesium Sulphate = 1/2 tsp (Food Grade Epsom Salts)

I purchased the No Salt and pink salt at Walmart and the magnesium at Walgreen's pharmacy. Next time I fast, if I experience cramping or any other electrolyte imbalance I'll just take in a glass of snake juice.

I've heard of this @chuck2u32 and it sounds similar to the adrenal cocktail drink recommended for people with low thyroid and adrenal stress. Orange juice is added to Himalayan Pink Salt or celtic salt. I am a great believer (and user) of magnesium and magnesium spray works very quickly for cramps and I always have some available.

I have done some additional research written by very experienced fasters and they say that the most trouble-free reduced side effect fast they do is water-only. My next fast will be exactly that not zero calorie liquids fast, truly water only.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73