The Man Asking For Money On The Corner Needs Help!

in #veteran6 years ago (edited)

On my way to work, I often see a man holding a sign at a busy intersection in town.


I am a disabled Navy vet. I am looking for a cash paying job. God bless!


person-1821413_640.jpg

It is so easy to pass by people when you are focused on the destination, but not the journey. And sometimes we try to alleviate our guilt by passing a good ole George Washington or some spare change, but don't take the time to say "Hello" and sit a while to ask "How are you?" Sometimes our guilt keeps us from making eye-contact. Sometimes are hearts are so hard, we can no longer see those in need.

I am not sure this man's needs, nor I am in a position to judge his intentions, but one thing I know is that he needs help.

  1. If he has lost his wallet, his house, or the shirt off his back, he needs physical provision.
    His stomach is hungry. His body is cold. His skin is blistering. His head is wet.
  2. If he has lost his wife, his best friend, or his job, he needs emotional support.
    He is grieving. He is lonely. He needs a listening ear and a kind voice.
  3. If he has lost his mind or his way, he needs psychological reconciliation.
    He wants to be the man he once was or longs to be the best version of himself that he was meant to be.
  4. If he has lost his soul, he needs spiritual salvation.
    He desires to rid himself of the demons and his dark past. He hopes for peace and comfort.

I see a man in need. And if I pause for a moment, I am sure that I will see countless more. And if I stop, I may be able to make a difference someone's life.

@SumatraNate


Image Source: https://pixabay.com/en/person-homeless-bullied-hiding-1821413/


Check out my online course - Steem Markdown

Affiliate Banner 2 - Steem Markdown Banner.jpg

Sort:  

it is always a dilemma when you see people struggling and asking for help on the street like this as sadly some are faking it and just trying to get cash for one thing or another and are not necessarily in need, but then there are those that really need help.

I occasionally stop and talk with people i see like this and get my own gut feeling on whether they need help or not, of course I may get it wrong and thats a risk but I cannot help all that I see, but do help a few here and there when I can

I think that's a good approach, most the time you will be able to tell whether their story is genuine or not. Actually talking to them means more than just throwing some money at them, from experience I can say when you are in bad shape a bit of random kindness shows you the world is not only hostile to you. It can give you the courage to work on yourself

@flyyingkiwi yes thats very true, and often when I sense they really need food I will got and grab some food from a deli or such and give food instead of cash

So true! Throwing money at someone does not show genuine concern. Sometimes it is just a way to feel less guilty. A lot of people need our time and our attention.

Taking the time to engage the person is key. Throwing resources at people is not as helpful as hearing​ the person and their struggles​ and then finding ways to help. A simple conversation goes a long way. Great points!

Always a conundrum - I like the idea of having “care bags” with a few essentials (water, healthy snacks, hygiene items). It’s unfortunate that giving cash can do more harm than good.

Making "care bags" requires that we be proactive in our efforts but just reactive. I believe that is a good mind shift change. Thanks for the comment.

Such a difficult topic is this. On the one hand my selfish side thinks 'dude, sitting here will not get you anyware. Visit a buro and apply to something.' But the other side is always hesitant and is wondering how that someone got at that place.

That you also have no family/friends/resources to do this in an other way seems terrible.

I dont know what I do. In Sint Martin I often gave my apple or morning coffee to these guys on the street, also because I often knew them from my hospital job.

Here in Holland I go out of the way more, and I dont exactly can put my finger on why I do that.

What did you do?

The man I keep seeing is at an intersection that exits onto the highway. There is no place to stop and park. I am struggling with what to do. I know that money can be helpful, but I want to do something more meaningful.

Thanks for you comment and the work you do to help people where you live.

Innocent people to work on. Its a nice job to have.

Its a difficult topic. It would be worth to stop once and have a meaningfull conversation. An assumption we often unintendently have is that homeless people are stupid. Getting into the conversation would never be a bad thing.

And have some food with you on the side. I would never give money I guess

The reason why people give money is that they feel guilty. But if we left our home ready to help someone in need (packing extra food, having the number for a local shelter, etc) we would be able to help even more.

I never want to judge someone based on being homeless or in need. I have been in need many times, and I know that I still have valuable skills and ways that I can benefit society.

It's a really difficult issue. I tend to be nervous about talking to homeless people - I think it's because it makes me feel guilty. I feel there's nothing I can do that will really help them. That doesn't mean I never talk to them, but I never feel comfortable doing it. I used to run a small cafe, and not long before I closed it, when we were doing really badly, I saw a homeless man asking for food early on a freezing cold morning. I hadn't opened the shop yet, but I invited him in and gave him a cup of coffee and a bacon sandwich. He was really friendly and told me he'd been thrown out of his rented flat due to an aggressive flatmate.
A few days ago he came in again, asking for another bacon roll, which I gave him.
After that, he came in asking for money. Then he came in again... and again. His speech was increasingly slurred, and it was clear that he was on drink or drugs. Eventually I had to tell him that I couldn't afford to keep giving him money.
My niece is studying in the US, and she volunteers at a homeless shelter there. She gets to know homeless people and learns how they got to be homeless. She's doing well at university and looks set to have a great career. I think it's great that not only is she really helping people, but she's not just living in a cloistered world of privileged people.

Thank you for your honesty. I believe that I a lot of people feel the same way that you do. Most of us are scared when we interact with people that are not like us, and this is not just something that we direct towards homeless people.

I appreciate that you tried to help, and I am sorry that you feel that you were taken advantage of.

It is great that you niece serves people who have a need. Where is she studying in the US?

My husband is the same way.
We were in a grocery store a few years ago and there was an elderly man- he was using a cane, had an obvious disability on one of his hands and was wearing a USMC baseball cap and his clothing had seen better days). Well the guy was paying for his groceries (he didn't have junk food either- it was all good produce, water, some Tylenol, etc) and when he had to pay... he was short... and not just a few dollars. It was like $30... hubby paid for his entire bill and then gave him another $20 and told him to go buy a coffee at the restaurant next door and enjoy a meal on us. The man almost started crying.

We don't judge people... we have all been at a low point in our lives... help others when you can. Karma will meet you in the future.

Thanks for sharing your story. Indeed, we all have been in need and received help in those times. We can be the hands and feet that serve others.

bantuan kecil kita kadang kala bisa terlalu bermanfaat bagi kita, mari kita saling membantu sesama, salam berkah

Sangat seteuju. Masalahny di Amerika adalah bantuan pakai duit tapi tidak peduli kepada orangnya. Waktu lebih mahal daripada yang dalam dompet, tapi orang juga perlu waktu kita.

Food and water means more to the ones that I have come in contact with, they will pretty much tell you that any money they get will go for beer or drugs even though the may not have eaten in a couple days.
I always keep some waters and fresh fruits with me and I will hand then a bag with a couple of each in them.
We have a big homeless problem here in Texas because we are pretty much warm here year round and although they might be homeless , they aren't ignorant of that fact.

I agree with your strategy. When I lived overseas we often carried consumable items in our vehicle to give out to people who were in need. I personally do not want to support someone drug or alcohol addiction.
We have cold winters were I live and warm summers. We have a growing homeless population (a lot of which are teenagers). Homelessness is not a reflection of your intelligence, but a reflection of your circumstance. One hard thing about this is there is not a single cause that creates this growing epidemic.

Man has trouble in every way. Life can be troublesome in every way.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue #171 (6/20/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

Thank you for highlighting my post. It is always an honor to be chosen for the Whistle Stop.

I used to give money to the homeless people I met on my way. Then I realized that they were spending the money either on drugs, booze or were being abused by other homeless people who were trying to steal the little they had got throughout the day. At that point I decided to buy them a meal and some water. On a few occasions I spoke with some of them and I heard some unbelievable stories about their lives and the troubles they had gone through.
Many people chose to ignore them and simply walk by without thinking that things could change within a blink of an eye and they could end up on the street. It makes you think about the huge amount of things that we take for granted.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64498.18
ETH 3079.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86