Into History Unknown...

in #verse7 years ago

The fires consume
At least not here not yet
The desert sky is dry
They promise the moisture
But I cast no spell of assurance
Lightning crackles the air all night
I see bright truck lights in the distance
At least that is what I think it is
I ask myself
Is it another UFO instead
Is it coyote hunters with their spotlights
Is it something else
I remain calm and pull into the house
First one truck goes by
In the dark, there are no other lights
Not here on the flammable desert steppes
Not here among the sage of the prairie
The truck is big
She thinks it is an RV
At another half mile
Another truck comes
Only lights and red
Too big for a pickup
As the night rolls on
More trucks convoy by
It is by the second one I know
As the air crackles with electricity
Should I pray for the rain
In the dry air
At intervals asleep but for a driver
The firefighter army goes by
In the night to the east
From the depths of the Great Basin
From the west to the east
They drive slow and perfectly
They are like soldiers in the war
They move from one battle to another
They face death and stop death
They sleep on a vibra-bed
Or in a vibrachair
I pray for the calm
I pray in the seclusion of the lightnings
I pray amidst the fire of the sky
The fire is to the west
The fire is to the east
The fire is to the north
The fire is to the south
I sleep in the thoughts of your dreams
As the firefighter army rolls on by in the night
Over the dusty road of destiny
Into history unknown

Sort:  

hermoso poema

This is an amazing poem. I love it!

Beautiful work dear friend @ jeff-kubitz congratulations

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75