Harvard Study Puts Another Nail in The Coffin of Meat

in #vegan6 years ago

Most of us growing up fought with our parents over finishing or even eating the vegetables on our plates at dinner. Mom would tell us to eat them, because they are good for you. Sure they are, but like you I didn't want to eat them either. I remember my mother conning me into getting my spinach down, she would tell me that if I wanted to be strong like Popeye I had to eat my spinach, so I would hold my nose and swallow that disgusting canned spinach.

Well it seems that my mom was right, but not even she knew how right she was. A recent Harvard study, albeit a study that has not been peer reviewed yet claims that as many as one in three people who have had their lives cut short could have prevented it if they only had given up the meat in their diet.

About a year ago my wife and I started on a plant based diet.I did a lot of research before giving up my precious hamburgers, so I already new that this way was the best way to eat. All one has to do is look at the sickness rates of large groups that eat this way. Pre-KFC Okinawan's and Seventh day Adventists historically live longer than everyone else and have fewer diseases like cardiovascular, blood pressure issues and diabetes in my opinion anyways because, they ate beautiful fresh fruits and vegetables as their primary food source. As I understand it sweet potatoes are a major part of the Okinawan diet.

The study suggests that roughly 30 million deaths every year worldwide are "preventable" – those caused by things we can do something about, such as obesity, smoking and poor diet. One of the research team Walter WIllett says "That's not even talking about physical activity or not smoking, and that's all deaths, not just cancer deaths. That's probably an underestimate as well as that doesn't take into account the fact that obesity is important and we control for obesity."

If I am reading his quote correctly, he is basically saying that one in three people will live longer even if they smoke because they are eating healthier. They would expect that the 30 million number is low if the other factors are taken into account. Did you know that Hispanics live 8% longer on average than white or blacks? Studies suggest the reason is because they eat so many beans.

We could turn this article into a book, so I will stop here and suggest that you do your own research and make a decision about eating healthier. I highly recommend Dr Michael Gregor's website https://nutritionfacts.org/ and his book "How not to DIe"

https://www.sciencealert.com/third-of-early-deaths-could-be-prevented-with-diet-change-vegetarian

Sort:  

I will upvote and resteem your last blog post to my 36,000+ followers for free if you reply to this comment. Follow @a-0-0

I will have to take care of myself more because as pure garbage

I wish I would have started doing just that years ago, but hey at least I started and you can too.

It is too bad that meat is so darn tasty. What we need are more tasty vegan and vegetarian recipes to compete with meat.

You would be surprised how many of the dishes you eat that taste amazing are only really good because of seasonings and sauces. Today their are many commercial options available as well that taste like meat and they are coming to grocery stores on a regular basis. Try one sometime.

There's a lot! I make sticky sesame cauliflower and lots of people have tried it and said it was like general tao chicken... but better.

Since I switched I noticed my tastes for different foods have broadened as well. I also spend more time in the kitchen since my options are limited at fast food places. Really it is a win - win. I am trying new things and getting healthier while I do it.

Same! I have lots of fun trying out new recipes, and I now love a lot of stuff I've always hated. Tomato soup, bananas, I had a grilled mushroom instead of a burger patty and a couple years ago just the idea of that would have made me sick. Taste preference can change!

I'll be sending that study to a few people i know who dont believe me when i say how healthy it is! thanks for posting

We have found that limiting our meat intake has benefitted our health immensely. We try to eat mostly vegetarian and have 2 days in the week when we eat a small bit of (good quality) meat or fish

Glad top hear it, the more we learn as a people the more we are getting off or reducing our meat intake. In the U.S Vegans used to represent 1% of the population and now are 6%. Those gains came in the last few years.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64104.40
ETH 3148.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25