A Job Interview And Lunch In China Town Montreal

in #vegan6 years ago (edited)

Today I had a job interview at a vegetarian restaurant. I have been trying to go to vegan only restaurants but the money has run out so no choice. They said I was hired and I will start the end of the week. I haven't worked since last August and it's been wonderful. We lived on savings and cryptocurrency in Mexico and now we've been back for two months and have hit a road block that says "GET A JOB!"

The interview went well. I asked if they would be interested in giving my boyfriend a chance and he said yes. Marc has an interview tomorrow.

My mother in law drove me to the interview this morning and Marc came along. When I got back to the car where they were waiting, she said she would take us for lunch to celebrate.

We chose to go to the easiest place for everyone, which is the China town buffet. This is probably one of the worst buffets or restaurants in Montreal, but somehow it has a comfortable gangster vibe that makes it less intimidating then other places. In fact the Montreal Chinatown is really not the best ever, especially compared to Toronto Chinatown which is the only other one I have ever gone to.

We have been going to this place for sixteen years, since the first time we moved to the city.

I had a plate from the vegetarian section which doesn't have eggs or dairy. I had broccoli, red rice, taro which is really kind of interesting, turnip which was tasteless, spicy tofu, which I topped with steamed peanuts, and green onions. All of these items were barely hot and were full of oil.

buff3.jpg

I hadn't eaten anything and was starving from being awake almost all night thinking about the interview, I had more to eat. A plate of the most drab and boring maki rolls ever. One was cucumber and the other seemed like a pickled radish or something. I guess you get what you pay for. It was about twelve dollars Canadian per person.

buff4.jpg

This is the first time since last year that we have gone to a restaurant in Montreal so it was kind of nice to not have to look for a way to make food in my mother in laws kitchen. Also she doesn't get out much so I think it was fun for her.

buff.jpg

Marc and I and everyone that we have ever come here with, agree that it is the most awful buffet ever, but we always like coming here and in the past our former co workers and us have always enjoyed having our staff meetings here.
I definitely don't want to make a habit of it. I feel like all the long walks we have been doing for exercise and the better eating just went out the door.

buff1.jpg

Anyway, I have a job, and as scary as it is to face a new challenge, and lose free time, it will be a chance for me to have the little things in life like a pair of shoes that aren't borrowed and don't have holes in them, and a few more clothes and certain items. We threw almost everything away before going to Mexico. We will throw everything away again someday before our next adventure.

buff2.jpg

I have had some wonderful people on steemit wish me luck for the interview and it means so much to me. I really think the kind words helped my confidence and I am ever so grateful for the friendships that I've made here.

signature.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations on getting the job!! Such a great news! I'm so happy for you! And fingers crossed for Marc tomorrow.

It's a pity that food wasn't that good but hey, you got a job so nothing can spoil your day! 😊

We appreciate your support so much. The food is bad but we like it anyway, Is that weird? We just kind of laugh about it like it's a funny movie when we go there.

Thank you so much @delishtreats!

That's definitely not weird 😊 You have a connection to this place so it's absolutely ok if you go there even though you don't enjoy the food!

haha ok I feel better now!

Congratulations!!! I am so happy for you!!
What type of restaurants/cafe are you working in?
So those complaint I heard from other is true, Chinese buffet are that bad! At last I gotten to see your mother in law, she looks like a very likeable person. well hack she is I guess, she threw you a celebration lunch.

All the best to Marc, he'll me passed it down to him!

Oh thank you so much. I appreciate your nice words and not all Chinese buffets are bad but this is a popular one right in China town and for some reason it is a strange kind of fun place to go to relax and not care about pretentious waiters and make fun of the food. If you come here we will take you and we can laugh together about the food.

The restaurant is called Lola Rosa and it is vegetarian. It is the opening of the fourth location in a touristy district.

Marc really appreciates your wishes. He says you're a real nice person!

Definitely that place deserve a critic season from us..hahaha. Anyways Chinese buffet restaurant kinda all have bad reputation for their cheap and low quality food! A little fun fact, back over here, Japanese buffet is very common!.

It's the least I could do for Marc! Hope you haven't been telling him bad stuff about me hahaha

Haha!!! Marc admires your creations as well. We both get hungry when we see your food!

Wow! I am so happy to hear that! A couple that admire my food, that means a lot to me! Thanks!

Hello my friend how are you? I'm glad that they have a job, it will not be the best, but it's a beginning, maybe they can move apart From your mother-in-law

You are my friend from a distance and I always think of you

Hola amiga como estas? Necesitamos comer así que así es como va la vida haha. Espero que estés bien!

Gracias!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14