In The Heat of the Moment

in #vacation6 years ago

In The Heat of the Moment
(by: Jovilyn E. Reyes)

KABUJUAN.jpg
Life as a student is not a piece of cake. Studying all day is suffocating. Sitting inside the four corners of this cabin they called room, I tend to dream of having a day only for myself. A moment where I can be free from stress and depression. Luckily, it happened to soon. My teacher in creative non-fiction proposes an outdoor trip into an islet which I didn’t expect nor dreamed to visit.

30 minutes ride from Panatao, across the sea, is an Islet secluded with fine white sands and beautiful rock formations. This islet had an unfinished lighthouse which highlights its beauty and purpose. According to legends, this light house was built to watch over bandits from stealing its white sands. It is located at Claver, Surigao Del Norte. People of Claver named it Cabujuan or Kabujuan Island - one of the newest most visited tourist spots in this Municipality.

My visit there is such a hit! I couldn’t forget it even for a day. Honestly, I don’t believe in love at first sight, but God! When I arrived at Cabujuan, I feel in love at first sight with the fine white sands shining before my eyes like diamonds. Plus the crystal-like ocean which makes me wants to swim whenever I please. Indeed, there are lots of things to enjoy and discover as you arrived at Cabujuan of Claver. But as for me, you will appreciate more the beauty of the island if you reach the top of the unfinished lighthouse.

Courage, strength, endurance and perseverance, those are the things I’m taking with me as I climb the steeply, spiky rough rocks going up to the entrance gate of the lighthouse. Good thing, I’m not afraid of heights. From the entrance I had to climb up several steps to reach the top of the lighthouse and experience a magnificent panoramic view and see the whole island with no obstructions. Wonderful it is indeed.

KABUJUAN1.jpg
Aside from mountain climbing and going up to the top of the unfinished lighthouse, I also enjoyed the crystal clear ocean. Fishing, diving, Olympic style swimming, anything! I can do anything I want under the sun. But I think it would be more fun if I had tried diving and jumping from the top of the rocks into the bottom of the sea. But sad to say, I had trauma of diving and jumping. But it’s okay, atleast I get to swim with the fishes and dive in whenever I want. Heat is not a problem for an ocean lover like me. As long as you’re in the sea, you cannot feel the heat of the sun but only the expression of FUN.

Food and shelter is not a problem. For tourists, you can hide under the rocks for shelter and if you had tents you can built it in the surface wherever you want. Food also doesn’t matter, if you had your baon then you can share it there, if you had uncooked fish, meat or anything you can cook it there. The process is up to you; either you want it grilled, fried, with soup or without soup it doesn’t matter as long as you had your ingredients with you. But if you don’t have baon with you, then you need to do fishing first so that you can have something to eat.

KABUJUAN2.jpg
Aside from those activities mentioned above, for me, the significance of this trip is to have peace, and stressed-free mind. Cabujuan Island also is good for meditations and self reflections. As I was there, I felt calm. The splashing of ocean waves as it approaches the shore and the cold whisper of the wind helped me relaxed as well. Plus the amazing views that never gets tired pleasing my eyes. Somehow, it feels like Cabujuan showed me a glimpse of paradise.

My stay there was short indeed, but it was memorable and satisfying. And just like the rocks in Cabujuan Island, I had learned that life may be rough and spiky too, but that makes it beautiful. Those are one of my treasured memories which will always reminds me that ones in a blue moon I experienced the heat of the moment at Cabujuan Islet.

Anyone want to get there. Just leave your comments... Thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16