Suggestion to specify gender on steemit

in #utopian-io6 years ago

I have seen many times that the users on steemit do not always use their real names.
That creates confusion, whether a user is a male or a female and that does not help to have good discussions.

My Suggestion!
As we know we have plenty of space open on the steemit profile page, we can add mamy features there.
I would love to see the gender of a user on their respective profiles.
Let me show you an example, how profiles should look like:
IMG_20171214_154011.jpg

This is my own profile, since I am a male so I have specified it on my profile.

IMG_20171214_154905.jpg
https://steemit.com/@bluishjane
This is a how a profile of a female should look like.
I am this will help remove doubts among the users and this will be really helpful for identification purposes.
Thanks!



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

hahaha, first of all, how do you really tell if that person registered is really putting up their gender? as far as i know many wanted to be as anonymous as possible. Some even rather put cartoons or animals. Does that mean that they are an animal? hahaha. well i guess they are trying to live in their avatar world, where you can choose to be whatever that you want to be. The thing here is that , if you really want to know the person, if they are male or female, mind as well get to know and chat more with the person. Does it really matters? like , we are not here for dating. ooops,, or maybe you are here for dating.... oh my... hmmm.... if this is the case, i would rather suggest putting single or available as another feature.

Lol.
No mate I am not here for dating.
The thing is when we engage in in a discussion with in the comment box, we sometimes feel the need to address them by using he/she.
Now if you are a male and you want to be addressed as female on steemit, that is alright, nobody is asking you to prove that you are a female.
What it will do is ease the communication between two persons and by choosing a gender you will stay anonymous.

not to be rude but, so far the conversations, i never seen people greeting mr or miss , they just call their names lol. - peace-

I thought you were just kidding, but you really gave this advice to steemit. hahah
Cool

Only because of your mistake 😂

hahah why need to do so male or female both are going good one there own way 😉😉

Just to clear the confusion and for good communication

How do we distinguish 'Bots' ?

Even if it is approved it utopia, I don't think it will make it to condenser. IMHO it is not required to show gender, unless we are a dating website :)

Well I guess bots are not human beings so they can choose "bot" instead of male or a female.
It is only for communication purposes

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

I feel that's superfluous, their sex won't really have an impact on their content and if the gender is important they could always just put it in their article. Besides then people will want the other 25+ "genders" and the whole thing becomes a mess.

Hey @syedumair I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you!

Achievements

  • Seems like you contribute quite often. AMAZING!

Suggestions

  • Contribute more often to get higher and higher rewards. I wish to see you often!
  • Work on your followers to increase the votes/rewards. I follow what humans do and my vote is mainly based on that. Good luck!

Get Noticed!

  • Did you know project owners can manually vote with their own voting power or by voting power delegated to their projects? Ask the project owner to review your contributions!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

I mean it's photoshop work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63282.43
ETH 3083.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85