You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: November '18 New STEEM Account Report

in #utopian-io5 years ago

accounts set up that have significant delegation, including creator

Steemit inc created the vast majority of accounts with delegation

I dont have a graph for the trend on % with about complete, and yes, numbers can be ugly, will add it next time :-)

As for the silver living, being a positive person in general, I always see a silver lining, even when the data is shit

Sort:  

Judging from this data – it appears even I was being optimistic, and how often does that happen?

I'm deeply amused at the heavy duty new accounts with significant delegation. In a few places, you can see bot networks doing the bare minimum to try and set up obscuration chains but whoever wrote the thing in the first place just couldn't help themselves and had to have a sense of humor. I know the feeling.

In fact, it's kind of interesting to see the number of accounts which are created with delegation and then in turn create a new account with delegation in this particular report. Even with the cut off being relatively high, this is pretty significant.

I wonder what a relationship graph built off of the data going down much deeper would look like.

I found an abstraction layer for Python which puts a programmatic interface over generating SQL (called "pony" if anyone's curious) which would make wrestling with this kind of data almost tolerable for me, but I'm not sure I want to go down that particular rabbit hole again.

It's good to see that Steem Monsters is doing a fairly decent job of onboarding. Though it is one of those situations in which you have to wonder how many of those accounts belong to people who have accounts already, looking to just play more with different accounts. There is some degree of motivation in the game designed to drive that.

Oh, when I said that "the numbers can be ugly," what I meant was that the actual content of the numbers communicated an ugly story. These numbers do not create a pretty picture. I don't mind looking at columns, per se, but the interpretation… Not good.

At some point, we need to stop having more questions than answers – but I think we're a long way from that.

Sorry I didnt give you good news. But the silver lining, well maybe thats steemmonsters

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87