[Translation][Portuguese] The Curious Expedition, from English (1139 words) Day 3

in #utopian-io6 years ago

The-Curious-Expedition-Free-Download.jpg

Repository

  • The Curious Expedition on Github
  • The Curious Expedition on Crowdin

Project Details

Curious Expedition is a rogue-like expedition simulation set in the 19th century. Throughout the exploration of gigantic uncharted territories full of danger and treasures, the players will have to prove their bravery and ingenuity facing the unknown. The story is based on a decision-making dynamic that makes the path and gaming experience of every player different.

When I was first presented with this translation task I didn't know what I was about to discover. In order to do my job as perfect as possible I first searched the project to see for myself what I was translating. For my own surprise I found out that Curious Expedition is a really interesting game that lets you control all those fantastic explorers that I have read on books; it goes from Charles Darwin to Roald Amundsen and many others.

Being an adventure writer myself I must admit that I wish I had more time to play it!

The game is available on Steam, GOG, Humble Store and at the official homepage http://curious-expedition.com.

Contribution Specifications

1. Translation Overview

This is my 3rd contribution and I worked on the Mod: Apes files. The strings translated today were in game dialogues where some adjustments were necessary to adapt pronouns and verbs to Portuguese. Fortunately, the LM and I found a solution to the strings variables and work will become more fluid from now on.

Starting/End point on Mod: Apes files (English)

  • [I|We|The trek|Our trek|Our group] [arrived|entered|stopped] at the outpost. We were greeted by a slaver and a court shaman. [The place was dirty|It was a place of hopelessness and sorrow|The place reeked of the dark side of humanity|It was a well-secured but mobile encampment|The camp was littered with filth|An acrid stench of human excrement brought tears to my eyes] and [cages filled with slaves were strewn throughout the area|comprised of a collection of cages filled with intimidated prisoners|several large cages were filled with all kinds of different people].
    String source:https://crowdin.com/translate/the-curious-expedition/10/en-ptbr#12992, accessed on Sep. 10th at 14:04

  • [This expedition could potentially lift me into first place and above my rivals|It was a close race for first place and the enviable prize of the Ape Emperor's good graces|My past raids and tributes had been quite successful and I felt I was soon to see my face on an honorary statue]. [Word about this had spread in the Imperial Capital|My exploits were well-known|My reputation preceded me], [and many Apes came to see our ship|attracting a few enterprising Apes to my cause|so many new recruits arrived at the ship, willing to join our raiding party]. Who did I want to recruit?

    String source:https://crowdin.com/translate/the-curious-expedition/10/en-ptbr#13080, accessed on Sep. 10th at 16:02

Starting/End point on Mod: Apes file (Portuguese)

  • [Eu havia|Nós haviamos|A expedição havia|Nossa expedição havia|Nosso grupo havia] [chegado|entrado|parado] no posto avançado. Fomos recebidos por um traficante de escravos e um xamã da corte. [O lugar estava sujo|Era um lugar de desesperança e tristeza|O lugar exalava o lado escuro da humanidade|Era um acampamento bem seguro mas móvel|O acampamento estava cheio de imundície|Um fedor punjente de excremento humano trouxe lágrimas para os meus olhos] e [gaiolas cheias de escravos estavam espalhadas por toda a área|por alí havia uma coleção de gaiolas cheias de prisioneiros intimidados|várias gaiolas grandes estavam cheias de todo tipo de pessoas diferentes].
    String source:https://crowdin.com/translate/the-curious-expedition/10/en-ptbr#12992, acessado em 10 de Setembro às 14:04

  • [Esta expedição poderia me elevar ao primeiro lugar e acima dos meus rivais|Foi uma disputa acirrada pelo primeiro lugar e o prêmio invejável das boas graças do Imperador Primata|Minhas investidas e homenagens passadas foram bem sucedidas e eu sentia que logo veria meu rosto em uma estátua honorária]. [Notícias sobre isso haviam se espalhado na Capital Imperial|Minhas façanhas eram bem conhecidas|Minha reputação me precedia], [e muitos Primatas vieram ver nosso navio|atraindo alguns Primatas aventureiros para minha causa|então muitos recrutas novos chegaram ao navio, dispostos a juntar-se ao nosso grupo de ataque]. Quem eu queria recrutar?
    String source:https://crowdin.com/translate/the-curious-expedition/10/en-ptbr#13080, acessado em 10 de Setembro às 16:02

2. Languages

This translation was made from English to Portuguese.

For the past two years, I worked as a basic to intermediate level English teacher at a local school, expanding greatly my knowledge of the English and Portuguese grammar/vocabulary. Now I'm a full time content creator using English as my main language.

I volunteered to translate two different projects for the brazilian community, which served as a sample for my application on the Da-Vinci/Utopian Portuguese Translation Team, where I'm currently working.

3. Word Count

  • On this work I have translated a total of 1139 words over a period of 2 hours

Proof of Authorship

Sort:  
Loading...

That's gorgeous and magical :-)

Our curiosity motivates us to complete any campaign

Hi @mrprofessor!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.173 which ranks you at #8560 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 3 places in the last three days (old rank 8563).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 271 contributions, your post is ranked at #268.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hey, @mrprofessor!

Thanks for contributing on Utopian.
We’re already looking forward to your next contribution!

Get higher incentives and support Utopian.io!
Simply set @utopian.pay as a 5% (or higher) payout beneficiary on your contribution post (via SteemPlus or Steeditor).

Want to chat? Join us on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV.

Vote for Utopian Witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61645.58
ETH 3013.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71