SteemChallenges.com needs help to get to the next level

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

I just got this website in time for Steemfest and got to show it to a few people. I am now looking for developers and challenge junkies to help me take this proof of concept website to the next level.



Image Source: pixabay.com

Steem and Steemit are great because you get a chance to earn Crypto by just blogging, voting or commenting. Probably stuff you do everyday on other social media outlets. The difference is here you get paid for it. This all sounds great there is just one problem ...

What to write about?

When I started on Steemit I noticed many challenges and how easy it was to get posting by entering one of them. One of my favourite is the Steemit Color Challenge where each day to enter all you have to do is post a picture. Thats it, there is no prize no fuss but there is a huge benefit of this challenge. It motivates you to get going and keep going on Steemit.

Ok so your sold on Challenges, what next...

Where can you find out about challenges?

Early on my Steemit journey when I first came across a challenge I wanted to enter I couldn't find the announcement post. After much searching I found it and made my entry but even then I found it quite frustrating that I had no way of knowing if I had entered correctly or not
did I use the right tags...
did I use the right title....

My vision for SteemChallenges is a place where you can come and ask for help with challenges/contests, see what other people are posting about and entering and a place where you can see previous winning entries and prizes.

SteemChallenges: A community for challenges on Steemit.

Other low hanging fruit

Another problem that SteemChallenges will solve is the promotion of low frequency challenges.
Some challenges are monthly challenges and may not get many entries, or may not have been live for a while. I think it's not all about quantity but unfortunately people can be turned off entering a challenge if they can't see many previous entries by browsing a tag.
(Tags currently only filter show posts from last 7 days)

SteemChallenges

A few months back I introduced a proof of concept site where I pull together challenges that are on Steemit and list the historical posts.

I am not a front end developer and this site is very basic but the proof of concept is out there and it's now time to open this up to the community to help me realise my vision.

This site is currently manually updated and the back end is robust or automated, but I do love the design created by @ishtar. I mainly use this site today to browse entries in a challenge I run, but I would like to get help developing a more automated site, and enhancing the user experience. I want to get all the challenges on Steemit up here, and for it to be a place where people can get stats, info and in time maybe even get confirmation that entries for contests have been submitted correctly. I would also like it to be used to promote new contests by giving them exposure at the top of the site, or via interviews.

Utopian

This is my first post on utopian.io but I hope that I have planted a seed here for a site that will bring together all the wonderful, unique and inspirational challenges that are here on Steemit. If your a developer or challenge junkie you can help me take this site to the next level.

  • Developers can help me build a slick functional website
  • Challenge Junkies can give input to the site to best meet their needs

It's a win win for everyone and I can promise challenges are great fun to be involved with.

Get in touch

I have a detailed plan for what I want this site to achieve. If your interested in getting involved and wish to support this project get in touch. I am always on discord over at Blogger Central

and on steemit.chat at @eroche.

Roadmap

I have laid out here a roadmap for what I would like to achieve but nothing is set in stone. This community project will evolve and I hope grow into a useful showcase for the Steem Ecosystem.

The plan is to get an automated site up and running and later come back to the functionality.
There are lots of ways we can enhance the site so that people really find this site a useful resource.

The Site

Automatic back end that serves the website according to search criteria
Updated front end that allows filtering of posts by challenge and other criteria
Expand search criteria for challenges and types of challenges that can be listed
Add google translation apis to read posts
Design mechanism to allow users to submit challenges for inclusion (Including template with Info about the challenges and requirements)
Add features that give notifications on the site such as new posts about a competition.
Design mechanism to allow challenge owners to notify the site about winners or automatically pick up details from announcement posts.
Review if users need to log into the site or not.

Stats

Design automatic stats and charts that will help challenge creators promote their contests and also stats that will help users choose which contest they would like to enter. Payouts and engagement scores will be key here.

Browsing Challenges

A key aspect of the site will be the ability to browse entries on challenges. There will be two audiences. The site was originally designed to help judges scroll entries to choose winners for competitions. We will need to enchance the view so that users can quickly scroll through posts and decide if its worth clicking into a post or not. This can be achieved via summary stats on a post such as views, votes etc.

  • You have a new challenge for today..
  • What are you waiting for?
  • Join us to take SteemChallenges.com to the next level!


Thank you for reading this. I write on Steemit about Blockchain, Cryptocurrency, Travel and lots of random topics.






Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

Fair llay to you. It seems like you have made a great start to the site. The concept is great especially for the minnows who struggle with posting and rewards. I remember the original post you had outlining the concept so it seems that you have come a long way since then.

Unfortunately im am no use to you to help out but i can resteem and help promote the idea as it develops.

Hopefully i can find a nice challenge to take on myself.

Ideas suggestions and feedback, and encouragement are probably as important to the success of this project as coding or any of that other stuff. So thank you so much for the support @niallon11.👍

@eroche, it is a good idea. I was thinking that it would be very nice to have a directory or website, or a page where all contests offered on Steemit would be gathered in one place. That was on the themes (photo competitions, culinary contests, drawing contests, etc.) That they were divided on the timing (we have monthly - it's like You have about the culture and traditions, there are weekly, daily, there are disposable). Statistics for each contest will see his rating, the number of participants and so on. It would be very convenient. It is easy to choose an interesting theme, it is easy to find the conditions easy to vote and easy to promote. I also made an attempt to organize disposable themed competition, but I think I failed. I have little experience in this matter. Such a site or directory ( call like) to be my assistant in order to analyze the more successful projects of other steemians. I'm glad You are dealing with the issue of creating such a project. This will be very useful. Thank you.

You have some really good ideas here. This site will be useful for participants, prospective participants and judges. It will take some work but we will get there.

100% love this idea! I was just thinking the other day that we really need a place where all the challenges are clearly stated and explained as there are so many older ones as well as new ones popping up on a weekly basis.
Thanks @eroche! Crossing my fingers for this to work.

Thanks as always @osm0sis

Let's see what 2018 will bring. I bet many people have been working on stuff. I can't wait to see what has been in the works.

steem challanges is the best in steemit i really enjoy it to see many bes t and best posts specially beautifull photos @eroche

You can never solve a problem on the level on which it was created.

- Albert Einstein

Good work friend

Your contribution cannot be approved yet. See the Utopian Rules.

I believe you've got a typo in a section.

Ok so your sold on Challenges, what next...

But that is not a reason that I do not approve the post yet. You present the site that is actually fully functional but your repository you created for it is empty. The task requests are also meant for open source projects and I believe it would be great if you could share that site in the repository. You are talking about enhancements which would not necessarily mean that the site is going to be built from scratch.

Please edit your contribution to reapply for approval.

You may edit your post here, as shown below:

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

@espoem, the proof of concept site is live, and I have a link to it in the post. It currently is basically a static html website. So its all open source. I have laid out my development roadmap in this post.

I am looking for developers to help me improve the site and build it so that it is automated. I have set up an opensource repo on github to store whatever code we develop.

Yeah, the task request contains the information. I am going to approve your post.

Edit: If you make any contributions, make sure that you give a proof that the GitHub account is yours. It is required by the rules if the names do not match, you could add the information in the profile overview for example.

Hey @eroche I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you!

Achievements

  • This is your first accepted contribution here in Utopian. Welcome!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

Oh this is a wonderful idea! I do agree that the number one benefit of the challenges is to get people posting. Some people choose to just post entries to challenges though, which defeats the purpose, but to each their own. As someone who has joined, judged and even created a challenge, I know what it feels like to not get any participants.

When I created my contest a few months back, I was so disappointed at the turnout. I had a larger-than-usual prize pool and my contest was easy enough to join, but very few people did so. Great job consolidating contests, and I hope that contest organizers benefit from this!

Thank you for the encouragement. I know what you mean, I do love contests though and I haven't seen another online platform that has had such a wonderful selection. Especially not so engaging. The fact that these contests are home grown makes them extra special.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13