App A Week: Num-Nom a math game for children

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

badge.png

Introduction

Num-Nom was one of the first games I created during the "App-A-Week Challenge" where I designed, developed, and deployed an application in 7 days time. Inspired by games like "Number Munchers" I set out to make a game for my two young children, and now as they have gotten older I plan to update Num-Nom and other games and applications I created for them to help other parents and educators that wish to use Open Source tools in their learning environments.

NN-ss1.png

Game Play

Its quite simple, tap on the cookies that have the correct number on them to complete the level. Get it right and get the cookie, get it wrong and lose one of 4 chances to fill your plate. The game features 3 modes, each mode includes an increasingly more difficult set of math problems. All within the educational rigger I set for my children.

NN-ss3.png

But wait! Other monsters want those treats as well, and will destroy as many other cookies in the process to keep you from maximum sugar overload! So watch out, and get tapping, or the bad guys will end up with more cookies than you! Failing to have more than the other monster will result in you losing one of your chances to beat the 10 round challenge!

NN-ss6.png

After the week was up I was able to get the game on the Android Play Store as well as packaged for Ubuntu Linux as a snap package. The game was created using all open source tools including Blender, Audacity, and Qt.

Screenshot_2016-06-08-13-03-17.png

Road Map

  • More bad guys: We currently have 2 creatures with unique moves. I would like at least 3 more.
  • More math: evens,odds,addition,subtraction. If we could add in multiplication and division it would cover everything from kindergarten to 3rd grade.
  • Integration with other educational projects that I would like to tackle. With the inclusion of a complete educational suite based on Open Source and FOSS technologies.
  • Sounds effects for Num-Nom up to 100, it currently stops at 10.
  • Better sound effects for the bad guys.

Sales pitch

When I started working on the App-A-Week challenge it was to test my skills as a developer as well as give me something to do with my time in between jobs. With each of them I promised what ever projects got the most downloads or likes I would continue to work on them regardless to financial gain. I extend this same offer to the Steem community. You get to choose, at least in part, what I work on by up votes and comments. Feel free to download Num-Nom from Vague Entertainment on Android, iOS, or Ubuntu (Its rather large on Ubuntu due to when I created the snap) today!

Install Instructions

  • Ubuntu (or any Snap compatible distro): Go to the software store and search for numnom or on the command line 'sudo snap install numnom'

  • Android Play Store: click here

  • iOS: Search the app store for Num-Nom and/or Vague Entertainment



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

The contribution has been reviewed and approved.

Suggestions:

  • We always welcome details to compare the project from the similar ones in project introduction posts, those could improve post quality.
  • I'm not sure you are going to write other posts of your app of the week challenge, so if you plan to continue as a blog posts series, please include your intention clearly in the post.

Need help? Write a ticket on https://support.utopian.io.
Chat with us on Discord.

[utopian-moderator]

Hey @roj, I just gave you a tip for your hard work on moderation. Upvote this comment to support the utopian moderators and increase your future rewards!

Hi, this game looks fun for kids. However, there is one major issue with introducing this project via Utopian at the moment. As you may have seen, Utopian currently supports projects that haven't stopped with their development process and have been actively developed during the last 6 months. I say this since the development on this game stopped in 2016.

You are welcome to introduce the projects you worked on and which you plan to improve in time but at the same time, we expect the actual development to be recorded in the commit history of the project.

There are few other things to mention regarding this post. It would be appreciated if you could reread your post and correct typos (missing letters in words, capital letters) and punctuation.

I believe that if you included links to the app stores and/or to the packages you created, the reader would have it easier to find this game. You could also add a section regarding the programming language, frameworks and libraries you chose to create this game.

Please note that this post will not be reviewed until you could update the project in GitHub, add more informative readme file, ideally with links to the app store, and correct mistakes within the text.


Need help? Write a ticket on https://support.utopian.io.
Chat with us on Discord.

[utopian-moderator]

thanks for the reply espoem, and the chance to fix the post instead of just rejecting it out right and causing more confusion as to why. I had issues posting this yesterday and admittedly rushed through the version you have now read. I'll make the suggested edits and should have an updated version on github as well. thanks again for your time.

Hi, I have noticed that you updated the post and included few things I asked and that you updated the code and information in GitHub. There are few things I still think you could improve.

There are few places where there is no space after commas and that makes it look a little bit worse. It is better to use markdown syntax for links instead of leaving them in their raw form.

I suppose you could write more about your plans, why had the long pause in development, what brought you back to the project and which language (libraries, frameworks) you use.

If you have other questions, you can get in touch with me on Discord so we do not need to discuss it here.

Thanks again for your help. I'll keep what you have suggested in mind for my next post. I appreciate your willingness to help me, and I can assume, the community at large.

Hey @bflanagin! Thank you for the great work you've done!

We're already looking forward to your next contribution!

Fully Decentralized Rewards

We hope you will take the time to share your expertise and knowledge by rating contributions made by others on Utopian.io to help us reward the best contributions together.

Utopian Witness!

Vote for Utopian Witness! We are made of developers, system administrators, entrepreneurs, artists, content creators, thinkers. We embrace every nationality, mindset and belief.

Want to chat? Join us on Discord https://discord.me/utopian-io

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64418.55
ETH 3157.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06