Helping The Environment... And Now Someone Else's Business To A Third World Country... Because It's The Right Thing To Do

in #upcycling5 years ago (edited)

While picking up trash & putting items in recycling bins are important practices, recycling & upcycling to SAVE goods from being wasted is a much higher priority for me.

The items I upcycle are often heavy and voluminous. For example, I can't even imagine how many thousands of pounds I've saved over the last few years, but it's a LOT. That type of impact is what matters to me.


Full Circle:

After selling a machine for $170 cash to someone I randomly met at 3 AM on the curbs near my apartment before my Austin trip, we're starting to work together casually. The full story is here.

This will help him more than me, but it helps the environment the most. That's what I really care about.


Setup:

This man upcycles carpets and rugs that are thrown out and cleans them (now using the carpet extractor I sold him, which I found on the curbs about 2 minutes from where we met). He then sells/ships them via containers to a third world country. He wins. They win. I win.

If I text him leads on carpets when I'm out casually walking or upcycling myself, he'll pick them up and throw me a cash tip.

If I elect to take them home to secure them for easier pickup, he'll give me more money, but I'm not set up to do that.

This is our second successful lead > pickup. The first pickup was supposed to be 4 neatly rolled carpets I stashed for him, but a savvy hunter somehow found my hiding spot between 4AM-11AM and took 3 of them. Fortunately, they left one for him to grab.

Running tally: 4 carpets saved. (That's a lot of weight.)

Here are the 3 from yesterday, which he grabbed earlier today. One was very high quality.

Proof:



We're still working out the process, but moving in the right direction. I'm not doing this for the money. I'm doing this to reduce waste and help others.

Everyone can recycle and also save things from being unnecessarily wasted. While I resell most of what I find, keep a little, and donate the rest to thrift stores, there are plenty of options to help here.

Thanks,
@steemmatt

Sort:  

Thanks for doing this bro. <3
this world needs more people like you.
we have got to grow up already and stop buying shit we don't need!

Heck yeah, save that waste and make some cash. Wins all around.

That's how I feel when I pick stuff at the Goodwill pay by weight outlet.

Thanks @steemmatt! The world might never fully appreciate everything you do for it, but I totally do!

Everything that gets upcycled or recycled means that brand new resources don't have to be used to fulfill that need. It currently feels like commericalism directly conflicts with environmentalism, but it's not the case, not in an upcycling, recycling, repairing world.

You're such a force of good, Matt :D I love this so much! Everyone wins ! \o/

We as human beings, produce SO MUCH waste and you are doing awesomely with helping the world to reduce wastage through upcycling :)

Gosh, this post really cheers me up for the day :D :D :D

Fantastic. Teamwork in cleaning up the streets. Very inspiring brother

...and the Mother Earth wins. You're one of the best.

Congratulations, your post has been selected to be included in my weekly Sustainability Curation Digest for the Minnow Support Project.

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @veryspider.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25