February Homeschooling Miscellany

in #unschooling6 years ago (edited)

The month kicked off with @shadowlioncub deciding to make his own "card game" after ages of playing Magic and Yu-Gi-Oh. After quick playtests with me and @pixietrix, pixie decided to help make even more "cards". I use the term loosely bcause the "cards" were all A4-sized.

The game was fairly simple and entertaining, and after playing a couple of times cub decided that he probably needed more "good" cards as it didn't take very long for me to die despite the lives and death prevention things that had been added in the iteration with @pixietrix.

@shadowlioncub finally got his long awaited Yu-Gi-Oh Egyptian god cards in the mail (ordered via JJ using Habitica points) and wrote a steem post about them in his notebook (or rather I wrote out what he dictated and he copied, which I've since been told by his psych I shouldn't do), which I then copied to his steem blog.

After some discussion the kids and I developed a new chore roster (which can be used in conjunction with Habitica). All of them doing all their chores each day earns an ice cream token. 7 ice cream tokens means I take them out for ice cream (whodathunkit eh XD), 28 ice cream tokens earns them an outing to Bounce or some other place that they might like to go that I otherwise probably wouldn't take them to due to entry price. Anyone who doesn't complete their chores loses a heart, and when all hearts are lost they're off screens for the day, and the hearts are reset. This has been working reasonably well with @shadowlioncub pretty eager to get his chores done, and we've got better organisational skills happening as he stops what he's doing to get the chores done and then goes back to it. Miss Perfectionist @pixietrix was pretty good on the chores to begin with but has also upped her game some as she doesn't like losing the hearts. She also wrote and illustrated the chore labels (because she wanted to use her glitter gel pens and adhd/autistic kids work better with large visual cues apparently) and drew the hearts and ice creams.

@gorc we're still working on.

We took a trip to Scitech to meet up with some friends who were doing a class. @gorc came along reluctantly as he claimed everything at Scitech was boring, so I guess he'll only be coming when they change the main displays.

The soundwave machine is a favourite of @shadowlioncub's, it's usually the first thing he runs to as soon as we enter the main area.

The feature display was Planet Pioneers which all three kids enjoyed, and made the teenager a bit less grumpy about having been dragged along.

There was a display that allowed investigating different rock samples under a microscope to examine their structure, and to test their radiation and magnetic levels:

A fun ball set up where the aim was to try to calculate the speed and angle at which to launch a metal ball "satellite" onto the moon which was spinning around the Earth:

and "driving" around a simulation in a life-size rover model:

There was probing for resources on a newly discovered planet (which as far as I could tell from what @pixietrix was doing meant trying to find the sweet spots where all the graphs maxed out):

Both the boys had a go on this drone simulator and found the controls a bit difficult to grasp. We have been discussing acquisitioning one but it's going to be a beginner drone and not the several thousand dollars that the drone being simulated probably would have cost, partly because we don't have thousands of dollars lying around for a drone and mostly because I was going by the number of times both of them crashed it on takeoff before figuring out how to fly around doing anything.

There were some other really vague simulation style games including trying to find the right mix of nutrients for optimum potato growth, and working out the right mix of water and gas for bottle rockets.

And then when we were trying to leave, I was unable to locate the child who had been the most reluctant to come, because he'd found a building table.

@shadowlioncub got into some science kits that he'd been given for Christmas:

We were slightly stymied by one of the experiments that required a piece of equipment that was supposed to be in the box but didn't appear to be, which would have been a bit less of a big deal if we hadn't needed some of the things for the following experiment. So that one has been temporarily put aside for now until we figure out what to do about the missing parts.

He's also been writing lists and short sentences randomly which I'm counting as a decent achievement considering how hard it's been to get him sitting still for long enough to practise writing:

We usually spell mum with a u but I'll give him credit for sounding it out or remembering it being spelled like that from elsewhere. And yes it came in an envelope and everything XD

He also drew a map of the house which is pretty accurate if you're not sure how a house fits together and completely skip over areas you don't register as important. The X is of course where the treasure was hidden.

We did Bounce (which is wonderfully quiet at midweek lunchtime):

And afterwards @gorc tried his hand at building design, coming up with some aquaponics glasshouse type ideas for use in desert areas if the money to build them wasn't going to be an issue. For whatever reason (possibly aesthetic) he decided on a circular design which gave him both practical application of pi and realising why buildings tend to be designed in squares and rectangles rather than circles.

He has decided that building and landscape design is fun and asked about job prospects in either of those, told him there is always work for architects and landscape architects, so something else that he's considering.

This post also appears on my blog.

Post payout is getting split between @gorc, @pixietrix and @shadowlioncub.

Thanks for looking! ^_^

If you want to natter I usually haunt both the #teamaustralia channels (yes there's two, the PAL one and a South Pacific one for Aus/NZ), Be Awesome, and hang with the @steemartists on the server with the same name on Discord with a bunch of awesome people :D

sig

-={ commission info | patreon }=-

The steemaroo divider is free to use. Ask me nicely if you want an upgoat/cute critter footer.

Sort:  

Scitech looks awesome! I wanted to be an astronaut when I was a child, so I would have had a blast there. Man, kids these days don't know how lucky they are. Back in the day, the science museums were mostly analog. Too bad gorc is in his teen phase. Don't worry, he'll make up for what he missed when he snaps out of the funk... which is probably the time cub is entering that phase and pixie is in the middle of it haha!

That chore system... I've been trying to device a way to make the flow more efficient. I like how you gamified everything and attached a solid incentive. With crypto tokens nowadays, you might want to consider switching over to some, so that there would be tangible rewards. Plus, it would help in educating them about budgeting. I missed these miscellany posts of yours, mateychops!

That I <3 Mom letter near the end really made me coo!

Scitech is pretty cool :) They're looking to move into purpose built accommodation sometime in the next few years (they have been at their current location for literal decades but apparently it was always a "temporary" thing), be interesting to see what they come up with then. And all of us (but kids especially so) can only really go off our own experiences of things XD Sometimes even when you're hearing stories of what your parents got up to as kids it can seem quite fantastical nowadays.

I already tried making them steem accounts, hasn't gone well so far. Ice cream is much more tangible ;D Have you tried Habitica? Have I already asked you that?

I know right, how cute was it :D [totally biased]

goatsig

I've used Habitica way before Steemit came to life haha Back when it was still HabitRPG in fact. I haven't gotten the chance to get back to it though especially when I lost days of progress. It fell out of favor for me after that haha!

Scitech looks like a fabulous place to hang out.

I remember years and years ago we took a trip to MOTAT when they had some fun pieces of hands-on equipment set up - like being able to 'pump blood through a heart'.

Displays have obviously upped their game, lol. Definitely a great place for homeschoolers to go. :)

It's pretty cool for adults too ;D Though I'm usually taking photos and keeping an eye on the ADHD/autistic child to be able to immerse too much in anything.

goatsig

Damn, I wish I could be one of your kids in another life
This sounds like an awesome day and homeschooling would have fit me so much better.

Great story, cool pictures and I love your storytelling, as it feels somewhere in between an adult and a kid's point of view

I reckon it would have fit me better too, though without the internet I'm not sure how well it would have worked out in the grand scheme as I grew up on this tiny little rock out in the middle of the ocean :D

We did have a library and I liked reading, and we got a computer when I was in upper primary I think, and the internet long after, so I probably would have turned out all right, though I'm not sure if i would have been more or less of a social misfit XD

Glad you enjoyed it, I'm usually out of narrative embellishment by the time I get around to doing these x_x

goatsig

I enjoyed you sharing a day in homeschooling in your household. I don’t have exposure to it at all, so it was a nice intimate perspective. :)

Yay glad you enjoyed it :D Part of the idea behind me doing it was to give people insight into how we do it (because everyone does it differently even if they're doing the same style, and there's more than enough blogs out there making cases for it) so nice to hear it's successful :) It was several days over the course of the month, I do monthly summaries, not always at the end of every month like I'm supposed to, so there'll be a few of these :)

goatsig

Nice that you came in narrative embellishment and told us this story with so many pictures. You give us quite a precise impression about the whole enjoyment of all included. :)

Thanks! It's mostly enjoyable most of the time ;D

goatsig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17