You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: LIVING IS LEARNING: Amazing Unschooled Babies Learn to Walk & Talk .... and more!

Thats very interesting. I can't say I agree 100% but I definitely don't disagree.
I do think our current system of schooling is broken and a more interest based approach is needed.
School is really just training you to enter the work force.

Sort:  

School is training you to be a compliant worker, yes.
I would rather help my children gravitate towards owning their own businesses.

I'm glad that you found it interesting and it is food for thought!

The best school system that I have ever found described is in Finland. I should probably post about that some day. They start school at age 7, and spend 60% as much time in school as Americans. They do not give out homework or do tests until the last couple of grades. The teaching style is VERY different. Yet they score # 1 in the world on exams.

Yes I have read a little about the Finnish schools.

My kids school (shes only in pre-school though) spends a fair bit of time doing play based learning, so its not rope learning at a desk.

I do agree about the business though, I'm trying to teach my kids even now, do you want to work for little money like me and mommy or do you want people to work for you to give you ALL the money. Its starting to sink in slowly.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64104.40
ETH 3148.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25