"The eyes see only what the mind is prepared to comprehend" - Henri Bergson

in #ungrip6 years ago

Our willingness to learn ebbs and flows like the tide.  Some times we get over whelmed and need to take a break to process.  The processing required is not just intellectual, but also emotional, physical and spiritual.  It takes a long time to fully comprehend the lessons that we are learning here, a life time or more.  But it is also dependent upon the moral and ethical codes that we choose to live by.  They can be upgraded with lots of work!


Source:  IIT Bombay (Wikimedia Commons)

The fog of war clouds our vision and diminishes our willingness to learn and also our moral & ethical codes.  The systems that we created are designed by the intellect to focus on the physical and often neglects our feelings and spirit.  When the intellect governs, it becomes easy to justify violence and coercion as a means to an end.  We all are witness to that through the feudal empires that now govern the planet.

But we also witness it here on this platform as well.  The blockchain is an amazing technological breakthrough.  However, it is impossible for the technology to take feelings and spirit into account.  That will always remain the responsibility of each individual using the technology.  It is also impossible to predict how people will interpret and even use the technology.  Our own creative often exceeds the capacity of the intellect to anticipate what it will do.

The blockchain functions as a commons, where the rewards pool belongs to all those who have invested in the platform.  The inVESTment is our shares to grant us access to the reward pool.  It belongs to us all. As such, it is impossible to 'steal' from the reward pool.  

Where the disagreement rests is the process of getting steem from the rewards pool into our wallets and the volume that is being taken.  

Some would argue that the steem that our posts earn is not technically ours until the post pays out and the steem & SBD is put into our wallet.  That is the intellectual explanation and justification for the flag war.  Because it has not been paid out, people feel they have a right to return steem to the rewards pool.  

If we stop and reflect on peoples feelings about the process, do we find the same reflection?  NO!  I think we all get excited to see upvotes starting to pour in when we put up a post.  That emotional attachment generates significant feelings, some of which could be disappointment if we only get one or two, or euphoria if a whale suddenly rewards us with a huge upvote.  Either way, we have a strong attachment and sense of ownership as a result.  

This can be verified when we speak to people who have experienced what it is like to be down voted.  They feel robbed, cheated, confused, violated, sad and they even feel pain.  These same feelings are often felt after experiencing a robbery.  

What about the curators, the individuals who do all the up voting.  They are the ones that rewarded the author as they felt there was value in the work that was performed.  They reached into the reward pool, which is their right, and took steem to give it to another user or to them self.  The moment they took that steem it no longer belongs in the commons and is now theirs to do with as they please.  To take away their upvote is theft and is also a judgement on them as well.  We are taking away their freedoms.  

This whole process FEELS like the scenario where we take an apple from a tree (commons), putting it into our basket and then pray that we don't get mugged between the orchard and home.  This is not a great feeling and it is not peaceful at all.  The 7 day period ends up being a no-mans land where street thugs can attack at any moment.  

This muzzles freedom of speech and is punitive, violent and coercive.  Especially when it is done by somebody who has lots of influence.  

Ahhhh, but what about those greedy people who take too much?  They threaten the whole system, they are bullies and must be stopped!

My friends, we cannot change other people.  We can only change our selves.  There will always be greed on this planet.  It does not matter where you go, greed will follow.  Attacking greed has been the method of choice for thousands of years.  What I suggest is that we use the energy that we would have used to attack and destroy them and use it to build and encourage our communities.  I wrote about this a few weeks ago.

https://steemit.com/ungrip/@wwf/a-true-spiritual-warrior-does-not-attack-the-bully-but-instead-helps-strengthen-the-vulnerable-and-dependent

War is a symptom of a much bigger problem.  When we are all dependent, we need cash flow to survive.  However, when we are all independent, we no longer need huge amounts of cash flow.  Our cash flow is a direct representation of how dependent we are.  When we all work to become completely independent from the systems that surround us and we found ways to govern ourselves so that we don't over consume, then there ends up being more than enough to go around.  As a result prices crash and the greedy loose interest.  

We have work to do in order to remove our dependencies and render the greedy impotent.  It is our own unwillingness to be self-sufficient and independent that drives greed in others.  Because we give our power and authority away, the psychopaths flock to collect it all.  

We created the very behaviour that people are fighting on a daily basis.  War will not solve this problem.  Self-governance, self-sufficiency, independence and high moral & ethical standards is what will solve this problem.  

Having the eyes to see how our actions impact other people is critical through this process.  There is plenty of steem to go around, even with greedy people in the mix.  By giving and sharing with others, we can minimize the impact of the greedy and build strength within the communities.  I have faith that this platform can teach all those lessons so that we can implement them in the real world.  

Prosperity, peace and freedom are ours to take back!  All that is required is a leap of faith and a lot of hard work.  It also requires having the courage to stand up to the violent offenders in our communities, rebuke them and help them get back on track.  But we must engage in peace, freedom and tough love to do that.  

I know this works because I've done it, I live it and I love it!


Sort:  

I appreciate your light in the darkness. I don't yet quite understand what's going on so have no opinion other than to say ultimately we must rise above the lower frequencies of greed, lust, force, war, fear and hate. Courage, love, compassion, caring, giving, respect, responsibility, these are the higher frequencies that will lift the entire community. Thats about all I know. Blesssings.

Agreed. <3

Highly rEsteemed @wwf.
I'm glad you're shedding this Light on current situations.
However, I do feel that the current "War" will not be the last,
and these lessons will come from the experience.
Kind regards good Sir!

Bacon WAW.jpg

I agree. There will be many wars. We will experience the violence and I pray the process will allow the participants to learn from it all. It will be tough love, but I pray they find peace and love as a result.

Imgur

This evening as I read the post and the comments, I find myself on sensory overload, whether it is because I am nearing exhaustion dealing with problems that are not of my making or because the senselessness of violence lurking around every corner, I couldn't say for sure. It is time for me to process and spend some time with my family. I need to regroup and regain my strength. So please forgive me for not replying in detail to this topic as I recharge...

My dear friend;

My heart aches hearing of the challenges you are facing. There is nothing to forgive. Please look after yourself. Take time to heal and process. I know these issues can be a lot to process. But I encourage everyone to look after self first!

Mother Earth heals us. Please take your time, spend it with Mother Earth and your family. I know that I confront people about the violence and at times it can get intense and very uncomfortable. But I know deep down that over time we will work through these issues and come out the other side with relationships that are far more healthy, balanced and spiritual in nature.

Thank you for letting me know how you are doing. My thoughts and prayers go out to you.

You are not alone xoxo

Thank you for your support. I appreciate it.

what do you think about balance and maintaining it?
My perception is that society needs more people willing to take back their personal freedom/independence than the greedy deceivers trying to imprison everyone in their "system". (less of them but they have more power)

I don't think we could ever have 100% peace, there will always be someone looking to capitalize on the creation of conflict right?

but 50/50 wont work because the power of those running the system is far greater than the individuals.

I guess just the analytical side of me is trying to figure out how many people do we need to get to take the power back before we can be equal with the powerful because I don't think a simple majority will do. I also think that no matter how many people are on the peace/freedom side there will always be people that see opportunity in creating a new system of control and influence on the other side.

so rather than fighting for peace and freedom for all, we should be fighting for balance between the free and the controlled? Not everyone has a choice of being free or a slave, so instead should we fight to educate those that are not free and if they choose to help themselves out of say debt slavery then we should educate them on that path?

Sorry, this is what I do, down a rabbit hole of my thoughts because writing them down helps with understanding and forming an opinion.

No need to apologize. I've been down the rabbit hole many times. I agree with much of what you said. It is NOT possible to obtain 100% peace, or even 50%. However, we can obtain 100% peace within! That is the most important goal to accomplish.

To do that requires that we find ways of living peacefully in a world at war. By not participating in their violence, we give ourselves the opportunity to obtain that peace we are looking for. We live peacefully DESPITE their war.

That is how my wife and I life our lives and have been doing that for over 10 years. I just raise these questions to influence others so that they can find peace too. There will ALWAYS be a greedy, violent and oppressive individual, group, gang, corporation or government.

There is lots that we can do and I've found in my life that lots means not doing very much. Not participating, not paying the fees, not agreeing to their demands, statutes, regulations, etc are all part of that process.

But to get everyone to agree to be peaceful? What a joke! We are delusional if we think we can accomplish that. The psychopaths will do everything they can to sabotage those efforts, just as they are doing here on steemit.

a good way to look at it, thank you

Thank you for what you are doing here.
I welcome rebukes from you. More detailed examples of healthy rebuke interactions would be helpful to me.

Well, to be honest, almost every single post I write about is a rebuke in one form or another. People may not see it as such, but that is what I do. It is healthy as I'm not attacking anybody specifically, name calling, using covert violence or anything like that. What I am doing is sharing my story, views and insights in the hopes that I can influence other people along the way.

Because of the approach I use, most people are more open to hearing and contemplating what I'm talking about. While most bullies engage in violence, that sort of behaviour puts up walls and establishes camps for war.

But when we can bring down the barriers, then people are more open to hear or see what I'm talking about. That is why I use a lot of 'I' statements and speak about what I do, rather than what 'you' do. Does that help?

Yes. Thank you.

A very enlightened piece of writing with much wisdom and peace. You are right the best thing we can do is to change ourselves and negate violent behavior. Our own self is within our control and we can use self determination to spread peace and love. The key is to stay consistent and work hard, one day our efforts will be recognized and we will find peace within our community.
Thank you for your kind and optimistic words that you have proved in your actions as well.

Hope, optimism, freedom and peace are all valuable and worthy of making sacrifices to accomplish. It is tough but we will prevail! Thank you for seeing the spirit of what I am sharing in my work. Peace to you my friend.

what we feel as a new steemian, but we have no choice, waiting for the curator also can not be expected, but we will still work even though only ogled by fellow newbie, there is hope we will also be successful as you and others

Regards, @saifuddin73

Insightful and accurate. We all need a cheer leader in our corner. As more and more people come onto the platform, it will be easier to do that. The #stewardsofgondor once did that and in my opinion we did VERY well at paying it forward. We continue to do that work with the #stewardsofterramater as well. Hang in there. We will build a community strong enough to withstand any level of greed that may try to infiltrate our community. Peace to you.

i will always support you man!!!

Though it is heartbroken to see some greedy act in the steem blockchain. But I think one of the best approaches to this is to talk it out, to reduce the number of posts which can be made a day, to set standard on the number of rewards some certain posts can receive (based on quality content). Embarking on flaging war might not finally help to eliminate the current problem.

To do some of the things that you speak of requires governance, which violates the anarchy principles this platform was created on. I agree, talk is necessary but we cannot always agree, so part of this process is to accept people for their differences, even if it is greed, violence, etc. We can speak out against those sort of things, but we must not resort to violence to make our point. We must influence people on this journey instead.

but big rewards pool goes to those who invest to buy worth vote like 100$ value vote

yup. what's your point? Punish those who succeed? Are you envious of those who's vote is worth $100?

not at all , but there should be some rules and regulations, sometimes a post having 2, 3 words gets huge rewards , but sometimes very good content goes anywhere in the air

So establishing statutes and regulations to govern the behaviour of other people is your solution? Where do you draw the line? How far does this go?

By suggesting this, you are trying to find ways to bring yourself comfort and to make things 'fair'. That just sends us right back into a big brother scenario.

so you want democracy here dear @wwf :)

Nope. Democracy is mob rule and I've been speaking out against the mobs that have formed here. I'm here to support the idea of anarchy and help people make the transition. Anarchy does not govern other people. Anarchy is about self-governance. So rather than using rules to govern others, I established a law form to govern myself and I work hard to share with others in the event they want to do the same.

so you want every single person governs here ?

I want people to learn how to govern themselves. But what I want is irrelevant. All I can do is govern myself. I cannot change other people. But I can walk my path, share my views and hope that I influence others to do the same.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66441.00
ETH 3217.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22