LIFE ON SOCIAL MEDIA

in #ulogger6 years ago

unlock_qingyang.itz_lockscreen.jpg
Personally, I have used social media to great effect. I often brag that, since I started using the World Wide Web I can say, 90 percent of my friendships were forged online before we got to meet each other flesh and blood. Even then, the coldness of social media has never hit me more than it did last year. On November 26, my mum's birthday, I was privileged to be home with her in Ondo State. As the day broke, calls poured in. She spent minutes on every incoming call, saying amen to endless prayers on phone. I'm not sure she has up to 200 friends on facebook and possibly less than 200 in her phone address book. On May 3, 2017, over 5,600 people liked my birthday picture and update and I had almost 3,000 wishes sent. That same year, I received less calls than my mother. Which is more personal? I made a mental note of that and I told my parents and sister, the profound effect the impersonal social media trend will have on society going forward. As a result, I learnt a great lesson. Since then, I have called every friend whose number I have on their birthday, in addition to sending them birthday wishes on social media c2d290ed-c8ec-41a5-ae73-bcc93b964442.jpeg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.39
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70118.22
ETH 3546.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.89