You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Holy Guacamole! [ulog]

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

Sounds like an exceptionally productive, well-utilized day!

This reminds me of a very dear, old friend of mine – an elderly chap named Harry Freed, who had a penchant for logging his travels in much the same fashion as you've done here. He was 93 when we met, and had been keeping a daily diary since he was 13.

I met him at an assisted living facility in Vancouver. I volunteered there for almost 3 years, running a weekly 'reminiscence group'. Harry always read to us from his old diaries and journals, and his way of transporting us back to all these fascinating places he'd been – right down to the food he'd eaten each day – was inspiring.

In the end, it was the stories he carried in his precious pocket diaries that he most cherished and shared with a wonderfully humble pride. He became a very dear friend to me – like the grandfather I'd never had. Thank you for reminding me of him. I've a feeling you'll come to appreciate posts/records such as this in years to come.

harry.jpg

Sort:  

Oh, that is amazing! My father and grandfather kept diaries, too, but not quite so detailed as my ulog here. Your friend sounds like an amazing and wonderful person! What a gift to have known someone like that! 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59241.40
ETH 2525.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47